We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (11)
Filter reviews
11 results
Traveler rating
6
3
1
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
6
3
1
1
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 11 reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2015 via mobile

Had booked for 1pm sitting and was served about half an hour later but to be fair a large party had arrived just before us. However the wait was worth it. I had beef and my partner had pork. Both meats were thickly cut and beautifully tender. the veg was fresh, hot and tasty. Booking recommended

Stayed: July 2015, traveled with friends
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2015

Lovely bright room with twin beds. Tiny bathroom, shower only. The twin beds appointed with great fresh comforters and seemed like new pillows, very clean and affordable. Nice big dining/breakfast area which was also the only area would could get the free wifi. Pub full of locals, a bit dingy but friendly, bright staff and good ales. were here on business so more for the rooms and not the restaurant.

    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank rpm640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

We booked this on spec - only one we could find in the area. Turns out to be almost 'boutique' room - en suite, & bright red colour theme - very nicely put together. Big TV (but only seemed to switch on/off - perhaps the batteries were flat?), tea/coffee, but nice folded towels, shampoo etc set. Very comfortable bed. Price very reasonable inc breakfast in the cafe down the road - also v good. Just the 2 rooms. Busy friendly pub downstairs but not disturbed by noise. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Just the two - little difference
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a 1 night stay as part of a short break with our dog. We stayed at different accommodation in different areas over 3 nights, and just wish we had been in Northumberland for longer!

Our check in was was friendly. We we were asked what we would like for breakfast the next day and asked what time we would like to eat, then we were showed to our room.

The room itself was nice. It looked to have been recently decorated and had all the facilities that you would expect on a larger hotel - a 32 inch tv, hair dryer, tea/coffee making, walk in shower, toiletries. The bathroom was modern and spotlessly clean. The bed was very comfortable.

We didn't eat the the pub at night, although the menu was reasonably priced. We chose to eat across the road the the Indian restaurant which was very nice. The breakfast the next day was cooked to order as we sat down in the bar area. It was well cooked and very tasty!

We loved the location! The village of Wooler has plenty to offer - shops, pubs, cafés, a few restaurants. It is 2 miles from the Northumberland National Park which was beautiful, and around 40 minutes from the coast. That was also breathtaking! Look at the photos with this review. We are planning a return trip to this area!

Overall, we would stay again and recommend to others. The Anchor Inn does't offer luxury accommodation but for the price you get more than you would expect. Good value for money, a clean and well equipped room, and in a great location. A really lovely stay, thank you.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank charp86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Stayed here for a night in April 2014. Room was nice and clean, staff very friendly. We spent some time in the bar in the evening, couple of very nice pints of bitter. Breakfast in the morning was excellent. All in all a really pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews