We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B and B”
Review of Millyard House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wooler
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Millyard House
Ranked #3 of 18 Wooler B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Wonderfully hospitable hosts for whom nothing is too much trouble. Excellent breakfasts in the conservatory, top-notch accommodation with numerous thoughtful touches (sherry and chocolates!) One major reserfvation - if I tell everyone how good it is we might find it harder to book in future., But I'll risk it....

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russell M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (200)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 200 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2012

I judge the places we stay on the basis of various criteria: does the bed afford me a good night's sleep; is the breakfast gourmet or Greasy Joe's; if I drop my toothbrush in the loo will I have to dash to Boots; is there fresh milk with the tea and coffee and most importantly of all, do I feel at home? The answer to all of these with regard to Millyard House, was a resounding yes. Bob and Ginny gave us an excellent welcome and very pleasant company. We felt like friends, not customers. The location is ideal and Bob and Ginny are a mine of information and suggestions as to what to do and where to go (especially if the weather is not playing ball). I would recommend trying to time your arrival when Ginny has just made some scones. Sheer heaven!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaidbackBev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Received a very warm welcome from Bob and was treated to tea, a home made scone and jam. Room was lovely, overlooked thier pretty garden and lots of thought had gone into making your stay as comfortable as possible. Bob organised a table from me at a local resturant and was spoilt for choice with thier breakfast menu.

Settled for eggs benedict and Ginny's cooking did not disappoint. Nothing was too much trouble and great care was taken by both Bob and Ginny to ensure you enjoyed your stay. Had a fabulous nights sleep and would be very happy to visit again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HollyHoudini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Just back from our first stay at Millyard House. We used Wooler as our base to do some walking in the Cheviots. We were warmly welcomed by Ginny who was busy in the beautiful garden. She showed us to our very neat room, which was well equipped with all that we needed, and had all the lovely little touches that so many other reviewers have mentioned (chocs, sherry & fresh milk for tea & coffee). There was a real sense of ease & relaxation as we kicked off our walking boots and sat in the conservatory drinking tea & chatting with Bob & Ginny. Having been to Wooler before, we knew where to head for food & drink, but welcomed updates from Bob & Ginny, especially regarding lack of places to eat on a sunday night! Breakfast was fantastic& set us up for some serious walking. Being vegetarian, I was most impressed with the extensive list of choices, despite having the same thing both days!!! (I'm a creature of habit!). Bob & Ginny are wonderful, easy going hosts , for whom nothing is a problem (thanks for the lift to Wooler Common Bob). The room was very clean & comfortable, the shower was amazing & all those little touches really do make a big difference. It comes as no suprise to see that Millyard House ranks as 1st for places to stay in Wooler. Thank you Bob & Ginny for your kindness & hospitality. Hope to see you again. H & A ;-)

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

Our first visit to Millyard - hopefully not the last! We were warmly met by Bob when we arrived (Ginny was doing voluntary work) who directed us to the nearest hos'telry to watch the final game of the season - didn't go our way but the only downside of the weekend!! Our room was very pretty,well furnished and overlooked the lovely garden - a welcoming glass of sherry and complimentary chocolates awaited us (a very nice touch for a small b& b) After a good nights sleep a delicious breakfast awaited - Gary's kipper was his highlight of his weekend and my eggs benedict to die for We were informed of the best places to visit in the area and spent a pleasant day touring
the county. A wonderful couple of days and already planning to revisit this charming house and generous hosts.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Sharonksquires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

We enjoyed a superb weekend away at Wooler staying with Bob and Ginny. Millyard is a great character house which is set back from the main road so is very quiet. We had a lovely big room with crisp linen and a nice roomy ensuite with a great power shower (although the adjacent room has noisy saniflow), and also made use of their bright and warm sun room. The hospitality and professionalism of our hosts was second to none, from my intial enquiry to the booking (no deposit taken, all on trust - a rare thing these days), arranging a pass to the College Valley for us, plus the stay itself - Bob even posted on a forgotten item for us after we left! Breakfasts are superb, with a great choice, plus the use of top quality (and local) ingredients. The little 'touches' were very welcome too - booking dinner reservations, choccies in the bedroom, a cheeky little sloe gin after arriving back from dinner plus a jug of ice and lemon water to take to our bedroom.
You will travel far and wide to match the genuine hospitality so warmly given by Bob and Ginny but I defy you to find better - we will be back!

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the larger bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rob_log
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Just arrived home after stopping at Millyard House B&B for three nights. I booked this break on the strength of the reviews on TA, and everything was just as we had hoped. The room was spotlessly clean with a good sized bathroom. The breakfast in particular was one of the best we have had in a B&B. The hospitality from Bob and Ginny was second to none, and they ensured that we had everything we needed for a memorable stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyDays54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wooler hotels
0.3 mi away
Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler
0.3 mi away
The Old Mill B&B
The Old Mill B&B
#1 of 18 in Wooler
253 reviews
0.2 mi away
No.1 Hotel & Wine Lounge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bridgend Farm
Bridgend Farm
#4 of 18 in Wooler
63 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riverside Leisure Park
2.7 mi away
East Horton Farmhouse
East Horton Farmhouse
#4 of 9 in Wooler
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millyard House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millyard House

Address: 12 South Road, Wooler NE71 6NL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Wooler
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Wooler
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 18c. building in a quiet location in this lovely Northumberland Town. 5 minutes from the High Street, 25 minutes from Holy Island and the coast. We have two comfortable en-suite rooms, both doubles but available for single occupancy if required. An award winning breakfast from our extensive menu served whenever in the conservatory with garden views. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Millyard House Wooler, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing