We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wooler
Dunblane, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Stayed one night and found it to be perfectly fine. Single room a bit cell like and evening meal / breakfast nothing special. However, friendly staff and doggy friendly ( i didnt have my dog but woud bring her next time) so a few brownie points there. If I was staying again I'd ask to see rooms first as maybe there are nicer ones to be had. I think parts of hotel coud do with a freshen up decor wise - but to be honest for the money it really was pretty good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wildwoman63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    105
    47
    35
    13
See reviews for
48
165
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Visited here for an early morning coffee on a day trip to Wooler. It was great as the only place in the town open early at this time of the morning - i.e. around 8am!!!!! Had great service from Terri, and loved the personal touches such as the Teddy Bears, which marks this place apart from other, standard hotels. I also rated the coffee I ordered highly.

Would definitely visit here again!

Room Tip: Sorry - NO swimming pool at this center - but cannot delete it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheTankerville A, General Manager at Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you! Terri is a diamond!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

We booked for 5 nights and enjoyed our stay. The room was roomy, bright and clean, although the decor was a little tired in parts of the hotel. The staff on the whole were friendly and helpful and we enjoyed our breakfasts. However, the evening meals in the hotel were pretty dreadful, tough steak, cold food and generally poor quality overall. We both returned two courses one night virtually untouched and were disappointed with not just the meal but with the complete lack of any redress whatsoever, from anyone. The waiting staff were very inexperienced and clearly didn't know what to say to us so we thought at the very least the manager might come to our table to enquire about our grievance once the matter was brought to his attention - but not a word was said by anyone. Suffice to say we dined out in Wooler (Milan - Italian - delicious) for the rest of our stay. The hotel restaurant prices did not reflect the quality of the food served - the bar and restaurant service did not reflect the view portrayed on the website. In conclusion, I would recommend the hotel but unless the chef and bar manager change - dining in might be an over charged disappointment.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheTankerville A, General Manager at Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Really sorry you didn't enjoy your dining experience, and equally sorry that you feel you weren't look after properly having not enjoyed it. We are working hard to make sure that we get better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renfrew, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

My husband and I spent two days in this hotel, our room was very spacious and very clean. The staff were excellent, all very friendly and helpful. We ate in the hotel both night and the food was very good. The hotel says it is dog friendly, that is an understatement, our dog had a wonderful time and he enjoyed the free dog treats which were available. We ate in the bar with our dog lying happily at our feet eating his treats, wish there were more hotels like this one. We will certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: We were in room no 3 which was very spacious with plenty of room for our dog crate
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheTankerville A, General Manager at Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

My wife and I went there to celebrate my 77th birthday.When we saw our room we were go smacked.One double and one single bed. 46" Tele with free view.beuatiful bathroom with separate shower. There was a large selection of gourmet style food. The staff were very good and really looked the guests. One of the best breaks we have had in the UK.

Room Tip: We had room 8 which as I have was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheTankerville A, General Manager at Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Was lovely to have you, and thank you for such lovely comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed for two nights, staff were very helpful.
Bedroom was fine with a lovely large bathroom.
Had one evening meal & breakfasts all were very good.
Outside front of hotel looks a little tired, a coat of paint
would do

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PAYNELancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheTankerville A, General Manager at Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for your comments, a coat of paint is required, and is coming!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

We didnt stay at the hotel but went for dinner on easter sunday. Ate in the resturaunt which is a beautiful place and i bet folk don't even know its there! Roast and a pud for £12. we were a party of 8 and everybody throughly enjoyed their food. Apparently the beef was 'to die for'.
would definitely eat there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boroladyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheTankerville A, General Manager at Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for your comments, hopefully welcome you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wooler
8.8 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
21.2 mi away
Warkworth House Hotel
Warkworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Warkworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
23.2 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
15.5 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
15.4 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler

Property: Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler
Address: Cottage Rd, Wooler NE71 6AD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Wooler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wooler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled by the Cheviot Hills in the quaint town of Wooler, this family-run former Coaching Inn offers a welcoming ambiance with cosy log fires, seasonal cuisine, stunning scenery, free Wi-Fi and parking. Originally built in the 17th Century by the Earl of Tankerville, it has a long history of providing comfort and warmth to travellers wishing to explore the beauty of the Northumbrian countryside. To this day, the hotel has retained this traditional spirit of hospitality and has garnered a fantastic reputation for its friendly and helpful service. Central to this is the cultivation of a peaceful and relaxing atmosphere supported by some wonderful views, lovely gardens and a sense of charm and style that effortlessly evokes the captivating allure of its vibrant past. The Hotel offers 17 en-suite bedrooms and, as benefits a building of this age, each one is wonderfully unique and full of individual character. Tastefully decorated in a style reflective of the wider property, what these rooms do share is a commitment to providing a high standard of comfort and a peaceful night's sleep. Every room also features complimentary Wi-Fi access, freeview TV, hairdryer, direct-dial telephone and tea and coffee making facilities as well as some fantastic views of the gardens and the surrounding countryside. There are room types to suit all kinds of traveller, including single, classic and superior double or twin options. What's more there is also a separate 2-bedroom Garden House in the grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Hotel.de, Priceline, Agoda, HRS, LateRooms and Despegar.com so you can book your Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing