We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a great place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beach House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beach House Hotel
Ranked #20 of 25 Seahouses B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey
2 reviews
“a great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

we stayed at this hotel for three nights, it was spotlessly clean, the food was great and the staff very accomadating, we had a very comfortable four poster bed and new flat screen tv.
The dining room looks out to the Farne islands accross the sea, there is a very comfortable lounge and big bar, its in a fantastic position, I would recomend this hotel to anyone who wishes to stay in Seahouses or to visit the Farne Islands, the beach is also fantastic, miles of golden sands

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SurreyElaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    65
    39
    13
    7
See reviews for
35
91
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2011

Don't go here. Staff are good but under great stress probably from the exceptionally rude and incompetent management. Bedrooms are very poor - not all have chairs that do not have a broken leg. The previous comment about the inebriated owner is very accurate. Basil would not have been out of place here.

Room Tip: Front only, not the rear or Velux
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JennyLea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2011

Stayed for 2 nights whilst golfing. Rooms very clean, lovely breakfast, great sea views and decent bar. Malcolm and Hazel were great hosts- making us very welcome. Superb value for money- we will be using it again when we got back in September

Stayed March 2011
Helpful?
Thank durrant64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2010

I have stayed here about 6 times now over the past 3 years, so often that the landlord recognises my voice when I ring up.
For my purposes of meeting family it is perfect. The location can not be beaten, the food is great and the staff are very friendly. The rooms are exactly what you would expect for the money you are paying.
The only problem is since they refurbished and expanded earlier in the year, they are now taking in groups of a couple of dozen golfers. In my opinion the golfers have ruined the place.
At mealtimes it is now impossible to hear yourself think, having a chat with fellow guest over a coffee after the evening meal while enjoying the view is not possible with constant shouts for more beer. Being woken at 4am by drunks returning to their rooms does not help.
I expect I will go back infrequently but only for a weekend, nothing longer.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BobMinor12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
104 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2010

I stayed 6 nights at this hotel in the summer 2010.

This hotel must for sure have the best location in Seahouses. Actually I think it is one of the best located hotels I've ever stayed at.

Just a couple of steps out from the hotel, one is at the clifftop, at the end of the large beach north of Seahouses, with a marvelous view towards Bamburgh castle, across St Aidan's dunes, but also looking down at tidal rocks below, hearing the cries from all the different birds feeding on those rocks. Oystercatchers, curlews, redshanks, gulls etc.
Perfect for the early morning walk or for just breathing a few moments of seaside atmosphere before going to bed.

And it is only about 5 minutes walk to the village of Seahouses, and the bus stop, shops, restaurants and the harbour with the boats to the Farne Islands.
Very convenient if you are relying on public transport to get around.

The hotel is located a tiny bit off from the road, which takes it away from the worst road noise.

Good well cooked breakfast.
The breakfast room / dining room is lovely, providing all tables with a view of the sea and the Farne islands through the large panorama windows.

They provide dinner if you order it in advance. I was not willing to do that sort of advance planning, but for sure, it would be a lovely place to have dinner.

Nice large comfortable lounge, with the same panorama windows, providing a view and letting in lots of light.

The lounge and breakfast room really do make the best of the location.

The room was OK, cozy and clean, with a somewhat random and a little tired decor.
Adequate storage space. Desk, large wardrobe with only a single hanger.
The shower was the same kind of intelligence test I have seen in many English hotels & B&Bs.
Once I've figured this one out, it almost managed to provide a consistent shower temperature.

In this hotel they want you to turn the roomkey in during the day when you go out.
I wasn't really comfortable with the way the keys were looked after.

--
Seahouses is a very good touring base in the area, in particular if you're using public transport.
And the view towards Bamburgh castle, the dunes and the Farne islands is lovely.
But if you are really after a charming little village, there are plenty of better options in the area.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FiftyNiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2010

What a pity that the first review you see on this hotel is dated back to 2006 !!!!
It is obvious that the reviewer has no knowledge of the fantastic changes which have turned this hotel into the best in Seahouses.
Every room was as clean as a whistle and refreshingly decorated, our bathroom/shower was imacculately cleaned every day and with fresh towels daily.
Breakfast was well cooked (full english) and more than enough choice was available to suit every taste, with the added bonus of being able to eat overlooking the fantastic scenery of the Farne islands, and the panoramic bay.
If you want to stay in the Seahouses/Bamburgh area there is no better hotel than this.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bazfitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Durham
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2010

We arrived with our friend Celia (from South Africa) and were inpressed with the view of the Farne Islands from the hotel,It is ideally situated for the many attractions of the town.The breakfast was to die for and was served very well.The owners have spent a lot of time and effort in updating the facilities and I would not hesitate to reccommend it to anyone thinking of staying there in the near future. John ,Bernadette and Celia.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pineridgevisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seahouses
2.7 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bamburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
6.1 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
5.4 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Springwood
Springwood
#2 of 25 in Seahouses
5.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.3 mi away
Links Hotel
Links Hotel
#10 of 25 in Seahouses
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
0.7 mi away
Regal House
Regal House
#9 of 25 in Seahouses
5.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach House Hotel

Property: Beach House Hotel
Address: 12A St. Aidans, Seahouses NE68 7SR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Seahouses
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Seahouses
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Beach House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Beach House Hotel Seahouses, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing