We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice ambience, shame about the perfumed candles”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wooler
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“nice ambience, shame about the perfumed candles”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We went to the Tankerville arms on a wet Sunday evening in anticipation of eating dinner. We found seats in a very pleasant bar area - lots of localised lighting, twinkly lights and candles. We got aperitifs and menus but were completely put off eating by the all pervasive synthetic spice aroma from the candles. The dining room was full so it seemed as if we would be eating in the bar which would not in principle be an issue were it not for the terrible, sickly smell. Had we not got drinks, we would have left straight away but we persevered long enough to down a glass of red before voting with our feet!!! The (very) bracing walk back to our hotel was very welcome to clear our heads of the ghastly chemical spice from the Tankerville's candles. we will not return!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suemissb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    105
    48
    36
    14
See reviews for
50
167
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

So nice to stay somewhere so friendly with fab staff. Nothing was too much trouble
Excellent unique sausages!! Both with mash at dinner and at breakfast....
Lovely being able to help self to fresh coffee.
I would definitely return. So central too for lindisfarne sea houses st cuthberts way!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonni21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Went here for a meal with our friends, all 4 of us had different dishes and all of us were equally impressed with our choice. I had the lamb shank and the meat fell off the bone, it was delicious. The service was excellent and very friendly. It's been many years since I had been to the Tankerville arms, and it was a warm and welcoming.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elsejon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheTankerville A, General Manager at Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
So pleased you enjoyed it, come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

My wife and I staeyed at the hotel as part of a friends family wedding party at Cuddystone Hall.
On the way home after checking out, I found out that that we should have been charged the rate quoted to the Bride's family for their friends staying and we were charged the full rate.
After a number of e-mails to the hotel, all without the courtesy of a reply, I thought that I would make other potential travellers aware of their overcharging. I was not surprised to find reading the other reviews that this was not the first time that they have overcharged a customer.

I would be very interested in the General Managers reply as they have not had the courtesy to reply to my communications!

A hotel of faded glory with helpful but overworked staff.

Be aware that on Sundays the last call for breakfast is 9am so no sleeping in!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank efpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheTankerville A, General Manager at Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Good Afternoon, no record of an email being received from anyone being overcharged. I struggle to understand why this would be your chosen way of contacting us over using the telephone. Please ring 01668 281581 and I will be more than happy to try and resolve your problem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Haven't been here for a meal after a disappointing meal 2/3 years ago. Visited twice recently and all meals were good value. The Eyemouth haddock was excellent and very big. So glad we didn't bother with a starter!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank COZIETOES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheTankerville A, General Manager at Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
So glad you enjoyed it. We have just had to buy bigger plates for the fish!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

First class service. Many thanks to Duncan and his team for a first class Northumbrian welcome Although others have said the hotel is a little dated what do would expect from an 16th century coaching inn. The hotel may have an old world charm but it also has all the modern amenities - best of all the staff are great - without fail they all great you with smiles and go out of their way to provide the best service they can

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trisha11edin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheTankerville A, General Manager at Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed at the Tankerville Arms for a week with 9 others while walking the St Cuthberts Way
Let me put things right, the furniture is not dated; it is old, good and suits this old coaching Inn.
Our room was clean, very comfortable and spacious, The staff where helpful and polite.
The food was first class and presented pretty well, one night some things were not available, the waiter apologised and gave us a better choice
There is lots of parking space.
There IS a problem with the hot water, in that it takes ages to run a bath, our shower was either running VERY hot or VERY cold. I reported this and was told it could be fixed that day, we told them to wait until we left as we did not use it much
We all 11 loved this place, even if it does need a bit of TLC on the outside top floor dormers. Would I stay again? Certainly. Would I recommend it? Certainly.
Please Tankerville, don’t change the “dated” furniture, it suits the place fine, thank you for looking after my group
The only really bad thing was an extremely unpleasant woman guest at the hotel, who had a problem with 11 people on our table enjoying them selves and laughing, we were not rowdy, not drunk, just happy, the couple were put in there place by one of our group who is usually a very quiet man

Room Tip: Go walking with Ramblers Holidays!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mountainmanBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheTankerville A, General Manager at Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you, it was lovely to have you all
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wooler
8.8 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
21.2 mi away
Warkworth House Hotel
Warkworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Warkworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
12.4 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
23.2 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
15.5 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler

Property: Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler
Address: Cottage Rd, Wooler NE71 6AD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Wooler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wooler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled by the Cheviot Hills in the quaint town of Wooler, this family-run former Coaching Inn offers a welcoming ambiance with cosy log fires, seasonal cuisine, stunning scenery, free Wi-Fi and parking. Originally built in the 17th Century by the Earl of Tankerville, it has a long history of providing comfort and warmth to travellers wishing to explore the beauty of the Northumbrian countryside. To this day, the hotel has retained this traditional spirit of hospitality and has garnered a fantastic reputation for its friendly and helpful service. Central to this is the cultivation of a peaceful and relaxing atmosphere supported by some wonderful views, lovely gardens and a sense of charm and style that effortlessly evokes the captivating allure of its vibrant past. The Hotel offers 17 en-suite bedrooms and, as benefits a building of this age, each one is wonderfully unique and full of individual character. Tastefully decorated in a style reflective of the wider property, what these rooms do share is a commitment to providing a high standard of comfort and a peaceful night's sleep. Every room also features complimentary Wi-Fi access, freeview TV, hairdryer, direct-dial telephone and tea and coffee making facilities as well as some fantastic views of the gardens and the surrounding countryside. There are room types to suit all kinds of traveller, including single, classic and superior double or twin options. What's more there is also a separate 2-bedroom Garden House in the grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing