We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing experience at The Old Mill.”
Review of The Old Mill B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Old Mill B&B
Ranked #1 of 18 Wooler B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sleaford, United Kingdom
1 review
“An amazing experience at The Old Mill.”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We travelled 220 miles from Lincolnshire for a weekend to celebrate our friends wedding. On arrival we were greeted by Patrick and Paula and they helped us with our bags and belongings to our room. We were brought coffee and some gorgeous cake which went down a treat. The rooms were immaculately clean and tidy and not a thing out of place. The views from our bedroom window was outstanding. Paula recommended us some places to eat that night and she was right, The Milan is definitely well worth a visit. We have never slept so well in a B and B as we did this one, and the smell of breakfast was all the enticement we needed to get up. The place is spotlessly clean and beautifully presented and the attention to detail fastidious. We would wouldn't hesitate to stay here again and further explore this beautiful part of the world. :-)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicole p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    20
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
124
16
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 27, 2013

A group of three of us travelled up from london on the train for an idyllic weekend in the country. Patrick and Paulette looked after us so unbelievably well, we felt like queens! The house is amazing, so many personal homely touches and such great space! Breakfast was glorious each morning, good choice, and friendly conversations. Day trip ideas were suggested (all of which were perfect and beautiful) and a pack lunch offered. All local produce and delicious. Theres lots of picturesque walks in the area and yummy places to eat - definately recommend The Milan! The rooms were so cozy and spacious, with clean bathrooms and great fascilities; tvs, tea and coffee. And the beds were AMAZING, could have stayed in bed forever, the 3 and a half days flew by far too quickly. If you're looking for a relaxing effortless and affordable place to stay - this is it. Would definately recommend to everyone. Cant fault it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Having walked through wind and rain followed by a wonderful stretch of moorland with the Cheviots in the back ground the old mill was definitely a beautiful sight.
Lovely BnB, large comfortable room and fantastic breakfast. Hosts lovely and very helpful.
Plus brilliant value for money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank becky s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Arrived here after a long day walking on St Cuthbert's Way. Our hostell Paulette was friendly and welcoming, even put newspaper in my wet boots. My only advice would be a little sign to show us down the lane (walked around in circles before finding the B&B) Other than this, our ensuite room, and infact the whole building, was delightful and full of character. Got a great night's sleep. Breakfast was delicious, fruit salad platter tasted as good as it look, and all the extras, cream and fruit for porrige etc makes this 5 star review absoloutly deserved

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I arrived at The Old Mill having driven over 170 miles, so the welcoming tray of tea and freshly made cake was hugely appreciated. Paulette is THE consummate hostess and The Old Mill is perfectly positioned in a quiet lane just off one of the main town centre roads. My room was huge and everything was absolutely pristine. An excellent night's sleep in the deliciously comfortable bed, followed by a breakfast to die for - everything cooked to perfection. May I also voice my gratitude for the free wifi. I had some work to do that evening, so access to the internet was essential. I do wish that other establishments would think about providing this - it's inexpensive, easy to set up, and a necessity for us workaholics! Other B&B's and hotels please note!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slynx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, England
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Excellent B&B with very genuine and welcoming hosts, Patrick and Paulette. Nothing was too much trouble, the room was excellent, warm, cosy and welcoming, and after a long drive Paulette's tea and home made cake was very welcome. Definitely recommended if you are in the area.

Room Tip: For evening meal try the Red Lion at Milfield, about 15 minutes drive from Wooler but well worth it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daveluc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

This Band B was superb from the minute we were welcomed at the door by Paulette. Despite being muddy there were no problems with gear etc.
Our room was spacious the bathroom great( shower excellent) and we were bought a welcome cup of tea and cake to our room!
Nothing was too much trouble offering advice on evening meals and making a reservation for us.
The breakfast did not disappoint and was really pleasurable around the farmhouse kitchen table.
Advice was offered on solving my thermos problem ( good hardware shop in Wooler!)
There were lots of helpful touches-fresh milk in a small fridge- which showed that Paulette and Patrick knew what walkers etc needed. It showed they were interested in walking as they had completed the St Cuthberts Way.
A must to stay at if you are in the area as is probably hard to beat in the N.E.

Room Tip: Bamburgh room has great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevind281050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wooler hotels
0.3 mi away
Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler
0.1 mi away
No.1 Hotel & Wine Lounge
0.2 mi away
Bridgend Farm
Bridgend Farm
#4 of 18 in Wooler
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rockliffe House
Rockliffe House
#10 of 18 in Wooler
30 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cheviot Villa Bed & Breakfast
0.1 mi away
The Black Bull Inn
The Black Bull Inn
#5 of 18 in Wooler
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Mill B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Mill B&B

Property: The Old Mill B&B
Address: South Road, Wooler NE71 6NL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Wooler
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Wooler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality, comfortable, spacious Bed and Breakfast accommodation quietly located close to the centre of Wooler. All rooms en-suite with proper bathrooms. Our traditional breakfast is guaranteed to set you up for walking in the hills or exploring the wonderful countryside, coast or castles for which this area is renowned. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Old Mill B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Mill B&B Wooler, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing