We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic location, very friendly and helpful hosts, couldn't say a bad word”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of St Aidan Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Seahouses
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
St Aidan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Seahouses
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, very friendly and helpful hosts, couldn't say a bad word”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2010

My wife and I travelled north having booked 3 nights at St Aidan after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor. We were staying for 3 nights to celebrate our Silver Wedding and when I booked over the phone I asked if anything a 'bit special' could be arranged for my wife. As well as a lovely bouquet of flowers on the big day they also put us in touch with the Seaview Leisure Centre nearby so I rang them and arranged a surprise beauty treatment which went down very well. We were in the 'Indian Room' which had great views over to the Farne Islands and had TV with freeview, bathroom with bath and shower. The breakfast included fresh fruit and a 'belly buster' english breakfast as well as other choices. I also liked the honesty bar, reasonably priced with a good selection of beers and spirits.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicktheleedsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    83
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
38
256
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Blackburn
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2010

Travelled down from Blackburn took us 3 and half hours, just happened upon this hotel, we st;ayed in the attic room overlooking the sea, it was beautiful, the room was very comfortable £75 per night, the breakfast was lovely, lots of fresh fruit and a full English very nice, the hosts leave at 6pm and allow you to use the bar on your own in the very comfortable lounge, but you must be honest and pay for what you take, wish we could have stayed longer and would love to go again but it is quite a journey from Blackburn wish we lived nearby, the beach is beautiful and |Bamburgh Castle is lovely £8.00 per adult admission but worth it, a lovely weekend in Sea Houses

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanetakaKylie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2010

We stayed for 5 nights in the taste of Scotland room - very comfortable and a bonus of a sofa!! John and Sue were very helpful and hospitable without being 'pushy' - the breakfast was a real plus - fresh fruit - a wide menu of cooked food, plus cereals and toast, coffee and tea and in a wonderful setting. We would stay here again and again - the location is brilliant with a choice a evening eateries just 5 minutes walk away.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jtga6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tyne and wear
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2010

we had a wonderful stay and hope to be back soon comftable room breakfast would set any body up for the day lots of choice our hosts were welcoming and helpful cant wait to return

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wtrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2009

We stayed at this hotel in July 2009.

Excellent little place for short break. Excellent location overlooking the sea and beach .Lovely rooms and reeally friendly owners who are more than happy to offer their advice on places to visit.

Really fab breakfast - lots of variety and really good value for money.

We would stay here again if we go back to Seahouses.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cj1982Northumberland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2009

I only booked St Aidan Hotel the day before my friend and I arrived from London for a 2 day stay and we were very pleasantly surprised.
We had a twin room, the Scottish room, which had fabulous views out to sea and both Bamburgh and Lindisfarne. The room was clean, spacious and comfortable, although the louvre door to the en-suite didn't give a lot of privacy.
The breakfasts were very good and the owner very pleasant and helpful. Ask him about places to eat and things to do - he's very informative.
We particularly enjoyed our meals at the Olde Ship a pub recommended by the owner. The lady who works in the The Cabin bar/restaurant is an absolute treasure!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noodun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CO.DURHAM
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2009

We stopped here for four nights in a standard room on the ground floor, The views were great and everthing we needed was within walking distance, We were very impressed with the hotel and the breakfast was wonderfull, a nice lounge with newspapers and wonderfull views, Would definitely stay here again.

Derek & Kate. Co. Durham

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Delboydino D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seahouses
5.4 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,164 reviews
6.1 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
5.4 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Warkworth House Hotel
Warkworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Warkworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bamburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
21.5 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Aidan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Aidan Hotel

Property: St Aidan Hotel
Address: Seafront, Seahouses NE68 7SR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Seahouses
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Seahouses
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
St Aidan Hotel Seahouses, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing