We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Columbus/Grove City
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Grove City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 8, 2013

The hotel is great for just about everything............ except for breakfast. How can something that looks so good taste so bland? We stayed here for two days and were extremely happy with everything except the breakfast. It had all the right components - omelet, bacon, and hashbrowns but on both mornings of our stay the breakfast had no flavor. Fortunately breakfast was free because of our Hilton Honors status but I feel bad for folks that paid for it. If you're not a breakfast eater then this is the place for you! Super clean rooms - super friendly staff - nice pool and hot tub and close to downtown but not right in the downtown mess. Also - anything you would need in terms of stores or restaurants is right outside your door on Stringtown Rd. One other side note - this HGI doesn't have any suites like some HGI's do - so if you're looking for a suite to spread out in, this isn't the place. I wish I could say we'd be back but my family likes to start the day with a good breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FloridaTravelBug05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe H, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Columbus/Grove City, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Im very glad we made your stay pleasant and everyone here is always happy to see our guest leaving feedback. While I do apologize for the breakfast experience, we are always striving to improve the customers experience. I understand breakfast is important to you and I hope you will give us a try again and give us another chance to please you. We are currently making changes to better improve the breakfast experience for our guest by changing the way we prepare the food. Everyone should get to enjoy a good and hearty breakfast before starting their day.

And while I apologize that we didn't have the type of suite you were interested in, we do offer a Whirlpool Suite and a Junior Suite. These rooms provide more living space and the Junior offers a pull out couch as well. I hope the next time you visit you will give us another chance and we appreciate the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (541)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

521 - 527 of 541 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2012

My wife, adult daughter and I stayed at this facility one night between Christmas and New Years. Generally, I prefer to give a good report or say nothing at all. But, I expect a certain excellence from Hilton, even in their "lower end" facilities, and in this instance there were just a few too many negatives. I want to say up front that the personnel at the desk (Jen, Erika) were very helpful and efficient, no problems here. About the issues: first, we were using points and phoned in the reservation while on the road (such reservations must be made through a Rewards operator). The back and forth and length of time on hold was unacceptably long--at least 20 minutes for the simple reservation of one double room. The hotel itself appears very clean and pleasant, having been recently remodeled. Nice look. However, it is, as they say, what's on the inside that counts. Our shower handle (Room 103) was loose within the wall (poor craftsmanship). The gym room door was malfunctioning and wouldn't accept our room key cards. We were provided with conditioner but no shampoo. The coffee in the lobby was too cool and either of a poor quality or poorly made (tasteless). I forgot my toothbrush (admittedly I'm at fault here) which the hotel was happy to provide, but I must say that the item was the most flimsy and cheap toothbrush I have ever seen, honestly. This is Hilton. I realize that if one tries he/she can be engaged in fault-finding. I don't think that's me; this experience had just a few too many disappointments. The bed, however, was lovely. And the cheerful faces at the desk erase a lot of ills.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe H, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Columbus/Grove City, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and we will make every effort to improve in the areas of your concern. We hope that you will give us another try in the future and allow us to exceed your expectation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I travel to Grove City about every three months and decided to give HGI another try based on the recent reviews and remodeling. Everything is very good except for the breakfast. The service and food were just as bad as when I last stayed there over a year ago. Also the breakfast area is now set up to mainly accomodate large groups. There are only a few small tables and finding a place to sit for one person is difficult. One other negative is that the clerk at the front desk was not friendly during check in. If breakfast is not an issue for you then this is a good place to stay. For me it is a deal breaker and I will stay at another hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rondot98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe H, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Columbus/Grove City, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

I’m very sorry that your trip was not satisfactory due to the breakfast. We hear at the Hilton Garden Inn try to make everyones stay feel like your staying at home. I would like to extend an invitation to you to come in and have breakfast on us next time your in town. Although we were not able to make your previous stays a success, we look forward to showing you all the great changes we have made to our restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

OK, how perfect? I travel a lot. Most hotels manage to mess up some where. Not here.

This HGI is well run. The staff is happy and efferent. The rooms were to the Hilton standard. Very comfortable, big big screens.

Breakfast was very tasty with a nice staff.

If we find ourselves in this area we will stay with this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SH1304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe H, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Columbus/Grove City, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

I am very glad we made your stay prefect! We enjoy pleasing our guest and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed at Hilton Garden Inn over Labor Day. The hotel was very nice, clean, & the staff were friendly. Our only frustration was that the pool was green (we were told the pool was monitored by a third party & they would know if the discoloration was algae. Allegedly it was the new paint job and the lighting that made it look that way.) In the light of day, the color had not gotten better, but worse. Hotel staff informed me we could have used the pool next door, but we were checking out by then.

Overall, the staff helped make it right and we had a nice stay otherwise.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe H, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Columbus/Grove City, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

I would like to extend my apologies for our pool not being to your standards. I know that when you stay in a hotel the pool is one area most people like to visit because its not always something they get to use regularly. Please stop by the pool on your next stay, we have recently repainted it and its always blue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Stayed for business and personal. Lobby recently updated with Hilton's new Garden Inn concept: hip, open concept (similar to the new Marriott Coutyard's in urban settings). Very friendly staff. Rooms were on par with other Garden Inns I've stayed at. We would stay here again. Gym was small and Jacuzzi cold but other than that we were happy with our choice to stay here.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank ohiocouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe H, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Columbus/Grove City, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

I’m glad that your stay was exceptional and look forward to accommodating you in future stays. Thank you for bring to our attention the temperature of the Jacuzzi. We have since then set the temperature to 102° degrees and hope this better suits you upon your next stay. Please let us know if there is anything we can do to make your next stay better, as we want all our guest to feel as if they are at home when they stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

My husband and I recently visited this property, and below are the pros/cons from our experience:

Pros:
~Very Clean (no bed bugs)
~Relatively Quiet
~Friendly staff
~Great working A/C
~Spacious Room
~Great Food (on site)
~Decent selection of in-room movies
~Close to the freeway and several restaurants/stores

Cons:
~We booked the whirlpool suite (don't waste your money). This jacuzzi tub was like a bathtub with very weak jets. It isn't worth the added expense
~The furniture is not overly comfortable (including the bed). This bed is 'adjustable', but even all the way turned down, it was still too firm.

Overall, for this type of hotel, it was far superior than others in its' class. My husband typically stay at higher-end hotels and/or Bed and Breakfasts, but we thought we would check this property out in case we needed somewhere to stay in an emergency (power outage, A/C or heat outage, etc). This property would be perfect.

Room Tip: Don't waste your money on the whirlpool room. The jets are weak!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chops1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe H, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Columbus/Grove City, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed the property and most of the amenities. We strive to make your stay as comfortable as we possibly can and are glad you would consider staying with us again. I apologize that the whirlpool tub wasn't to you liking and greatly appreciate your honesty. We do however also offer a Jacuzzi spa in our pool area and invite you to try it out upon your next stay. I'm glad we were able to make your stay a great one and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grove City hotels
0.3 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Columbus Grove City
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbus South
Hampton Inn Columbus South
#4 of 17 in Grove City
361 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Columbus Grove City
Courtyard Columbus Grove City
#10 of 17 in Grove City
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 17 in Grove City
106 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Columbus/Grove City
0.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Columbus - Grove City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Columbus/Grove City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Columbus/Grove City

Address: 3928 Jackpot Rd, Grove City, OH 43123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Grove City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Grove City
#2 Family Hotel in Grove City
Price Range: $108 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Columbus/Grove City 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Grove City! The Hilton Garden Inn Columbus/Grove City hotel is only 6 miles south of downtown Columbus off I-71, in the business suburb of Grove City. Conveniently located near numerous office buildings and business parks. Within 10 minutes of the Hollywood Casino and 5 minutes of the Scioto Downs casinos, German Village, Ohio Auto Auction, Beulah Park and Ohio State University. The Hilton Garden Inn Columbus/Grove City, Ohio hotel restaurant, The Garden Grill® serves freshly prepared breakfast and dinner. Come enjoy a taste of Ohio hospitality and exceptional service at the Hilton Garden Inn Columbus/Grove City hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Columbus/Grove City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Columbus/Grove City Hotel Grove City
Hilton Grove City
Grove City Hilton
Hilton Garden Inn Columbus/Grove City Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing