We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable and a great centre spend time touring”
Review of Tilldale House

Tilldale House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wooler
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tilldale House
Ranked #8 of 18 Wooler B&B and Inns
glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“comfortable and a great centre spend time touring”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Julia is a good hostess, clean rooms, tasty breakfasts, and many restaurants and pubs in easy walking distance. what we did not realise was that Tilldale is an excellent centre to see Northumberland - there was just so much to go and see close by - e.g. castles, cows, war sites, the Border towns, Hadrian's Wall, an abbey and its on the Southern Upland way and is a cycling haven. we enjoyed visits to Etal and Chillingham Castle [and their ancient cows]

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redbreast33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
29
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

stayed over may bank hol wkend,have to say one of if not the best b+bs we have stayed in,the room we stayed in was on the ground floor which had its own lounge area and it was absolutely perfect in every way,spotlessly clean and very comfortable...breakfast was lovely and Julia was a wonderful host and the place is a credit to her..wish we could of stayed longer but will def visit again asap..if you can, visit the Milan italian restaurant next to the Black Bull pub,lovely atmosphere and food is fantastic..thanks again Julia for a wonderful stay..Andy+Cheryl

Room Tip: ground floor cottage room is fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheryl w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

This lovely B&B is right on Wooler high street. We stayed for one night in a king size room with en suite. Room was large and clean and comfortable and had a small seating area. No traffic noise despite being at the front of the property. Good, hearty breakfast with lots of choice. Host was very friendly. Large lounge also available for guest use.

Only downside was that the room and communal areas were a little cold. However the room warmed up very quickly on turning up the radiator.

Overall an excellent establishment. We would return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simbelina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurencekirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Very welcoming and friendly, Julia couldn't do enough for us. Room was really comfortable and warm. Breakfast was excellent too. Would definitely recommend to walkers as Julia was not phased by muddy boots and happily took them away to dry off. Julia recommended the nearby Italian restaurant for dinner and it was really good. The best place we stayed in whilst walking the St Cuthbert's Way.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Webbs82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
150 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 371 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Julia allocated us the cottage attached to her B & B which was spacious with a separate lounge so we could spread out and dry our walking gear. It is in a great position on Wooler High Street but as the bedroom is towards the rear there was no traffic noise. However, as this is an old cottage with low ceilings you do hear every step ( snore and cough ) of your upstairs neighbour...and he/she yours !
Breakfast was great...especially the porridge.
If you visit Milan...the Italian restaurant.... then best book as we were unceremoniously told that there was no table available !...The Black Bull was fine.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WinstonGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
potwasher, Owner at Tilldale House, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
I have been in contact with Winston to thank him for bringing this issue to my notice. This room is the only ground floor bedroom I have in my Bed & Breakfast and it is in the oldest section of the house hence its lower ceiling. All of my other bedrooms are on the first floor in the main house all have "normal height" ceilings there are no further rooms above these just the roof. The "offending" ceiling has now been soundproofed.....or should I say "snore proofed" !!!! I am always happy hear suggestions that enhance the standard of my house. Thank you again Winston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Our second stay at Tilldale House, this time three nights - we wish it could have been more!
Julia is the perfect host - very friendly and helpful without being intrusive.
The room was very clean and comfortable, and the breakfasts were excellent.
We are not 'serious' walkers but enjoyed a few of the many superb scenic walks in the Wooler area, for which Tllldale House is an excellent base. Very, very highly recommended - thank you Julia - we hope to stay with you again again soon.
Tip: if you wish to dine at the nearby popular Italian restaurant (Milan), advance booking is almost essential, and particularly so at weekends. We failed to get a table on two consecutive evenings, but there are plenty of other eateries in the vicinity to suit most tastes.

Room Tip: We preferred the ground floor room, (next door) but if that is unavailable the other rooms are excel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ambridge78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Julia is a friendly and well-organised landlady. After a tough day walking St Cuthbert's Way, we were warmly welcomed and showed to a comfortable bedroom. We took Julia's advice to dine at the local Italian restaurant, which provided a pleasant change from pub food. Having given due warning the night before, I was able to enjoy smoked haddock and poached eggs for breakfast before setting off for the final day's walk.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fatherdoo2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wooler hotels
0.3 mi away
Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler
0.0 mi away
Rockliffe House
Rockliffe House
#10 of 18 in Wooler
30 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Old Mill B&B
The Old Mill B&B
#1 of 18 in Wooler
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
0.6 mi away
Hemmel Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
No.1 Hotel & Wine Lounge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tilldale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tilldale House

Property: Tilldale House
Address: 34-40 High Street, Wooler NE71 6BG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Wooler
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Wooler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tilldale House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at our award winning Bed and Breakfast for just one night or use us as a base to explore the beautiful Northumberland countryside. A warm welcome awaits at our 17th century stone built home. . All of our comfortable, spacious bedrooms are en suite, guests have access to the house at all times. Off road parking is available or you can park outside the property. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tilldale House Wooler, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing