We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay”
Review of The Black Bull Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Black Bull Inn
Ranked #5 of 18 Wooler B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed for one night, a saturday.
The room was very clean and equipped with hairdrier, iron and tea making facilities. Our room faced the main street and we were told it may be a little noisy at night. There was very little noise and it did not bother us at all.
The staff made us feel very welcome here. We had dinner here and the steak was delicious.
The breakfast in the morning was superb.
No hesitation about coming back here.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank a7galashiels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (161)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 161 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2013

Hotel and food had good pub feel. Staff relaxed and friendly. Room comfortable and clean enough however, room heating didn't work and bathroom shower fittings difficult to regulate. We thought that the heating had not been turned on so we should have reported the issue and I am sure the staff would have made an effort to assist as they are very accommodating.

Room Tip: Ask for a back room as the bar noise could disturb some guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cjurdrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed for three nights in room 12, one of the bigger rooms at the front. I can imagine that anyone looking for the featureless boxes that you might find in a recently built hotel by one of the big chains, might find things to pick faults over. For us, the signs that this is a two hundred year old coaching inn just made it more pleasurable. Granted, we could hear people talking outside the front door on Saturday night, but we stay up late ourselves, so it was no problem for us.
Other reviewers have noted the hearty menu and portion size, but it is worth noting that they do not serve an evening meal on Sundays. That simply requires a visit to the Milan restaurant at the back of the inn- and that is no chore! The food there is very good and reasonably priced too. You would be advised to phone to book though. It is very busy at times. Finally, if you are from other parts of the country,or outside, take note that you are going to be in the place where there are the friendliest people you will find anywhere. This definitely includes the staff and locals at the Black Bull.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Our room had been recently refurbished, was spotlessly clean, lovely and warm and had everything we needed - even face flannels.

The breakfast was good, too. Apart from the cooked element, you could help yourself to as much as you wanted. Altogether, it was excellent value.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank SHIRLEY L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed two nights and were delighted with the accommodation. Our room was large and comfortable with a very good bed. The bathroom had one of the largest showers I have seen in a hotel. This place is very definitely good value for money. The bar area could do with a bit of attention but to be fair it is does function as one of the local pubs. I don't know if we will be through Wooler again but if we do we will have no problems about booking into the Black Bull..

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank JockBerks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Like most of my hotel stays, they are only overnight, on business. The Black Bull, I booked on Late Rooms.com, as it was on my way home from Edinburgh.The hotel is a splendid old building , with lots of charm and period features. I took my wife with me, and asked for a room as near to the ground floor as possible, as she has not long had a hip replacement. on our arrival we were greeted most warmly, booked in very promptly and shown to our room. This was on the first floor, up a lovely old wide staircase. Having booked a standard double room, we were very supprised when the door was opened, to see we had been upgraded to the Yearvling suite, with a 4 poster bed and a jaccuzzi. The room was delightful, high ceiling,extremely clean,and well furnished, the sofa in the bay window was great to see the world go by. Food was excelent and the portions very generous, we both had the Haddock and chips.It was lovely to have fresh fish and home made chips, not frozen and pre-portioned. Breakfast too was just as good, as many cereals, yoghurts, fresh fruit as you liked. Tea and coffee as much as you could want, and a classic full English, with a touch of haggis if you wished.
All in all a very pleasant stay, and somewhere I would have no hesitation in recommending to my friends.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Just got back from a three night stay at the Black Bull "Hideaway Suite" in Wooler with my husband and two kids (9 & 11). Although we always call in here for an excellently kept pint of real ale when we visit the area, this was the first time we've stayed there. The Hideaway Suite is tucked away up the little alley between the back of the hotel and the Milan Restaurant. It is really very well equipped, with a full kitchen including microwave, fridge, freezer, kettle, complimentary coffees/teas etc, crockery, pans and all you'd need for a fully self-catering stay. Everything was exceptionally clean (and I am a notorious fuss-pot for checking these things!), and fresh-smelling. The small double bedroom looked lovely and cosy and has an en-suite with shower over bath, toilet and sink, with plenty of clean white fluffy towels and free toiletries. The other room was used for putting up the kids and had a large sofa bed, small sofa, table and 4 chairs and a writing desk as well as a chest of drawers for their clothes: all in all, a nice space to spend a short holiday in. We ate at Milan on the first night and really splashed out - husband had the best T-bone steak he's had in 20 years and I had the fillet which was cooked to perfection to my order and also generous. Kids were happy with good pasta dishes and friendly service. Breakfast the next day was a bit over-generous so we had no lunch or very much for tea to be honest. They were happy to change our breakfast order every day depending on how we were feeling, and the poached eggs were perfect! I ate in the bar with kid #2 one evening; we both had scampi which was served with good home done chips and was excellent value for money. I would really recommend the Black Bull Hotel for a bar meal or short stay as a good value, friendly and very clean place. I will be returning in the autumn for another relaxing few days.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wooler
0.3 mi away
Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler
12.3 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,286 reviews
8.8 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
No.1 Hotel & Wine Lounge
0.4 mi away
Riverside Leisure Park
0.4 mi away
The Old Mill B&B
The Old Mill B&B
#1 of 18 in Wooler
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Bull Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Bull Inn

Address: 2 High Street, Wooler NE71 6BY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Wooler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Wooler
Price Range: $77 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Black Bull Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Black Bull Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Black Bull Inn Wooler, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing