We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“70th birthday dinner”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Forest Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Edwinstowe
Certificate of Excellence
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“70th birthday dinner”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

To celebrate my 70th birthday,we had dinner for 20 people,including 7 children( the youngest aged 3) I am very pleased we chose this hotel. The choice and quality of food was excellent and the staff went out of their way to make our celebration the success it was.
Thank you Sam for making my evening

Room Tip: We did not stay at the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    38
    15
    1
    5
See reviews for
54
51
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bahrain
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We have just come back from the Forest Lodge & as my title suggests, I am in rather a quandary as how best to write this review! I was here attending a wedding so family had the whole lodge booked. My room was number 1, the tv small, the door handle to the en-suite would come off in your hand & the shower was a mere trickle! My sons had room 7, beautifully decorated room with large bathroom, double & single bed & 32" plasma. My father was in the disabled room as he has false legs & found it difficult to move about the room & almost impossible to shower & my sister had the bridal suite, this seemed below par to the other rooms also. There was a set price for all rooms & this isn't reflected in the room standard! The staff were nice. The English Breakfast & Eggs Benedict seemed nice but I cannot say I was bowled over by the food, rooms or service!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enalsak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montauban, Owner at The Forest Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for your review and, in addition, for acting as spokesperson for those other guests who were either unable or unwilling to write a review. In response:

1. The building is 250 years old and therefore all of our rooms are different shapes and sizes.
2. Room 1 was redecorated recently. Regarding the TV, I am slightly unsure as to how to comment on size in this context; I suspect that it depends on personal preference. We have never before had concern expressed about the disappointing size of our equipment and all of our TVs are equipped to provide suitable entertainment. As to what would appear to have been an issue with the shower pressure, I can only try and resolve this if it's brought to my attention whilst the guest is here.
3. Concerning the room for those people with limited mobility, we are rated '1' under the National Accessible Scheme and meet the VisitEngland criteria for our category with ramps to ground floor rooms and grab bars. I personally checked the guests into this room and they seemed to be quite happy, the gentleman even shaking my hand as I left the room. Something clearly changed between their arrival back from the wedding later that evening and the following morning when they checked out.
4. The bride and groom booked and allocated all of the rooms to family and friends well in advance of their wedding and negotiated discounted rates for some of the rooms.
5. Our team went out of their way to ensure that rooms were ready well before our check-in time of 2pm in order that guests could get changed for the wedding and arrive at church for 1.30pm. This despite the fact that nobody had requested an early check-in. In my opinion, this represents excellent service and does not deserve the comment in the final sentence of the review.

On a final note, I'm disappointed that you were not especially impressed during your stay with us and take consolation in the fact that your review appears to run contrary to almost all of the others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This was our third visit to the Forest Lodge, this time for 3 nights.

As with the other two times, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and find it difficult to fault it. The rooms are refurbished and tastefully decorated/furnished in a contemporary style with a modern bathroom and the tea/coffee facilites even include a cafetiere.

The food is delicious and the quality of the service is very good.

The historic building of the Forest Lodge is a relaxing place to spend a few days or to have a meal. It is only 5-10 minutes' walk away from the Major Oak. We definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DawnandSteveinLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Stayed here last year for a night during the Robin hood festival, and was not disappointed this time, fab room overlooking the church, lovely room, clean and tidy with four poster!! Wonderful staff very helpful as always, had a laugh with them during our stay, beers kept really well which is important to the menfolk, good house red wine, had a few bottles. Once again will stay there again and recommend it to anyone as a fab place to stay. !!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We were really impressed with the refurbished restaurant. Everything looked really bright and contemporary whilst retaining the old fashioned charm.

Really disappointed however with the meal, we both had the rolled chicken breast, and for nearly £15.00, we were disappointed to get a rather dry chicken breast and a sliced potatoe with a bit of pesto.

We have had some lovely meals here and hope this is a one off.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 28, 2013

My new husband and I stayed here the night of our wedding, having been married at Sherwood Forest. The room was absolutely beautiful but more importantly the service was AMAZING. Nothing was too much trouble. We both ordered the full breakfast - which was absolutely wonderful - staff were incredibly attentive and our every whim and fancy was catered for.
My husband went to the hotel to have lunch a few weeks before the wedding and all he did was rave about his 'chicken in a basket' (which he dubbed 'chicken in a hamper') - I'm going to have a hard task catering for him now he's experienced this, but we'll both be looking for any excuse to go back to The Forest Lodge. Thank you so much to all the staff there for making the experience a truly memorable one.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank demmy_demona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed July 21, 2013

My son and daughter in law were getting married at Sherwood Forest so 7 members of the family stayed her night before wedding Fri 19th July and night of wedding 20th July. We were joined by the newely weds on the saturday night.
This hotel is family ran concern, we met Ashely and his mother Nina who make sure your stay is perfect. Every member of staff makes you feel really welcome. On the Friday night we arrived late just as kitchen was closing but Clark and Sam ensured that we had a meal. The food quality and presentation is second to none.( Thanks to chef and kitchen staff)
Breakfast was also perfect with nothing too much trouble, Lynn, Natalie and Helen couldnt do enough to make sure that we had everything we wanted.
Thanks again for a wonderful stay and hope to be back again.
Anne-Marie and Jerry Murphy

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amh1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edwinstowe
5.0 mi away
Muthu Clumber Park & Hotel and Spa
7.8 mi away
Best Western Lion Hotel
10.2 mi away
Best Western Plus West Retford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Acorn Lodge Guest House
Acorn Lodge Guest House
#2 of 3 in Worksop
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
11.2 mi away
Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant
9.3 mi away
Saracens Head Hotel
Saracens Head Hotel
#1 of 1 in Southwell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Forest Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Forest Lodge Hotel

Property: The Forest Lodge Hotel
Address: 4 Church Street, Edwinstowe NG21 9QA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Edwinstowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Edwinstowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Forest Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your The Forest Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Forest Hotel Edwinstowe
Forest Hotel Edwinstowe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing