We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phenomenal”

Mounthooley Bunkhouse
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wooler
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mounthooley Bunkhouse
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Phenomenal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

Stayed here this weekend - only wish I had discovered the place earlier. Set in a beautiful part of Northumberland this remote hostel is ideal for exploring the surrounding hills. At the end of the day your welcomed to an evening in front of a log fire and outstanding home cooked food from Pauline - heaven!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stuie_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    2
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
Couples
0
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

I visited this bunkhouse with a group of 7 friends for a weekend of walking in the stunning Cheviot hills. I did not know what to expect. This is an isolated place but is a real gem of a bunkhouse.

Ed & Pauline gave us a very warm welcome. Pauline's home cooking came in copious quantities & it was so tasty that we did not want to waste it. However there was so much of it that everyone felt well stuffed after 3 courses. (Soup, chicken pie (plus 3 different veg ) & 3 different desserts!! All for just over £13 each!!! She went out of her way to cook for my wheat intolerance & baked me a loaf of Gluten-free bread.
She likes to have about 3 days warning that you will be eating (advise her when booking your stay)
Oh and just in case you are hungry next morning, breakfast for £4.50 will stuff you up again for a day's walking!!!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Polwarthpics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed here last weekend with a group of friends walking in the Cheviot hills. We loved this little hostel! The location is amazing, stunning views during the day and clear sky at night, in a beautiful College Valley. Lovely hostel, comfy beds with linen provided, nice kitchen and lounge area, wood burning stove.. Pauline and Ed are lovely hosts, very friendly and helpful, they made our stay that extra bit special. Oh, and Pauline's cooking! Lovely home cooked food, it was so nice to come back from the hill to somewhere which really felt like home away from home. Thank you very much for a wonderful weekend, we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kalergis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Mounthooley must be in one of the best locations for this type of accommodation--stunning views at every turn
Pauline tried to finish us of with dinner- huge meal of home cooked delights--I couldn't do it justice and just in case you managed dinner she served up a great cooked breakfast
We took her advice and took the walk up the Henhole to the top of Cheviot--it has to be one of the best hidden gems in the area--if it was in the Dales or the Lakes it would be famous for the fantastic series of waterfalls in a beautiful unspoilt valley--it is hard work though!
All-in all a fantastic place to stay for the lover of the outdoors---highly recommended

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UkDotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stopped over here for the last night of our Pennine Way. It's a short detour off the main Way, and probably not for purists, as it means missing The Schil. But is really is a great place to stay. It's a basic but comfortable hostel in an isolated spot at the head of the remote College Valley. Surrounded by the Cheviots, hosts Edward and Pauline are so friendly and hospitable it really is a privilege to stay here. After a 20 mile slog from Byrness, we were well revived by Pauline's delicious cooking, and the breakfast was just as good. Copious quantities, freshly cooked, and terrific value. Of all the places we stayed on the entire Pennine Way, I think this was my favourite, even better than the Tan Hill Inn!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dhmellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Stayed here last month and we had a great time in this away from it all little hostel. Everything we could need was provided in the hostel, comfy beds and a nice kitchen. The location is terrific and the night sky amazing with no light pollution. A great centre from which to explore Cheviot

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glenice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

We cycled to Mounthooley from Gateshead. Arrived pleasantly tired and ready to rest and refuel.
We were welcomed by Pauline and settled into our accomodation in the annexe. The facilities were fine far better than most hostels. We had a magnificent three course meal, all home cooked and tons of it too. Also enjoyed a home cooked breakfast the following morning.
Without doubt way above any other place we have stayed. Food fantastic !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sladdin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wooler hotels
0.0 mi away
Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler
0.0 mi away
No.1 Hotel & Wine Lounge
0.0 mi away
Riverside Leisure Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Old Mill B&B
The Old Mill B&B
#1 of 18 in Wooler
5.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hemmel Bed and Breakfast
0.0 mi away
The Black Bull Inn
The Black Bull Inn
#5 of 18 in Wooler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mounthooley Bunkhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mounthooley Bunkhouse

Property: Mounthooley Bunkhouse
Address: Mount Hooley Bungalow College Valley Estates | Kirknewton, Wooler NE71 6TU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Wooler
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Wooler
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Mounthooley Bunkhouse Wooler, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing