We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
St Aidan Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Victoria Hotel(Bamburgh)
$205
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$168
$140
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$209
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Purdy Lodge(Belford)
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (431)
Filter reviews
431 results
Traveler rating
336
84
8
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
336
84
8
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmoked haddockfarne islandseggs benedictfresh fruitfabulous viewsfriday and saturdaytop floorsmall hotelexcellent hoteloverlooking the seab bfull englishtwo nightsholy islandmain buildingbath and showerfew minutes walk
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
352 - 357 of 431 reviews
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Just got back after 3 days and 2 nights at St Aidan's Hotel Seahoues. Sue and John are the most friendly and helpful hosts I have ever met. The Hotel is very clean, has amazing views and it's the little touches like binoculars in your room to look out at the Farne Islands and all the amazing wildlife. We stayed in the Orient Room which had a door right onto the car park, and I sat there with a glass of wine in hand watching the sea, the lighthouse and I felt a sense of calmness and I could have stayed there all night. The full english breakfasts are "scrum didly umptous" and there are plenty of other things to choose from. Please book the Farne Islands trip using "Serenity" amazing few hours seal and bird watching. Well worth a visit - thanks again Sue and John :)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sue G, Owner at St Aidan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Julie thank you for taking time to write such lovely review, John and I do the same with a glass of wine at the end of the day and watch the sun set, so pleased you enjoyed your boat trip, its a wonderful place to live and we feel very lucky, thank you again for taking the time to write the review and post some lovely photos Sue and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Very pleasant B&B in a magnificent location on the cliff top with views out to the Farne Islands, Banburgh Castle and Lindisfarne. I was fortunate enough to stay here on one of the first decent days of the year. Might be a different picture in November!
Extremely clean room with quality linnen etc. Breakfast excellent although starting at 08:30 might be a little late for some. A perfect base for visiting the Farne Islands.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FluffChucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sue G, Owner at St Aidan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

thank you for your kind comments and taking the time to write your review, early breakfasts have never been a problem for us , we do them for regular divers,walkers,cyclists guests on early boat trips to the Farnes and bass rock, we suggest to guests to simpy ask at check in and we will happily fit in with their plans. Thank you again sue and john

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at this comfortable B & B, very well situated just 5 minutes walk from the centre of Seahouses, so very convenient but a lot quieter than being in the very centre with its large number of visitors. Sue and John Gibson are experienced hosts and run a relaxed and efficient B & B - clean comfortable rooms and really good breakfasts - 12 different fruits including fresh raspberries, blackberries and strawberries, as well as cereals and yoghurts, and 3 choices of cooked breakfast (we tried them all, all good). Lots of things to like - our bed was super-comfortable and we slept well every night; I took advantage of the fresh sealed Colombian ground coffee and cafetiere in our room each morning; there is a pleasant bar where you help yourself and put the money in an honesty bowl (ridiculously low prices - £2 for a G & T?). We had the Morocco room, small but very cosy, with a view over the sea and the Farnes, and also had a night in the India room as the Morocco room wasn't free when we booked, which was larger, with room for two comfy chairs and a coffee table, but not quite such a good shower, view along the bay and towards Bamburgh Castle. Fresh towels every day. Free Wi-Fi. Friendly atmosphere in the breakfast room with a nice lot of guests. The rooms have efficient heaters which warm the room up quickly, but the bathrooms have wall fan heaters which are less effective. Altogether we very much enjoyed our stay - Seahouses is an excellent base for exploring the Northumberland coast and this is very good, comfortable B & B in a prime position.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GolfinaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sue G, Owner at St Aidan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

thankyou so much for taking the time to write your review, it was lovely to meet you both and we are so please that you enjoyed your stay and everything we offer in the hotel, john and i love it when people get to see northumberland and everything it has to offer thanks again from both of us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We booked the Morocco Room at the St Aidan after viewing the hotel online. A phone call to the ever helpful John resulted in a confirmation email almost immediately. I have read here a number of times how well organised the hotel is for a small establishment and I also found that to be the case. From checkin to check out, nothing was too much trouble.
The Morocco room is ensuite and has fantsastic views over the Farne Islands of Grace Darling fame. It was very comfortable and we slept well there for the 2 nights we stayed.
There is a LCD television available and free wi-fi, the code for which is given in the advice notes in the room.
Breakfasts were fantastic and very filling. We used the hotel as a base for touring around the many wonderful sights the far north east of England has to offer. John & Sue offer a packed lunch service of which we took advantage. To call it generous would be an understatement, it includes sandwich, crisps, chocolate bars and a flask of hot soup along with a cold drink amongst other goodies. Neither of us could finish all they had provided. It was all good quality and delightful refreshment after we had walked the many miles we did visiting Bamburgh Castle and the beautiful beaches there.
John was very helpful in advising on what to do and see and offered good advice on where to go in Seahouses for an evening meal, something they dont do (understandably) at the St Aidan. They even have a small bar in the hotel and it is based on a honesty box which I found remarkably refreshing in this age.
Unfortunately we didnt get to meet Sue as she was busy in the kitchen amongst her many other tasks I would imagine. However we did get to eat a lot of her lovely breakfasts and would like to thank her for the generous portions.
The hotel is a delight and the people running it even more so. On top of that the wonderful views from the hotel of the Farne Isles and the wild North Sea, and long beaches allowing long sunlit walks...what isnt to like? Book into the St Aidan and you will not be disappointed. Thanks John and Sue..we will be back one day.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelling_Taffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sue G, Owner at St Aidan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

we can only thank you so much for your lovely comments, i m sorry i didn t get the chance to see you when you stayed , but we re thrilled you enjoyed yourselves, and will make sure I catch you when you return thanks again john and sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Gorgeous beach and sea view looking towards the Farne Islands out of one window and the magnificent Bamburgh Castle out of the other We could not have imagined a better location. A lovely room with en suite facilities and a breakfast to die for. What a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sue G, Owner at St Aidan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

thanks for your lovely comments, we still wake up in the morning in awe of the views we know we are very lucky and its wonderful to hear people sound so enthusiastic about the vistas and their stay with us thanks for taking the time to write your review sue and john

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews