We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine seafront view of the Farne Islands”
Review of Beach House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beach House Hotel
Ranked #20 of 25 Seahouses B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 15, 2012

The view from the dining room, lounge, bar and the 4 bedrooms that face east is spectacular. The Farne Islands lie just 2 to 3 miles offshore at Seahouses, a great attraction for birdwatchers who can take a 15 minute walk in to town for the boat trip there. The rooms seemed to have been recently decorated, and were clean and practical, although the view from most was greatly less inspiring than from the ones at the front. Decoration round the back and care of the garden might enhance the outlook. Meals were fine although the choice at dinner was limited. Minor irritations such as a lack of chairs in the bedroom, and cramped seating arrangements in the dining room were soon ironed out, and we were grateful to proprietor Malcolm for his care.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizziesbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (213)
There are newer reviews for Beach House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 213 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2012

Left after two days of a three day break.
Checked in to be greeted with a large pile of used bedding and crockery on our way to the room.
Largest but most tasteless breakfast ever served.
Shambolic table arrangements.
Willing staff but too busy to provide decent service.
Fire door wedged open when we returned at night.
Overpriced.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view. Excellent views.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rob w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Arrived wednesday 6th for a two night stay,having searched internet for 3/4 star accomodation b+b Cost £80.00 per night, cheapest available at time , on arrival to find 4+ star accomodation cheaper, with better facilities, & more homley !!!.Rooms basic & clean but did not change towels !!!would not stay there again overpriced !!!
Service at breakfast time compromised by lack off staff,heard fellow guest asking for more toast to be told, they would have to wait , v busy.Carparking at rear of hotel not good , large canine protecting with gate closed, as openend dog ran off, but guest not aware !!
Hotel in prime location, was told they did not do evening meal, to find out whilst we were there they were catering for the above, found better food , good value friendley atmosphere at ship inn, next to harbour,great food but need to book via phone.

Room Tip: Rooms noisy, could here next door in bathroom in morning, fire doord banging !!!
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lindsay k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

We stayed one night at the Beach House Hotel and would have stayed a second night if the price had been a bit better. Generally we have a preference for older buildings that have some history and architectural merit, This is a relatively new place that is well maintained by friendly owners and staff. The room was comfortable, affording a clear view of the islands. The breakfast was spectacular with the kippers perfectly cooked, making us wish that we had dined there the previous evening, and the tiered dining room gives a good view of the sea to all diners. Our venture into town to eat was not a big success. The hotel was full of repeat customers on a golf weekend, who clearly knew about the chef's prowess.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Stayed here on a four night golf tour. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The decore was fresh, clean and simple. The rooms were a reasonable size with good ensuite. they were comfortable and spacious. The food was simple but well cooked, plentiful and well presented.

Room Tip: Some rooms have views of The Farne Islands, some the hills, some other buildings and some only have...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 542Kenneth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

Despite some reviews we could not have had a better experience on our long weekend stay. It was great value for money. The bedrooms were clean and comfortable. The breakfast was 1st class. Fresh fruit salad, fresh kippers and kedgeree on offer. The hosts, Malcolm and Hazel aimed to please and Sharon, the manager was invaluable. The location was ideal for a walking break and only minutes from the town centre. The lounge and dining room had a beautiful outlook to The Farne Islands. No hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view are particularly recommended unless you fancy a four poster!
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happywandererSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Dennis at Northumberland Golf Tours convinced us, despite earlier reviews, that he had very positive experience of this 3 star hotel with its view of Frane Islands so 11 golfers booked a four-night stay. We were not disappointed. The bedrooms were clean and comfortable, the bar was well-stocked and spacious and one could equally relax in the well-furnished lounge.The dining room was sorely in the charge of Sharon Scott who coped with the demands of up to 30 guests during our stay with humour and efficiency. The words Trojan worker come to mind when looking at her contribution to our enjoyment. We particularly liked the breakfasts. Our enjoyment was enriched by an invitation from the other party, 20 or so Scottish Ramblers, who invited us to a joint quiz (we lost). The hotel is only a couple of minutes walk from the centre of Seahouses.

Room Tip: I had room 9 at the rear - very comfortable
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barrymail13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seahouses
6.1 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
5.3 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
390 reviews
5.4 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,061 reviews
0.3 mi away
Links Hotel
Links Hotel
#14 of 25 in Seahouses
317 reviews
0.6 mi away
Longstone House Hotel
Longstone House Hotel
#19 of 25 in Seahouses
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach House Hotel

Address: 12A St. Aidans, Seahouses NE68 7SR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Seahouses
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Seahouses
Price Range: $97 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Beach House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Beach House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach House Hotel Seahouses, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing