We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a let down!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wooler
Reviewed May 13, 2013

First of all id say the ladies working behind the bar make the pub a welcoming place , unfortunately though the food did not live up to the service . Poor quality, very overpriced. Myself and 2 friends all had disappointing meals. Rather than criticise id like to offer advice . In the pub we went to the night before the food was homemade, even the chips , makes such a difference, if a meal comes with salad you expect a range of salad not just cress and tomato. The place itself is quite nice, nice beer garden, staff, really dog friendly but won't be returning due to overpriced poor food

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Doncan1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheTankerville A, General Manager at Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Thank you for your feedback, rest assured we are working to resolve your points raised.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (337)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 337 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2013

During our walk from Melrose to Lindisfarne we encountered some great places to stay. Unfortunately the Tankerville Arms in Wooler was not one of them. The Tankerville has been a great place in the past I am sure but we felt it was tired and short staffed. The bedrooms were a good size and the beds comfortable but the lack of hot water at the end of a long days walking was disappointing. The food was mediocre but I am told the beer was great.

Room Tip: Ask for one with hot water. My friends complained about the lack of hot water and were moved
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ju1234_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheTankerville A, General Manager at Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Thank you for your feedback, all taken on board!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Just returned from a 2 night break, the hotel staff were very friendly, we were pleasantly surprised with our rooms, they were decorated very nice with lovely bedding and big white fluffy towels in the modern bathroom. We did not eat in the hotel on the first night, we thought we would try one if the local pubs (The Angel Inn) food and service very very disappointing. We would not recommend it.
We ate in the hotel the 2nd night and was very impressed with the food, it took a little time for food but it was cooked fresh from scratch and was well worth the wait.
We felt the wait at breakfast was a bit too long, however I think this was down to the fact that the hotel was very busy and not enough waiting staff to cover.
We would definitely recommend this hotel and would return.

Room Tip: This is a dog friendly hotel, so if you are not a dog lover be aware there could be lots of them sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gem60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheTankerville A, General Manager at Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Lovely to have you visit us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Stayed one night and found it to be perfectly fine. Single room a bit cell like and evening meal / breakfast nothing special. However, friendly staff and doggy friendly ( i didnt have my dog but woud bring her next time) so a few brownie points there. If I was staying again I'd ask to see rooms first as maybe there are nicer ones to be had. I think parts of hotel coud do with a freshen up decor wise - but to be honest for the money it really was pretty good.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wildwoman63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Visited here for an early morning coffee on a day trip to Wooler. It was great as the only place in the town open early at this time of the morning - i.e. around 8am!!!!! Had great service from Terri, and loved the personal touches such as the Teddy Bears, which marks this place apart from other, standard hotels. I also rated the coffee I ordered highly.

Would definitely visit here again!

Room Tip: Sorry - NO swimming pool at this center - but cannot delete it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheTankerville A, General Manager at Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Thank you! Terri is a diamond!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We booked for 5 nights and enjoyed our stay. The room was roomy, bright and clean, although the decor was a little tired in parts of the hotel. The staff on the whole were friendly and helpful and we enjoyed our breakfasts. However, the evening meals in the hotel were pretty dreadful, tough steak, cold food and generally poor quality overall. We both returned two courses one night virtually untouched and were disappointed with not just the meal but with the complete lack of any redress whatsoever, from anyone. The waiting staff were very inexperienced and clearly didn't know what to say to us so we thought at the very least the manager might come to our table to enquire about our grievance once the matter was brought to his attention - but not a word was said by anyone. Suffice to say we dined out in Wooler (Milan - Italian - delicious) for the rest of our stay. The hotel restaurant prices did not reflect the quality of the food served - the bar and restaurant service did not reflect the view portrayed on the website. In conclusion, I would recommend the hotel but unless the chef and bar manager change - dining in might be an over charged disappointment.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheTankerville A, General Manager at Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Really sorry you didn't enjoy your dining experience, and equally sorry that you feel you weren't look after properly having not enjoyed it. We are working hard to make sure that we get better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

My husband and I spent two days in this hotel, our room was very spacious and very clean. The staff were excellent, all very friendly and helpful. We ate in the hotel both night and the food was very good. The hotel says it is dog friendly, that is an understatement, our dog had a wonderful time and he enjoyed the free dog treats which were available. We ate in the bar with our dog lying happily at our feet eating his treats, wish there were more hotels like this one. We will certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: We were in room no 3 which was very spacious with plenty of room for our dog crate
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheTankerville A, General Manager at Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Come again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wooler
17.4 mi away
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Marshall Meadows Country House H...
#2 of 3 in Berwick upon Tweed
493 reviews
15.4 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
12.4 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
396 reviews
8.8 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
393 reviews
16.5 mi away
The Hog's Head Inn
The Hog's Head Inn
#4 of 5 in Alnwick
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler

Address: Cottage Rd, Wooler NE71 6AD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Wooler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wooler
Price Range: $56 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled by the Cheviot Hills in the quaint town of Wooler, this family-run former Coaching Inn offers a welcoming ambiance with cosy log fires, seasonal cuisine, stunning scenery, free Wi-Fi and parking. Originally built in the 17th Century by the Earl of Tankerville, it has a long history of providing comfort and warmth to travellers wishing to explore the beauty of the Northumbrian countryside. To this day, the hotel has retained this traditional spirit of hospitality and has garnered a fantastic reputation for its friendly and helpful service. Central to this is the cultivation of a peaceful and relaxing atmosphere supported by some wonderful views, lovely gardens and a sense of charm and style that effortlessly evokes the captivating allure of its vibrant past. The Hotel offers 17 en-suite bedrooms and, as benefits a building of this age, each one is wonderfully unique and full of individual character. Tastefully decorated in a style reflective of the wider property, what these rooms do share is a commitment to providing a high standard of comfort and a peaceful night's sleep. Every room also features complimentary Wi-Fi access, freeview TV, hairdryer, direct-dial telephone and tea and coffee making facilities as well as some fantastic views of the gardens and the surrounding countryside. There are room types to suit all kinds of traveller, including single, classic and superior double or twin options. What's more there is also a separate 2-bedroom Garden House in the grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing