We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcoming, clean and tidy”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Spittal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Roxburgh Guest House
Ranked #1 of 4 Spittal B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 23, 2013

The couple that own this place couldn't be nicer nor more helpful. They treated us like long lost friends as soon as we arrived and not just as another paying guest like most other places. This is by no means a modern establishment but they have worked hard to decorate and furnish it although maybe a bit mismatched. Overall it's a very acceptable place to stay, is right on the beach and promenade which is great if you don't like hills. Spittal itself doesn't appear to have much in the way of eateries but is only a short drive from berwick town centre or a good walk for anyone of reasonable fitness. Berwick itself has some surprisingly good eateries, if you can find them....see hide hill. you must walk around the town on the battlement walls. Some good views and a bit of history and art while you walk. I'd recommend the Roxburgh guest house.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Slimsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
There are newer reviews for Roxburgh Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 73 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013

We had a lovely room at the top overlooking the sea. We could lie in bed and listen to the waves and seagulls. It comes with a shower and basin but we shared a toilet, which was never an issue. The room was large and very comfortable. Our hosts were fabulous and breakfast excellent. We were sorry we only had one night here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights after touring round Scotland then watching the golf.
We were very pleased with our visit & Eileen is an absolute star who really does care about her guests having a good time which isn't so common these days.
We didn't have a sea view & it was really hot with no breeze in the room but that is no-ones fault & unusual with our climate these days.
Breakfast was good & nothing was too much trouble.
We had a really lovely meal in the Rob Roy which is about a 20 minute walk away -food excellent.
Would definitely recommend & hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jinny1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

If you want a B&B that offers a genuinely friendly welcome and which is based in a nice quiet location then this is the place for you.

We stayed in Room 6 for two nights – 11 & 12/07/13.

This room has a bay window with sea views and we spent a good hour or so each evening watching the world go by on the promenade and beach with a refreshing sea breeze to cool us down. It was also nice to wake up to the sound of the waves in the morning.

Room 6 has a separate, private bathroom which is about 6 feet from the room door. Although an en-suite would have been preferable we would have had to sacrifice the view so not a problem.

Breakfast was 8am to 9am and we cannot fault the service or the food.

There is plenty of parking to the front of the B&B.

It is a 1.2 mile walk to Berwick so about a 20-25 minute stroll but there are buses you can take, just ask Eileen or Jimmy for a bus timetable.

Suffice to say we had a nice stay and would book again if we were to visit the area.

Room Tip: Room 6 has a nice view
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WillsyGrimsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Jim and Eileen welcomed us warmly , room clean and tidy , view onto beach and shore was as previous reviews lovely and very relaxing, with the window open we heard the waves gently breaking onto the shore as we went to sleep , brekfast was spot on and kept us going till late afternoon ,
Couldnt fault anything , rea;;y enjoyed our visit and will defintely come back again .

Room Tip: room five , 2nd floor looks onto beach and the sea .
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hairy48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Eileen and Jim were incredibly friendly and welcoming, and couldn't have done more to make our stay enjoyable. We had a fantastic view of the sea, which is one of the main reasons we chose this guesthouse, and the location is perfectly situated between Berwick, to the north, and the coastal walks to the south, starting virtually on the doorstep.

Jon and Alison.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonnyin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We were 3 ladies who went for a short trip to Berwick and booked into the Roxburgh Guest House in Spittal. The hosts Jim and Eileen couldn't have been more accommodating to us and nothing was too much trouble for them. We had requested a family room with an en suite and on our arrival, Eileen and Jim greeted us warmly and made sure that we had everything we would need for our stay. The weather was extremely cold during our trip and Eileen made sure that we had plenty of milk, tea and coffee. Although there was central heating in our room there was the thoughtful addition of an electric heater to make sure the room was extra toasty for our arrival. The breakfast the following day was exceptional, a full English with any amount of toast you could manage, it was so large that we didn't need to bother with lunch that day. The location was perfect as you are looking out onto the promenade, it's suitable for walks or if you had children with you, amusements, trampolines and swing parks. Eileen and Jim were the perfect hosts, and I will definitely stay at the Roxburgh the next time I am visiting Berwick.

Room Tip: If looking for a family room, request the sea view one. A view you could look out of for hours.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elaine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spittal
2.2 mi away
Travelodge Berwick upon Tweed
Travelodge Berwick upon Tweed
#3 of 3 in Berwick upon Tweed
306 reviews
1.0 mi away
Queens Head Hotel
Queens Head Hotel
#2 of 3 in Berwick upon Tweed
422 reviews
3.7 mi away
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Marshall Meadows Country House H...
#1 of 3 in Berwick upon Tweed
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Parade School Guest House
Parade School Guest House
#7 of 45 in Berwick upon Tweed
149 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Walls Bed and Breakfast
The Walls Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 45 in Berwick upon Tweed
595 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caroline House
Caroline House
#2 of 4 in Spittal
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roxburgh Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roxburgh Guest House

Address: 117 Main Street, Spittal, Berwick upon Tweed TD15 1RP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Berwick upon Tweed > Spittal
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Spittal
Hotel Class:3 star — Roxburgh Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing