We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money”
Review of The Black Bull Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Black Bull Inn
Ranked #5 of 18 Wooler B&B and Inns
norwich
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

My Son and I stayed here in August for three nights and found the room spacious and clean with an excellent breakfast.
We ate at the on site Milan restaurant which was excellent and great value for money.
Would not hesitate to stay again and would happily recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    59
    20
    10
    6
See reviews for
22
84
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
berks
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

The Black Bull was recommended as a' reasonable B&B which doesn't pretend to be something it isn't.' On entering the pub door we did wonder but were very pleased with our room which was modern and spacious and very clean. Everything was there; iron, full length mirror, hairdryer, good selection of coffees/teas, flat screen TV, cushions etc There was a guest lounge and dining room on the first floor so you didn't have to spend time in the bar or if you had children.As our room was at the back of the building it was very quiet so no closing time noise or cooking smells.Breakfast was served in the upstairs dining room and was freshly cooked and plenty of it served at your table - the pub served a range of meals which they would also serve upstairs if you wanted. The staff were welcoming and friendly and the village was the same, we really enjoyed our 2 nights an would certainly return. My only gripe was our bathroom which had seen better days - please fix the taps and put a shower on the wall!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank threecounties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
165 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

First appearance is not good with lots of locals smoking in the front doorway. Once the car park is found ( narrow access to the rear of property) then you can enter by the back door.
This was a one night stopover and we were pleasantly surprised to find a reasonable sized room with clean, fairly new decor. As the bar seemed busy we decided to order an evening meal. Again pleasantly surprised. Plain but well cooked and very reasonably priced. Portions are very large.
Breakfast is served in an upstairs dining room which is quite spacious. It was served very efficiently by Maureen who also served the evening meal. It runs like clockwork. Breakfast is plentiful with juices, fruit, cereals etc followed by cooked breakfast. Tea and toast are self service and therefore very fresh.
The only complaint we had was the fact that we could not have the window open due to the swarms of bees outside our window. From the road outside it is obvious that they have lots of nests all around the top of the building.
For the price we paid we found this to be very good value.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScotlandHattie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 16, 2012

I picked the black bull because it was located directly on 'st cuthberts way'. It was one of the cheaper options and I was only staying one night.
I was greeted by the manager, who was lovely. Couldn't do enough to help.
I stayed in the suite at the front of the hotel. The room was spacious and clean with everything we could ask for. Very luxurious, totally unexpected as the website I booked from had said it was only 2 star. We had a quick snack when we arrived. I had a ham sndwich, which was nice (but really who could get that wrong).
We had drinks in the bar, which was full of atmosphere and the retired to bed. We had a great sleep in our super comfy bed. It was a little noisy as we were on the main street, but I guess that should be expected, it was the weekend afeter all. Breakfast was great too. There was plenty of choice. We had each ordered a full english, one of the best we've had, and nicked some of the fresh fruit on offer for our mid morning snack.
Anyway we have already booked up again, for a relaxing weekend this time, so we can have a look round the village and eat in the italians round the back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grannie_annie_first
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

My husband and I spent three nights at the Black Bull in late April this year. We stayed quite a few years ago when the current managers purchased the hotel. Well, I can honestly say that they have transformed the hotel. Granted it does appear to be a local pub with rooms. but it is very clean, comfortable and friendly. We were made to feel really welcome from both staff and locals. Breakfast was plentiful, varied and served by helpful staff. The breakfast room is upstairs, away from the pub so it is a nice way to start the day. The room we had was large, comfortable and had a fantastic shower in the very modern bathroom. The most outstanding feature at this hotel is the Milan restaurant. It is family run with a very extensive menu. We went there 2 nights out of the three we were there and couldn't fault it.

The weather was kind to us whilst we were there and we had two enjoyable days touring the area. There are lots of places of interest to visit. Alnwick and Seahouses are worth a visit and we even ventured across the Border to Scotland which was good to do.

All in all we had a great time and if we return to that area of Northumberland we will have no hesitation in returning to the Black Bull.

Thanks John, Steph and all your staff at the Black Bull for an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnFWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

The rooms are fairly spacious but the shower was do small that unless your vertically challenged your going to be banging around like nobodies business. Our shower head kept falling apart and the temperature gauge kept sticking! Other than that it was a pleasant enough room for what we paid. You can eat in the pub downstairs but be warned the locals tend to gawp at you or go to the restaurant next foot which was fantastic and really busy - even on a Monday night!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Discman0215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, England
Level Contributor
103 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Called in without booking. Had pleasant standard pub grub. Pleasant staff, reasonably quick service.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spendingitnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wooler
0.3 mi away
Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler
8.8 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.0 mi away
No.1 Hotel & Wine Lounge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Old Mill B&B
The Old Mill B&B
#1 of 18 in Wooler
5.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riverside Leisure Park
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Bull Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Bull Inn

Property: The Black Bull Inn
Address: 2 High Street, Wooler NE71 6BY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Wooler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Wooler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Black Bull Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Black Bull Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Black Bull Inn Wooler, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing