We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful unique hotel bursting with character”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barnby Moor
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Beautiful unique hotel bursting with character”
Reviewed October 18, 2009

My husband and I just had two nights in this hotel. The room was gorgeous - each one being uniquely furnished. We ate in the hotel both nights and the food was fabulous - fish and chips delicious, monkfish on risotto very tasty. Easy to get to Lincoln from here so we had a trip out and visited the cathedral. Would recommend for romantic getaway. We were not disturbed by any noise. Lovely snug with a roaring fire.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PollyWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    132
    43
    22
    14
See reviews for
130
168
8
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2009

My husband and I stayed at Ye Olde Bell for our RUBY wedding anniversary, following a recommendation by our daughter. Unfortunately, the SMALL room, was right at the top (no lift) and was quite dark and unappealing. Yes, there were trendy swathes of fabric across the bed and the bathroom was large and modern but, the bedroom itself was not adequate for 2 adults. The wardrobe was tiny and the very soft double bed horribly uncomfortable. I did go to receoption to enquire about a better room but was somewhat frightened by the tall, blonde receptionist who rolled her eyes and took a deep sigh before responding that 'all empty rooms had been flagged' so she had nowhere else to put us. The reception rooms on the ground floor are very attractive and the hotel does have a nice feel, it's just that not all of the bedrooms are how they are protrayed on the website.
Having spent three nights there, and hearing staff talk about 'business men and weddings' it seems that Ye Olde Bell management are more interested in chasing the big money that can be made from 'business men and weddings' and don't really care about anybody else.

Helpful?
Thank francie75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2009

Booked as a birthday treat for myself and my partner. Arrived and were promptly checked in - shown to a lovely double room with views over the beautiful gardens and grounds. Room was clean, comfortable and well designed - the person who showed us to the rooms explained that the designer had styled each room individually. Bathroom had a double power shower although no bath (doesn't bother us but if people want a bath I would prehaps check on booking?).
We went into the bar area for drinks, staff were very friendly and although some wedding guests entered the bar from a function room we did not feel uncomfortable in our travelling clothes.
We had dinner in the main restaraunt - the restaraunt manager is very friendly and attentive. The food was mainly sublime, I had sweet pepper and tomato soup with homemade pesto drizzled on top, which was probably the best soup I've tasted. Partner had haddock fishcakes which he said were very nice also. My steak was slightly dry, however i hadn't ordered a sauce to accompany it which i usually do. The handcut chips were lovely. I finished with a chocolate sponge which was served with clotted cream - it was so lovely it was like eating a mousse!! I can't describe how yummy it was - only problem was that it was too big and I couldn't finish it!
We had more drinks in the bar until about half past 12, then retired to bed. I understand that there was 2 wedding receptions going on that night - we did not hear anything from our bedroom although we were on the third floor. One of the other reviewers mentioned the noise from the third floor - we heard nothing?!
Breakfast was ok, the cold buffet selection being better than the cooked. Cooked had lots of choices, however it was a manned buffet and I prefer my cooked breakfasts cooked fresh for me. But it was still fine. The danish pastries were lovely and they seemed to have an excellent selection of local cereals and musli, as well as plenty of fruit. Orange juice was from cartons and was warm - only minor issue though on an otherwise throughly enjoyable stay. Friendly staff, nice food, and well refurbished rooms. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vespalynd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2009

After a nine hour drive, we came across this hotel. We was told the room would be £125 per night but dropped to £100. What they did not tell us that there would be a disco/event going on until 1am. We was put on the 3rd floor and still the music felt like it was in our room. At breakfast we ordered the full English which again left a lot to be desired and no sooner was our cutlery put down, than our plates was whisked away, the waiters and waitresses was hovering the whole time which made for an uncomfortable experience. I would not recommend this hotel if you a looking for a peaceful and relaxing break, it was far from that and so didnt warrant the £100 for the room.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BakingQueen64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Berwick, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2009

My husband and I stayed 4 nights at Ye Olde Bell and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. We shall definitely use the hotel again and recommend to friends. Our room was light and airy and tastefully decorated, the bed huge and very comfortable, and the en-suite large and modern. The public areas and hallways are filled with antiques and interesting old pictures. We ate in the restaurant or bar area every evening and, each time, the food was excellent. Staff were always friendly and helpful. It was a joy to stay there.
If I have one complaint it is that staff would go outside for a cigarette and the smoke would come in through our bedroom window and make the room smell. Being avid non-smokers, we found this quite unpleasant. But, that aside, everything was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maythorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle,uk
Level 5 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2009

I stayed there as i was going to a wedding in the hotel. The rooms had just been refurbished and clean. I had ask for a twin but got a double, which they promtley moved us to a new room, so both the rooms i saw were of equal standard.The main road was outside are window but didnt hear ant traffic noise(it is on a country lane)and had a good view of fields.
Breafast was exellant ,with everthing you would want and the full english cooked to order.
Speaking to some friend that had eatten the night before in the resturant commented it was just ok(not excllent but also not bad)
This is a nice traditionally country hotel.The staff looked after us all well.Also had a good wedding reception there.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crisonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2008

We stayed here for a few nights in August before our wedding. Sadly, unknown to us the hotel was booked for 3 wedding receptions during our stay. Our room was directly over the function room so sleep was impossible until the party was over which was around 2-30am.

Staff are not the most friendly or efficient. The hotel itself is expensive and the room comfort and facilities do not match the prices. The residents bar closes at 11pm and it was a huge effort to get the staff to serve drinks despite them promising extended hours.

Overall, we would avoid unless attending a function as there are better hotels in the next town.

  • Liked — Large free car park
  • Disliked — Noise from disco
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Rochdalien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnby Moor
3.0 mi away
Best Western Plus West Retford Hotel
6.2 mi away
Muthu Clumber Park & Hotel and Spa
8.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Doncaster Mount Pleasant Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Best Western Lion Hotel
5.8 mi away
Acorn Lodge Guest House
Acorn Lodge Guest House
#2 of 3 in Worksop
67 reviews
11.2 mi away
The Forest Lodge Hotel
The Forest Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edwinstowe
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Barnby Moor, Retford DN22 8QS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Retford > Barnby Moor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barnby Moor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17th century hotel now passionately restored throughout by local owners to AA 4-Star + Rosette and the addition of a brand new Luxury Spa opened in 2017. Sheer luxury everywhere with rich fabrics, chandeliers, antiques and period features. Individually styled bedrooms and stunning suites, all with flatscreen TVs and contemporary bathrooms with walk-in power showers. Lounges with real log fires in winter and smart Garden Terrace Bar for summer drinks and dining al fresco. Restaurant Bar 1650 with creative and rich ambient St Leger Bistro-by-the-Bar with extensive menu inc creative Rosette dishes plus traditional classics. Hotel Gym plus Spa with indoor/outdoor vitality pool, 10 thermal experiences including unique ‘Snowstorm’ plus beauty treatment rooms and hair salon. Just off the A1 and on the border of Nottinghamshire, Lincolnshire and Yorkshire - ideal for Sherwood Forest, Lincoln Cathedral, Nottingham Castle, Chatsworth House and Doncaster and Southwell Races. Just 5 minutes from Retford Mainline Rail Station and close to Robin Hood & East Midlands Airports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ye Olde Bell Hotel And Restaurant
Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant Barnby Moor, Nottinghamshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing