We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Roxburgh Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Roxburgh Guest House
Ranked #1 of 4 Spittal B&B and Inns
Bolton
Level Contributor
85 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights after touring round Scotland then watching the golf.
We were very pleased with our visit & Eileen is an absolute star who really does care about her guests having a good time which isn't so common these days.
We didn't have a sea view & it was really hot with no breeze in the room but that is no-ones fault & unusual with our climate these days.
Breakfast was good & nothing was too much trouble.
We had a really lovely meal in the Rob Roy which is about a 20 minute walk away -food excellent.
Would definitely recommend & hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jinny1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    13
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
13
40
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

If you want a B&B that offers a genuinely friendly welcome and which is based in a nice quiet location then this is the place for you.

We stayed in Room 6 for two nights – 11 & 12/07/13.

This room has a bay window with sea views and we spent a good hour or so each evening watching the world go by on the promenade and beach with a refreshing sea breeze to cool us down. It was also nice to wake up to the sound of the waves in the morning.

Room 6 has a separate, private bathroom which is about 6 feet from the room door. Although an en-suite would have been preferable we would have had to sacrifice the view so not a problem.

Breakfast was 8am to 9am and we cannot fault the service or the food.

There is plenty of parking to the front of the B&B.

It is a 1.2 mile walk to Berwick so about a 20-25 minute stroll but there are buses you can take, just ask Eileen or Jimmy for a bus timetable.

Suffice to say we had a nice stay and would book again if we were to visit the area.

Room Tip: Room 6 has a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WillsyGrimsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auchterarder, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Jim and Eileen welcomed us warmly , room clean and tidy , view onto beach and shore was as previous reviews lovely and very relaxing, with the window open we heard the waves gently breaking onto the shore as we went to sleep , brekfast was spot on and kept us going till late afternoon ,
Couldnt fault anything , rea;;y enjoyed our visit and will defintely come back again .

Room Tip: room five , 2nd floor looks onto beach and the sea .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hairy48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Eileen and Jim were incredibly friendly and welcoming, and couldn't have done more to make our stay enjoyable. We had a fantastic view of the sea, which is one of the main reasons we chose this guesthouse, and the location is perfectly situated between Berwick, to the north, and the coastal walks to the south, starting virtually on the doorstep.

Jon and Alison.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonnyin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

We were 3 ladies who went for a short trip to Berwick and booked into the Roxburgh Guest House in Spittal. The hosts Jim and Eileen couldn't have been more accommodating to us and nothing was too much trouble for them. We had requested a family room with an en suite and on our arrival, Eileen and Jim greeted us warmly and made sure that we had everything we would need for our stay. The weather was extremely cold during our trip and Eileen made sure that we had plenty of milk, tea and coffee. Although there was central heating in our room there was the thoughtful addition of an electric heater to make sure the room was extra toasty for our arrival. The breakfast the following day was exceptional, a full English with any amount of toast you could manage, it was so large that we didn't need to bother with lunch that day. The location was perfect as you are looking out onto the promenade, it's suitable for walks or if you had children with you, amusements, trampolines and swing parks. Eileen and Jim were the perfect hosts, and I will definitely stay at the Roxburgh the next time I am visiting Berwick.

Room Tip: If looking for a family room, request the sea view one. A view you could look out of for hours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

We spent three nights over half term in the Roxburgh Guest House. The view from our room is straight out over the sea and is so beautiful that I could happily spend hours watching the ever-changing waves and sky. The room is large, warm and very comfy, with a well-appointed private bathroom next door. Our hosts, Jim and Eileen, are so friendly, helpful and welcoming and they dish up a delicious full English (or maybe Scottish?!) breakfast in the pretty dining room. Frankly breakfast is so filling and tasty that we didn't need another meal unti tea time! There is a traffic free promenade outside the back door, or for the hardier souls about 2 miles of golden sand for bracing walks. This part of Northumberland is full of things to do for all ages - this was our third visit with children and grandchildren; castles, glorious countryside, national trust/English heritage sites all short trips away. Lots of pubs and eating places, and then blissful night's sleep back at the Roxburgh.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bossbunny26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hull
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

I have just come back from staying for 4 nights at this guest house. We had a lovely time, the location is brilliant for exploring any part of this area of Northumberland. It is situated right near the beach so it's lovely to have a walk on an evening. It is also perfectly close to Berwick to go for a nice meal in an evening. The owners are very friendly, and gave us a lovely welcome when we arrived. The room was lovely and clean, as well as being nice and cosy for two of us. The breakfasts in a morning are very good, and I am quite a fussy eater but they didn't mind accommodating for this. I would certainly recommend anyone to go there and I would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank posy1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spittal
3.7 mi away
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Marshall Meadows Country House H...
#2 of 3 in Berwick upon Tweed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
1.0 mi away
Queens Head Hotel
Queens Head Hotel
#1 of 3 in Berwick upon Tweed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caroline House
Caroline House
#2 of 4 in Spittal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Walls Bed and Breakfast
The Walls Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 51 in Berwick upon Tweed
5.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Rob Roy Restaurant
The Rob Roy Restaurant
#9 of 51 in Berwick upon Tweed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
1.3 mi away
No 11B Boutique
No 11B Boutique
#5 of 51 in Berwick upon Tweed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roxburgh Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roxburgh Guest House

Property: Roxburgh Guest House
Address: 117 Main Street, Spittal, Berwick upon Tweed TD15 1RP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Berwick upon Tweed > Spittal
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Spittal
Hotel Class:3 star — Roxburgh Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Roxburgh Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing