We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Firwood Country Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 18 Wooler B&B and Inns
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

There were six of us walking St Cuthbert's Way and we stayed here for one night, 22nd August 2012. After being shown our rooms, which were very large and comfortable, we were invited into the lounge for delicious home made cake and tea. Beth made us feel at home immediately. There was lots of information about the surrounding area in the lounge Our bedroom looked onto the back garden where we were able to see red squirrels playing around a special feeder. This was a delight as we had never seen red squirrels before. Breakfast was definitely the best we had on our six day walk. We had a superb choice of food, well cooked, lovely bread, conserves and honey all served in a beautiful dining room. Beth advised us where to eat in Wooler on the night we arrived. We would certainly recommend Firwood Hall. A traditional home, very warm and comfortable.

Room Tip: The room where you can see the red squirrels in the back garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
36
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Excellent B&B in countryside. About half an hour walk to Wooler. About four-hour walk to Ingram though you could hire a bike as well. Morning is quiet and peaceful. The staff are very helpful and helped me with my walk plan and lent me maps to go by. The room is cosy. There are a couple of interesting decorates in guest lounge. I would say it is ideal for a short escape from city life.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meeyoru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, England
Level Contributor
103 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

An excellent B&B in beautiful countryside with stunning views. Numerous walks from venue so able to leave car on site, transport advisable to reach pubs in Wooler although if feeling energetic or want a whole bottle of wine to yourself, it could be done on foot.
Rooms large and very comfortable although our radiator didn't seem to work very well. There was though a welcoming real fire in the lounge on the day it rained and rained and rained! Lounge had lots of local information about walks, local history and places to visit. Beth was a mine of information.
Breakfast set us up for the day - all locally sourced.
Will certainly return next time we are in Northumbria.

Room Tip: Only three rooms; all on ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spendingitnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hessle, East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

We book our long weekend away (Jubilee weekend) at a bit short notice. We actually only found this place as my partners sister had bought us a voucher and they were on the list.

When we arrived the house was amazing and the views excellent too. It had been restored brilliantly and Mike and Beth are the friendliest and knowledgeable people you would ever want to meet.

Our room was beautiful. It had been done out as it would have been originally. The breakfast were to die for and so much choice. Nothing was ever a chore to them. On the bank holiday Tuesday we came through to the dining room to British flag napkins on the plates, a surprise of strawberries and ice cream to start our breakfast and a little box which had large jelly teddies in with red, white and blue bobbles on. It was such a lovely and thoughtful thing to do and it's little things like this that really set Mike and Beth apart from other places.

They recommended excellent places to eat in the local area and knew all the best places to visit for days out.

The break was a well needed earned break for my partner and I due to personal cicumstances and couldn't have wished for a better place to stay.

Mike and Beth thank you so much and next time we need a break we will be heading your direction again.

Jemma & Andy xxx

Room Tip: I would imagine each room is as good as the other so it wouldn't matter which room you stay in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jemma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiderdorp, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

Very splendid B&B adress. Great hospitality (even helped us with our damaged car).Beautiful surroundings and views from the house. Luxury room and very nice sitting room. Excellent breakfast

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leiderdorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STAFFORDSHIRE
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

Have you ever stayed somewhere special and been tempted not to tell anyone about it in case you can never get in again?This is one of those places. Set in beautiful countryside and close to the coast, it is perfectly situated for a peaceful break, where one can just sit and watch the visiting birds and animals, get booted up to explore the locality, visit the Farne Islands, or so much more. Mike and Beth are great hosts with a wealth of local knowledge. Our room was lovely, the breakfast was great, and we enjoyed our three night stay with a clear conscience as the place is run with a genuine concern for the environment. We were lucky, some good weather put the icing on the cake!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LITTLEHOLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

We stayed at Firwood House in May 2012 for one wonderful week. Our hosts Beth and Mike made us feel totally welcome and at home - even though we were the other side of the globe from home. The room was large and airy and spotlessly clean, (as was our great ensuite) and full of little luxuries - nice touches, Beth.
We had a terrific view from the room of the surrounding countryside and we really enjoyed all the local fauna which, like our hosts, were extremely friendly. We do not have squirrels "down under" and were thrilled to see how "people friendly" these are, as we thought them to be very shy and wary around humans.
Our "Great English Breakfasts" were to die for - beautifully cooked and served with lots of fun and laughter. Nothing was too much trouble for Beth or Mike. We totally enjoyed our week discovering Northumberland. Also very pleased to meet Glen, the border collie, whose antics kept us entertained for the week. We will be back again and have absolutely no hesitation in recommending Firwood House for a first class stay.

Raelene and Ian

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raelene T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wooler hotels
1.9 mi away
Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler
1.6 mi away
The Old Mill B&B
The Old Mill B&B
#1 of 18 in Wooler
5.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bridgend Farm
Bridgend Farm
#4 of 18 in Wooler
5.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
No.1 Hotel & Wine Lounge
1.6 mi away
Rockliffe House
Rockliffe House
#15 of 18 in Wooler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hemmel Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Firwood Country Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Firwood Country Bed and Breakfast

Property: Firwood Country Bed and Breakfast
Address: Middleton Hall, Wooler NE71 6RD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Wooler
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Wooler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Firwood Country Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Firwood Country Bed And Breakfast Wooler, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing