We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barnby Moor
Certificate of Excellence
Worcs
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The Wedding”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed here for a wedding and spent extra night because of the weather. The wedding breakfast was so beautiful with log fires and beautiful chandeliers in the room. The food you just couldn't fault and the tables were so well laid they really did look lovely. I must also mention the staff. In all departments they were very pleasant and seemed eager to please. We stayed here for three nights and our bedroom was large and very comfortable. It was a very pleasant experience all round.

Room Tip: Room 25 was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElaineWorcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
I'm delighted you enjoyed the wedding you attended recently, I think the weather was a challenge for quite a few of the guests but thankfully everyone made it here safely to enjoy the celebrations.
Thank you for your lovely comments about the hotel, the food and in particular the staff. They are team of people in which I take great pride and I know they go above and beyond to give our guests a positive and memorable experience.
Thank you for taking the time to write a review it is greatly appreciated.
Kind regards
Kate Firth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    132
    43
    22
    14
See reviews for
131
170
8
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

I went to Ye Olde Belle with my husband and 2 friends for dinner. It was a fantastic meal, friendly staff and the hotel was amazing. We couldnt fault the service or the meal and we will definetly be coming back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank casseycc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
I'm delighted you enjoyed your recent dinner at Ye Olde Bell and that you plan to return.
You'll see some exciting changes in Restaurant 1650 when you do....we've just finished our latest project which has completely changed the look and feel of this beautiful restaurant. It's stunningly vibrant, trendy and definitely worth revisiting!!
I'm not going to say too much...come and see for yourself, I'm sure you'll love it as much as we do.
KInd regards
Kate Firth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retford
1 review
Reviewed January 18, 2013

My Husband and I had our wedding here in August and It was always going to be our num1 venue. A warm and welcome atmosphere awaits anybody who walks through the door.
Kate & Chris made our day perfect and very special.
Our three course meal was exquisite service was the best. The whole day I was made to feel relaxed and at ease.

I would recommend the Ye Olde Bell for any ocassion if it is just for a place to lay your head to your Special day the Ye Olde Bell Is the place to be.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you for such a wonderful review, it was a privilege to host your wedding. For you to say we made you feel relaxed and at ease is a very special compliment that we greatly appreciate.
I hope you will visit us again soon.
Kind regards
Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich England
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

I visited this hotel with another lad on business trip. This hotel is set way back in the 1800s beautiful wood panaling log fires burning in every room antiques all over the place wooden beams chandleirs and every room slightly different and individual. It takes you back to in time. The is well stocked and not too expensive the staff were very friendly. It was an excellent stay. It doesn't get 5 stars simply because they orgot to bring out 2 items on my breakfast and there was no white toast one morning at breakfast, not the worst issues you may say and you would be right! But perfection is 5 stars and this is not but that said this is easily the best hotel I have stayed in in the UK si thank you Ye Olde bell I will be visiting again with the better half if I can.

Room Tip: have the ploughmans in the restaurant it is awsome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul&Kaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a complimentary review, I'm delighted you enjoyed your business stay and sincerely hope you will return in the near future with your partner for a relaxing break......be assured we will take good care of you and hopefully hit that 5 star perfection!!
Kind regards
Kate FIrth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We've just spent a three-day Christmas package-at Ye-Olde Bell and we couldn't have wished for a nicer place.

We've never done the hotel package for Christmas thing before, and this really was first class.

We had two fabulous rooms in the courtyard block, huge beds, fabulous bathrooms, and one big comfy chair in each room. Perhaps it might be a good idea to add another one, as well as a waste bin in the bathroom, but in terms of space and style of decor these rooms were absolutely superb. Any hotels catering is going to be severely under pressure at Christmas, and I think we saw the best of the chef at the Bell at the dinner on Christmas Eve which was a sumptuous affair. Christmas lunch was being served to around 160 people, but they did it with great style, and included a visit from Father Christmas with a present for everybody into the proceedings.

Any hotel stands or falls by service, and here Ye old Bell excels itself. From a fabulous welcome from the lovely Roz, who showed as to our rooms and made us feel exceptionally welcome, to all the fabulous waiters and receptionist to give up their Christmas to ensure that all the guests were looked after. All under the watchful eye of Catherine, a superb general manager. This is what you go to a good hotel for, and here The Bell is absolutely first-class. With the city of Lincoln, and the market town of Retford just a short drive away, it would be a superb place for a weekend break, or you could, as we did for a lot of the time, just hole up in one of the gorgeous rooms and order room service.

First-class staff make this a beautiful place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claytoncast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We've just spent a three-day Christmas package-at Ye-Olde Bell and we couldn't have wished for a nicer place.

We've never done the hotel package for Christmas thing before, and this really was first class.

We had two fabulous rooms in the courtyard block, huge beds, fabulous bathrooms, and one big comfy chair in each room. Perhaps it might be a good idea to add another one, as well as a waste bin in the bathroom, but in terms of space and style of decor these rooms were absolutely superb. Any hotels catering is going to be severely under pressure at Christmas, and I think we saw the best of the chef at the Bell at the dinner on Christmas Eve which was a sumptuous affair. Christmas lunch was being served to around 160 people, but they did it with great style, and included a visit from Father Christmas with a present for everybody into the proceedings.

Any hotel stands or falls by service, and here Ye old Bell excels itself. From a fabulous welcome from the lovely Roz, who showed as to our rooms and made us feel exceptionally welcome, to all the fabulous waiters and receptionist to give up their Christmas to ensure that all the guests were looked after. All under the watchful eye of Catherine, a superb general manager. This is what you go to a good hotel for, and here The Bell is absolutely first-class. With the city of Lincoln, and the market town of Retford just a short drive away, it would be a superb place for a weekend break, or you could, as we did for a lot of the time, just hole up in one of the gorgeous rooms and order room service.

First-class staff make this a beautiful place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claytoncast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Well what can I say....thank you so much for such a lovely review. We really enjoyed looking after all our guests and I'm so proud of the way the team completely embrace the festive season.
I'm delighted you had a memorable stay and I hope to see you all again in the not too distant future.
KInd regards and Happy New Year
Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We had a fabulous Christmas Day lunch at Ye Olde Bell for the 2nd year. 1st rate food and service. On such a busy day, you never feel rushed. Not cheap but you get what you pay for. Will def be booking for 2013.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul1911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
I'm delighted you enjoyed Christmas lunch at Ye Olde Bell Hotel and thank you so much for taking the time to write a review.
I really appreciate your comments and will pass them on to all concerned.
It was a lovely day and we all enjoyed looking after our guests and making their Christmas memorable.
I look forward to seeing you in 2013, Happy New Year
Kind regards
Catherine Firth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnby Moor
3.0 mi away
Best Western Plus West Retford Hotel
6.2 mi away
Muthu Clumber Park & Hotel and Spa
8.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Doncaster Mount Pleasant Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Best Western Lion Hotel
12.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel
11.2 mi away
The Forest Lodge Hotel
The Forest Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edwinstowe
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Barnby Moor, Retford DN22 8QS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Retford > Barnby Moor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barnby Moor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17th century hotel now passionately restored throughout by local owners to AA 4-Star + Rosette and the addition of a brand new Luxury Spa opened in 2017. Sheer luxury everywhere with rich fabrics, chandeliers, antiques and period features. Individually styled bedrooms and stunning suites, all with flatscreen TVs and contemporary bathrooms with walk-in power showers. Lounges with real log fires in winter and smart Garden Terrace Bar for summer drinks and dining al fresco. Restaurant Bar 1650 with creative and rich ambient St Leger Bistro-by-the-Bar with extensive menu inc creative Rosette dishes plus traditional classics. Hotel Gym plus Spa with indoor/outdoor vitality pool, 10 thermal experiences including unique ‘Snowstorm’ plus beauty treatment rooms and hair salon. Just off the A1 and on the border of Nottinghamshire, Lincolnshire and Yorkshire - ideal for Sherwood Forest, Lincoln Cathedral, Nottingham Castle, Chatsworth House and Doncaster and Southwell Races. Just 5 minutes from Retford Mainline Rail Station and close to Robin Hood & East Midlands Airports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ye Olde Bell Hotel And Restaurant
Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant Barnby Moor, Nottinghamshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing