We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Escape from the world”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wooler
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hethpool House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 18 Wooler B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights at october half term and loved every minute. Lovely to stay in an old, homely
house. We stayed in the double room with private bathroom. The huge bed was really comfy with quality bedding and we loved the big old bath with lots of hot water and the most unique plug ever! No television or radio in our room and we had the best sleep for ages.
Eildon kept us going with amazing breakfasts with home made preserves and beautiful local produce. Martin and and their daughter helped to look after us too and we felt really spoilt. We had a lounge with an open fire and tea and home made cakes when we arrived and every day when we got back in. The evening supper was fantastic. Great location, with walks straight out the door. Their three dogs were so friendly and Teasel came for a walk with us the morning we left. We are looking forward to another visit next year sometime.

Room Tip: Be prepared to diet when you leave!!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hamish050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eildon L, Owner at Hethpool House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Thank you for your kind words. We have had many guests comment on how comfortable the beds are. Sometimes I like to think that you can wake up in one of the upstairs bedrooms with the light flooding in across the Tors and maybe, for just a minute or two, you wouldn't know what century you were in. I know to many people this will sound silly but there really as timelessness about the Valley. In our own small way we are trying to keep this going and apart from our old computer there isn't a lot of the really modern world here.
Best wishes
Eildon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
There are newer reviews for Hethpool House Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 74 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2012

We have just had a wonderful stay at Hethpool House. Eildon and Martin are very welcoming and attentive but without being intrusive. We arrived in the dark and could not believe how quiet and free from light pollution the area is - the evening happened to be clear and we could see the stars in astonishing detail. The house is charming, the bedroom was spacious and immaculately clean with lovely towels, good strong shower and lots of hot water. The dining/sitting room is very cosy with a roaring fire and TV. Eildon is a great cook and they grow their own produce or source things as locally as possible. The choice for breakfast was very wide and included things like fresh melon and fruit compote. We also opted to eat dinner there (Wooler is 8 miles on windy roads) on all three nights. The food was really delicious and even included scrumptious chocolates with the coffee! It was also exceptional value for money. You can wander round their extensive garden. Other walks which start directly from the house vary from a short stroll round the nearby lake to joining the St Cuthbert Way and then linking up with the Pennine Way. This house is a real find and we will certainly go back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cecelia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eildon L, Owner at Hethpool House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Thank you for your kind words. It was interesting to hear you mention the lack of light pollution. Evening times when the shadows draw in is a lovely time in the Valley. You can walk down the road towards the old stone circle and look across the College burn. Often the owl will sound and the light takes on a quiet purple hue which is quite unlike anything we have ever seen.
We think of this as the witching hour when the veil between now and then becomes very thin. Stand still and sometimes I can almost hear the voices from the past.
I do hope that you can return to share this magical place with us.
Best wishes
Eildon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I stayed at Hethpool House in early September for five nights. I cannot fault my stay there. Eildon was there to greet me as I pulled up in my car. The food was fantastic, the beds were great, the baths were good old fashioned baths with loads of hot water and the service was faultless. I can't wait to go back.
John. E.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eildon L, Owner at Hethpool House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Thank you John, that was a lovely review. All the things you found so enjoyable and good ...well these are the basics of the best hospitality and I like to think that we keep it simple. In reality this hasn't changed much over the last 30 years. Our guests come in better cars and they have mobile phones as well as these new Ipads....but the service we offer stays the same. Good homely food, a warm fire,a comfortable bed and a welcoming smile.
Looking forward to seeing you again

Eildon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Hethpool House is ideally located on St Cuthbert's Way between Kirk Yetholm and Wooler in the stunning College Valley. Our stay was a slice of tranquillity as we were warmly welcomed into this beautiful Edwardian house where the past meets the present. Nothing was too much trouble for Eildon and Martin, from the home-made cakes and scones served on our arrival; the freedom to wander at leisure in the garden; to the superbly cooked evening meal which we shared in a relaxed setting with our fellow guests.

The charm of the location is the fact that the house is in the middle of the countryside with only one or two other smaller houses around. The property is both gracious and spacious with many still-functioning original fittings and stylish decor.

If you want peace and tranquillity, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eildon L, Owner at Hethpool House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Thank you for your kind words. We also feel the presence of the past all around the Valley.It brings with it the old idea of hospitality to strangers whoever they are. This is one of the many reasons that Martin and I so enjoy welcoming guests to our old house and if you can leave feeling a little better from being away from the modern world then our work is worthwhile.
Best wishes and do return soon
Eildon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

We have had a most idyllic stay at Hethpool. Martin and Eildon were most warm welcoming and witty hosts. The house is a beautiful peaceful haven with stunning countryside on the doorstep. The food was absolutely wonderful and we can't wait to return. Roaring fires , feather pillows, no cars or street lights, fantastic wild life. Bliss!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gedmaclure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eildon L, Owner at Hethpool House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Thank you for your lovely review.
We enjoyed having you to stay with us and look forward to seeing you again.
Best wishes
Eildon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

Wow wow and wow. After a good stomp through from Mount Hooly we arrived rather muddy and windswept to a wonderfully friendly welcome at Hethpool House. Cups of tea, home made short bread and a gorgeous roaring fire instantly relaxed the muscules and revived the feet! Eildon, Martin and family made us very welcome and we relaxed straight away into the comfort of their lovely home, enjoying long deep fabulously warm baths before dinner.
A magnificent 3 course meal made our evening, gorgeous home made soup and bread to start, a succulent chicken and rice dish for our main (a dish changed at our requested by a non fish lover...nothing seemed to phase Eildon) and finally home made tiramisu for dessert!
A great nights sleep in extremely comfortable beds with bed linen that kept you snug all night. All in all our stay at Hethpool House made our St Cuthberts walk and propelled us on to the finish.
Thank you!

Mark, Louise and Rachel

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Twombles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eildon L, Owner at Hethpool House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Thank you for your kind words. Mount Hooley to Hethpool is a good 3 1/2 miles so i reckon you deserved a proper welcome! Anyone who can do the St Cuthbert's pilgrimage has earned our respect and it was a pleasure to provide a haven after a day outside.
Best wishes

Eildon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

We were a party of 5 and arrived soaked through and quite early in the afternoon. Eildon made us immediately welcome, washing and drying our clothes for us and providing tea and homemade biscuits (whilst apologising that she hadn't had time to bake fresh biscuits that day yet!)

We used all three guest rooms in the house and found them spacious and beautiful. One room has an en suite shower room and the other single and double share a bathroom with a huge old fashioned bath, with shower over. We shared a very comfortable lounge and the food, home cooked by Eildon, was the best of our trip. There are several dogs in the house, but they were very well trained and did not interfere with us.

The house is large and probably Victorian, with furniture and pictures in keeping, including hunting prints. There are canons at the head of the drive! The setting is incomprable, with only a few nearby houses and at the head of the beautiful College Valley.

It is right on the St Cuthbert's Way, costs are comparable with all the other B and B's we stayed at and Eildon cooks superbly. She even provides packed lunches. I hope to return for a short break to explore the valley more.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jangee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberlandman, Owner at Hethpool House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2011

Thank you for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. As you said the weather was pretty awful when you arrived but it isn't always like this and we have had some lovely weeks of blue skies and hot summer days.
Looking forward to welcoming you back next year
Thank you]
Eildon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wooler hotels
4.8 mi away
Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler
4.9 mi away
No.1 Hotel & Wine Lounge
4.8 mi away
The Old Mill B&B
The Old Mill B&B
#1 of 18 in Wooler
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Bridgend Farm
Bridgend Farm
#4 of 18 in Wooler
60 reviews
5.0 mi away
Cheviot Villa Bed & Breakfast
4.9 mi away
The Black Bull Inn
The Black Bull Inn
#5 of 18 in Wooler
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hethpool House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hethpool House Bed & Breakfast

Address: Hethpool | Hethpool, Wooler NE71 6TW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Wooler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Wooler
Price Range: $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hethpool House Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Edwardian Country house at the entrance to the beautiful College Valley. Old fashioned accommodation with a hot bath, comfy beds and good cooking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hethpool House Bed & Breakfast Wooler, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing