We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (463)
Filter reviews
463 results
Traveler rating
364
88
8
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
364
88
8
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmoked haddockfarne islandseggs benedictfabulous viewsfriday and saturdayfresh fruitsmall hoteltop floorexcellent hoteloverlooking the seaholy islandthree nightsfull englishmain buildingbath and showerlovely roomhope to return
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 463 reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2018

This was our second visit, stayed in the main building with front sea view which was great. Room good, breakfast well above average, location perfect. Best sea view doubles £125 per night in July so not cheap, but just worth it for the view and the easy stroll to the harbour.

Room Tip: The sea views are everything, book a sea view room.
  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2_Romantics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2018

This is an excellent hotel with nicely decorated rooms, comfortable beds, good linen and fluffy white towels. Our room was in the ground floor annexe at the front of the hotel and we were able to sit outside and look out to the Farne Islands - a stunning view made all the more beautiful by the exceptional weather. Breakfast was excellent and cooked to order - the eggs Benedict were exquisite. The staff are friendly and helpful and Rob is always keen to chat and assist if you have any queries. The Bistro is busy in the evenings and open to non-hotel guests and booking is recommended. Many thanks to Rob and his team for a wonderful 4 days.

  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank GregoryB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2018 via mobile

We arrived earlier than expected and called in on the off chance that we could leave our luggage. The lady who was cleaning the hotel went off to find Diana who booked us in and then we were allowed to put our bags in our room.
The room had amazing views of Bamburgh Castle and the sunset. It was very comfortable and well equipped with fluffy towels, crisp bedding and a good Wi-fi connection. There is free parking to the front and side of the hotel.
Breakfast was a mixture of fresh fruit, cereals and hot food cooked to order and it was all of very high quality. Rob, the owner, was there overseeing service and chatting with guests. He was able to advise on nearby attractions, bus routes, parking, shopping etc..
The hotel offers bed and breakfast accommodation, with the addition of a pop up bistro available Thursday to Saturday evenings. Diana was able to advise us of other eating places nearby for the other nights.
This is a wonderful base for singles/couples exploring the many attractions in Northumbria and we’ll definitely be going there again. They can take children over the age of twelve.

Stayed: June 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank lidibus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2018 via mobile

I have stayed before and would stay again. This small friendly hotel is excellently situated for trips to The Farne Islands, Holy Island and other Northumberland visitor attractions.

The staff are very friendly and really helpful. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the views from the sea view rooms, as in the photo are great. We sat on the bench outside the hotel one evening and were able to watch dolphins swimming across the bay about half a mile away.

Stayed: July 2018, traveled with friends
Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2018

We really enjoyed our stay. We were in the Staple Island room at the top of the hotel with a great view over the sea which was very comfy. Our dinner on Friday evening was excellent and really nicely served by friendly owner and supporting staff. Breakfast features great ingredients and comes beautifully cooked. All in all a really well-run establishment with out of the ordinary friendly owners and staff offering wonderful service.

  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngelaD5106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews