We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb B&B!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Old Mill B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Old Mill B&B
Ranked #1 of 18 Wooler B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Superb B&B!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

I arrived at The Old Mill having driven over 170 miles, so the welcoming tray of tea and freshly made cake was hugely appreciated. Paulette is THE consummate hostess and The Old Mill is perfectly positioned in a quiet lane just off one of the main town centre roads. My room was huge and everything was absolutely pristine. An excellent night's sleep in the deliciously comfortable bed, followed by a breakfast to die for - everything cooked to perfection. May I also voice my gratitude for the free wifi. I had some work to do that evening, so access to the internet was essential. I do wish that other establishments would think about providing this - it's inexpensive, easy to set up, and a necessity for us workaholics! Other B&B's and hotels please note!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slynx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    18
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
115
14
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire, England
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Excellent B&B with very genuine and welcoming hosts, Patrick and Paulette. Nothing was too much trouble, the room was excellent, warm, cosy and welcoming, and after a long drive Paulette's tea and home made cake was very welcome. Definitely recommended if you are in the area.

Room Tip: For evening meal try the Red Lion at Milfield, about 15 minutes drive from Wooler but well worth it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daveluc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

This Band B was superb from the minute we were welcomed at the door by Paulette. Despite being muddy there were no problems with gear etc.
Our room was spacious the bathroom great( shower excellent) and we were bought a welcome cup of tea and cake to our room!
Nothing was too much trouble offering advice on evening meals and making a reservation for us.
The breakfast did not disappoint and was really pleasurable around the farmhouse kitchen table.
Advice was offered on solving my thermos problem ( good hardware shop in Wooler!)
There were lots of helpful touches-fresh milk in a small fridge- which showed that Paulette and Patrick knew what walkers etc needed. It showed they were interested in walking as they had completed the St Cuthberts Way.
A must to stay at if you are in the area as is probably hard to beat in the N.E.

Room Tip: Bamburgh room has great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevind281050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

We booked this B&B for a three night stay for a visit to family members. A lovely warm welcome on arrival with assistance with luggage. Our room - the Bamburgh, was so roomy with two windows giving excellent views over the countryside. The en-suit bathroom was very well appointed and both room lovely and warm. Our hostess pointed out the small fridge on the landing with fresh milk available for teas and coffees. We had breakfast order sheets in the room to complete the night before and the choices are the best and largest we have ever come across - all cooked fresh just for you! The Egg Nest is delicious and everyone should try one.
Top marks to Paulette and Patrick. Thank you so much.

Room Tip: All rooms are good but would not suit the less able as they on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halesworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

A lovely property with lovely hosts. We could not have wanted anything more for our stay and enjoyed exploring such a beautiful area.We were even spoilt by having such good weather. I would definitely recommend the home made biscuits and bread. We hope to return very soon. Thank you for everything!

Room Tip: All are equally good sized rooms with lovely facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GetawayCouple50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

If you're going to stay anywhere in Northumberland, The Old Mill has to be one of the very finest. Rooms are immaculate, beds comfortable and the hosts really make the effort to make you feel welcome from the moment you arrive. Nothing is too much trouble here, any sort of dietary needs are catered for.
Despite having a bad dose of man-flu during my stay, I thoroughly enjoyed myself and would urge anyone to stay here.

Also, whatever you do, make sure you try some of the home made cake....it's unreal!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Patrick and Paulette were excellent hosts with a natural and relaxed style that made us feel very welcomed. Breakfast was great - they catered for my dietary requirements much better than some five star hotels. Our room was very pleasant, clean, comfortable and spacious. We particularly liked tea on arrival (served to our room), the landing fridge with cool water and milk, as well as the ample supplies of Fairtrade tea and coffee.

Enjoyed our stay immensely and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scienceladyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wooler hotels
0.3 mi away
Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler
0.1 mi away
No.1 Hotel & Wine Lounge
0.1 mi away
The Black Bull Inn
The Black Bull Inn
#5 of 18 in Wooler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rockliffe House
Rockliffe House
#15 of 18 in Wooler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bridgend Farm
Bridgend Farm
#4 of 18 in Wooler
5.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hemmel Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Mill B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Mill B&B

Property: The Old Mill B&B
Address: South Road, Wooler NE71 6NL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Wooler
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Wooler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality, comfortable, spacious Bed and Breakfast accommodation quietly located close to the centre of Wooler. All rooms en-suite with proper bathrooms. Our traditional breakfast is guaranteed to set you up for walking in the hills or exploring the wonderful countryside, coast or castles for which this area is renowned. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your The Old Mill B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Mill B&B Wooler, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing