We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An essential resource”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wooler
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wooler Hostel & Shepherds Huts
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The Glendale Trust bought this hostel a few years ago after YHA had earmarked it for closure. This would have been a terrible shame as Wooler is the principal gateway to the Cheviots and, as such, needs budget accommodation and people spending their money in the town. Granted I stayed over the weekend, but it was still good to see so many people using the hostel. As to the hostel itself, I have no complaints. Staff were friendly and generously allocated me a room which was of higher value than the one I had paid for. The facilities are good, and the notice board was packed with interesting stuff. In addition, there are lovely paintings of local scenes on the walls. Finally, the information in the rooms about the Land Army girls who stayed in the hostel during the Second World War is an interesting touch.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Osborne84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (24)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 24 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2013

Wooler YHA is a welcoming sort of place, the staff are friendly and the building although a little plain is very well appointed. We were fascinated at the origins of the hostel being originally built for the land army and then subsequently adapted to a hostel. The latest addition to the operation are some designer style shepherds camping huts in the grounds which look great fun.
Thanks to the staff for a comfortable and enjoyable stay on our St Cuthbert's Way walk. Food was great

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eil p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

This unprepossessing 1950's red brick hostel is not typical of the buildings in Wooler which are mainly attractive stone houses, but it an excellent base for exploring the Cheviots and the National Park. Wooler advertises itself as the "gateway to the Cheviots" and if you explore the nearby hills and valleys you can see why. It lies on the St Cuthbert's Way so is often used by people walking this route. Although the building could really do with a facelift, it is run by friendly staff who know the surrounding area. Personally I find the pictures of the local scouts etc on the bunkroom walls a bit creepy and find myself wanting to turn them to face the wall, but the rooms are warm and the showers are hot. Nearby Berwick YH has gone to the other extreme as a stylish, well equipped boutique hostel but it doesn't have basic hostel facilities like somewhere to wash or dry your boots.

Room Tip: The hostel also offer Shepherds Huts to rent as well but I have yet to try them out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DesignerWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbb52016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma D, Online Content Manager at Wooler Hostel & Shepherds Huts, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanessa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wooler hotels
0.5 mi away
Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler
0.3 mi away
Riverside Leisure Park
0.2 mi away
No.1 Hotel & Wine Lounge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Old Mill B&B
The Old Mill B&B
#1 of 18 in Wooler
255 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
3 mi away
East Horton Farmhouse
East Horton Farmhouse
#4 of 9 in Wooler
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wooler Hostel & Shepherds Huts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wooler Hostel & Shepherds Huts

Address: 30 Cheviot Street, Wooler NE71 6LW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Wooler
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Wooler
Hotel Class:3 star — Wooler Hostel & Shepherds Huts 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the outskirts of the Northumberland National Park and 400 meters away from the picturesque market town of Wooler, this Youth Hostel is the ideal location for individuals, families and groups. Stay in our homely hostel with en-suite or shared rooms, or try one of our unique and fully-equipped Shepherd's Huts.Wooler Hostel and Shepherd's Huts offer a traditional 3* Youth Hostelling experience with a truly northern welcome; providing good value, low cost, spacious accommodation suitable for single travellers, families, large groups- including schools, universities, and sporting clubs- looking to stay in North Northumberland. Guests can enjoy a stay in one of the newly refurbished en-suite bedrooms in the hostel or in one of the traditional and distinctive Shepherd's Huts- which capture the true spirit of the Northumbrian countryside. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wooler Hostel & Shepherds Huts Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing