We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wooler
Reviewed September 26, 2013

First class service. Many thanks to Duncan and his team for a first class Northumbrian welcome Although others have said the hotel is a little dated what do would expect from an 16th century coaching inn. The hotel may have an old world charm but it also has all the modern amenities - best of all the staff are great - without fail they all great you with smiles and go out of their way to provide the best service they can

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trisha11edin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheTankerville A, General Manager at Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Thank you!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (337)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 337 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed at the Tankerville Arms for a week with 9 others while walking the St Cuthberts Way
Let me put things right, the furniture is not dated; it is old, good and suits this old coaching Inn.
Our room was clean, very comfortable and spacious, The staff where helpful and polite.
The food was first class and presented pretty well, one night some things were not available, the waiter apologised and gave us a better choice
There is lots of parking space.
There IS a problem with the hot water, in that it takes ages to run a bath, our shower was either running VERY hot or VERY cold. I reported this and was told it could be fixed that day, we told them to wait until we left as we did not use it much
We all 11 loved this place, even if it does need a bit of TLC on the outside top floor dormers. Would I stay again? Certainly. Would I recommend it? Certainly.
Please Tankerville, don’t change the “dated” furniture, it suits the place fine, thank you for looking after my group
The only really bad thing was an extremely unpleasant woman guest at the hotel, who had a problem with 11 people on our table enjoying them selves and laughing, we were not rowdy, not drunk, just happy, the couple were put in there place by one of our group who is usually a very quiet man

Room Tip: Go walking with Ramblers Holidays!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mountainmanBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheTankerville A, General Manager at Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Thank you, it was lovely to have you all

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

This hotel is pleasant but a little dated. The food is superior pub grub or a little better. My room was adequate and the bathroom newly refurbished. However, the mattress had seen ( many) better days! Unfortunately, Wooler and the hotel were unable to serve sandwiches or food at 14.45 on a Saturday which, for a tourist area is surprising ( the milk bar by the caravan site at the entrance to Woooler was open Neil 16.50 and ver good). The hotel staff were all extremely peasant as were the drivers for Glen Valley 'buses!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
Thank gauntlettandhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheTankerville A, General Manager at Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We do sandwiches all day, everyday, so I will look into why you couldn't get any. Also, if you could just drop me an email with your room number on, I will check out the bed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We loved The Tankerville Arms, Clean, comfy and friendly. Great breakfasts, evening meal not so good . A great base for travelling to Seahouses where we took the boat to Inner Farne to see the Puffins, nesting Terns with their sweet newly-hatched chicks (top tip: take a hat or hood to wear when on the island as the parent birds tend to peck your head protecting their young!) and seals on the sandbanks. Bamburgh Castle and Lindisfarne are a must. So with the hotel and activities, a four-star break.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank bassetlawbard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheTankerville A, General Manager at Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Thank you! We are a fab base for exploring North Northumberland. Glad you had a nice time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Managed to get a good deal on the nicest room (as was being used as the Honeymoon suite after we had stayed!) Good food, not huge portions but plenty for us. Comfortable bed and clean room if slightly dated styling. V. friendly (and witty) staff especially Teri. Just 20 mins drive from the Holy Island of Lindisfarne which was the main reason for our trip

Room Tip: Rooms to rear of pty overlook big garden, front are on busyish road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 451ShirleyWhirley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheTankerville A, General Manager at Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Thank you for your visit! Come again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We needed a break for one night away from the hustle bustle of our busy lives. The Tankerville Arms greeted us with a friendly welcome. The room ticked all the boxes for us and the evening meal was delicious. Very friendly staff and clean accommodation. We would certainly use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilipM202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheTankerville A, General Manager at Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Thank you so much, lovely to have you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I agree with other reviewers that this hotel is very dated. The room we stayed in was good, but others in our party were given rooms that were not of an acceptable standard.We were disappointed that the bar closed very early on a Saturday evening . Breakfast was very poor and had obviously been reheated. The portions sizes were very small and no late service on a Sunday morning. When we came to pay our bill had been calculated wrongly. Such a shame that a lovely building did not live up to its full potential. I don't think we will return

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheTankerville A, General Manager at Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Thank you for your feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wooler
15.4 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
17.4 mi away
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Marshall Meadows Country House H...
#1 of 3 in Berwick upon Tweed
496 reviews
12.4 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
399 reviews
8.8 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
393 reviews
16.5 mi away
The Hog's Head Inn
The Hog's Head Inn
#4 of 5 in Alnwick
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler

Address: Cottage Rd, Wooler NE71 6AD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Wooler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wooler
Price Range: $51 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled by the Cheviot Hills in the quaint town of Wooler, this family-run former Coaching Inn offers a welcoming ambiance with cosy log fires, seasonal cuisine, stunning scenery, free Wi-Fi and parking. Originally built in the 17th Century by the Earl of Tankerville, it has a long history of providing comfort and warmth to travellers wishing to explore the beauty of the Northumbrian countryside. To this day, the hotel has retained this traditional spirit of hospitality and has garnered a fantastic reputation for its friendly and helpful service. Central to this is the cultivation of a peaceful and relaxing atmosphere supported by some wonderful views, lovely gardens and a sense of charm and style that effortlessly evokes the captivating allure of its vibrant past. The Hotel offers 17 en-suite bedrooms and, as benefits a building of this age, each one is wonderfully unique and full of individual character. Tastefully decorated in a style reflective of the wider property, what these rooms do share is a commitment to providing a high standard of comfort and a peaceful night's sleep. Every room also features complimentary Wi-Fi access, freeview TV, hairdryer, direct-dial telephone and tea and coffee making facilities as well as some fantastic views of the gardens and the surrounding countryside. There are room types to suit all kinds of traveller, including single, classic and superior double or twin options. What's more there is also a separate 2-bedroom Garden House in the grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing