We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and homely”
Review of Caroline House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Caroline House
Ranked #2 of 4 Spittal B&B and Inns
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Friendly and homely”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Nice friendly and homely B and B - fine breakfast - handy for stroll along beach, but take a warm coat (the beach is a bit exposed !) Excellent value as long as you are not looking for 5 star accomodation.

Room Tip: Private bathroom is not ensuite - but no problem since it is only a few steps away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dermot0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    23
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
5
44
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Otley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

This wonderful b & b is set in a very quiet village, a 2 minute walk to the promenade and a half hour stroll to Berwick. Lynda is a fantastic hostess, her welcome very warm. We had a very confortable one night stay and nearly came away with her foster dog! The local produce and fruit made for a delicious breakfast. A smashing home from home! Thank you x

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wundawabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Just had a wonderful stay here, room was en-suite and spotless, with the most comfortable bed imaginable, overlooking the beautiful garden, Linda and Bill even provide a comfy sofa in the room. Breakfast is superb sat in the conservatory with views of an amazing garden. Would recommend this b&b to anyone looking to stay in this area.
Mr & Mrs K. Malpass.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Whilst the room itself was clean and ticked the essential boxes I was disappointed overall as I found the information provided on expedia to be misleading.

The 'en-suite' bathroom is actually down a flight of stairs, across a landing and up another flight of stairs. Whilst well appointed, the distance from the room is not what I would call en-suite, nor is it idea with children.

Parking is free, but is street parking. Again, not ideal.

The room could have benefited from having less in it - double bed plus two singles, numerous sets of drawers / nightstands / little tables and a sofa. We were tripping over things.

Breakfast was comprehensive. Including hair in sausages and fibers in the butter.

Generally a disappointing stay, although would add that the landlady was quite friendly and pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TR878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Had a lovely two night stay in Caroline House, Linda the host was very welcoming and full of good advice about the local area. The house itself has a lovely homely feel complete with a beautiful garden overlooked by our comfortable ensuite room complete with leather settee and television. Breakfast was magnificent with a good choice if cooked ie continental. My one regret was that we could not stay longer

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k8gosling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
75 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Our knock on the door was greeted with Linda who made us feel very welcome. We booked a room for 2 but was shown the very large family room with sofa and TV. The B&B is very clean and well looked after, but still feeling like you was entering homebodies home. Parking is extremely easy. The choice of fresh fruit and fully cooked breakfast with fresh coffee started the day well. Our lack of knowledge about the area made Linda suggest we visit Eyemouth & St Abbs Head. Both an excellent choice for a relaxing day. Evening meals in friendly Berwick town on both evenings were good value, Chinese one night, Indian the other evening (easy walking distance). We would recommend family and friends to visit with no hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cornwall0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We really enjoyed our two night stay at Caroline House. It has a lovely location, a 15 minute walk from the centre of Berwick upon Tweed along the river, fantastic breakfasts, comfortable beds and bedrooms with plenty of room. It was nice to have a sofa for watching television, when it was pouring with rain! The bathroom was very good too, with an excellent shower. Lynda was very welcoming and helpful, and we think this B & B is great value.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spittal
3.5 mi away
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Marshall Meadows Country House H...
#2 of 3 in Berwick upon Tweed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.8 mi away
Queens Head Hotel
Queens Head Hotel
#1 of 3 in Berwick upon Tweed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
1.3 mi away
Castle Vale House
Castle Vale House
#10 of 45 in Berwick upon Tweed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Kings Arms Hotel
Kings Arms Hotel
#23 of 45 in Berwick upon Tweed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Rob Roy Restaurant
The Rob Roy Restaurant
#9 of 45 in Berwick upon Tweed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
1.1 mi away
No 11B Boutique
No 11B Boutique
#5 of 45 in Berwick upon Tweed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caroline House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caroline House

Property: Caroline House
Address: 110 Main Street, Spittal, Berwick upon Tweed TD15 1RD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Berwick upon Tweed > Spittal
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Spittal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Caroline House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caroline House, circa 1835, provides comfortable 3 Star accommodations in a friendly, family run B&B. Two rooms: double en suite overlooking the garden or double/family room with private bathroom, sleeps up to 5 with use of extra room when booked as a family unit single room. All rooms have TV/Video/DVD/tea/coffee making facilities, hair dryer, and central heating. There is also a breakfast conservatory and private garden. We are located minutes from what is probably the most exhilarating stretch of coast in England in a designated area of outstanding natural beauty only minutes from the beach and river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Caroline House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing