We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Real comfort”
Review of St Aidan Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Seahouses
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
St Aidan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Seahouses
Certificate of Excellence
Newton Arlosh
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Real comfort”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

St Aidan Hotel was a wonderful 'find'. We hadn't booked in anywhere in advance so were very lucky to find an available room. Seahouses was too busy so we were on our way to Bamburgh in search of a quiet, comfortable Bed abd Breakfast situated overlooking one of Northumberland's fantastic beaches. St Aidan more than fitted the bill.
Sue and John are professionals and fully understand the needs of their guests. Very clean. Amazingly comfortable bed and decor - even a little gold bag of chocolates sitting on the fluffy bath towels!
Breakfast was one of the best we've had anywhere in the world. Joe had a good, non-greasy full English breakfast. I had a choice of at least 12 fresh fruits, cereals and yoghurts.
Monty, our dog, was made very welcome and we had bracing walks on the North beach across the road from our room
Dinner is not provided but we had an excellent meal at The Links in Seahouses.

Room Tip: The Eastern Themed room is on the ground floor and has its own entrance from the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sue G, Owner at St Aidan Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
it makes our day when people enjoy their stay with us, thank you for your lovely comments and monty was a treasure

sue and john
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    83
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
39
263
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We happened to spend a night in this hotel while wondering in the area and we were impressed: the room (1st floor) had a huge window with an excellent view on Bamburgh Castle, the Farne Islands and even Holy Island.
Good quality complementary breakfast with fruits, cereals, toast and a cooked dish of your own choice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sylviaberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sue G, Owner at St Aidan Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
thank you for your lovely comments flavour of scotland has got wonderful views and it is lovely to hear that you enjoyed visiting our part of the world
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed for three nights in August. It is in a fantastic location, and we had good views of the Farne Islands from our room. We received a warm welcome and appreciated the special touches in the room. Breakfast choices were superb. A good place for exploring the local area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mowbreck61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sue G, Owner at St Aidan Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
we are pleased you enjoy your stay with us and thank you for taking time to write a review, we are very lucky to be situated on this coastline and we love to hear that you have enjoyed your stay in our part of northumberland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, UK
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Found this place by chance and got the last room. Glad we did. Friendly welcome and great service. Rooms a little tired but clean and have quite a few nice touches. Breakfast great, best one I've had in a while. Would stay again, would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunsearcher101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sue G, Owner at St Aidan Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your kind comments, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stayed for the night on our way down the coast. Our room, Scotland, was very well furnished with excellent views of Bamburgh Castle and the Farne Islands.

The owners were helpful and served an excellent breakfast. Recommended.

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sue G, Owner at St Aidan Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
many thanks for taking the time to to review our hotel and we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke-on-trent
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

we stayed for a couple of nights on our tour down the coast and have to say we enjoyed every minute.The hotel is in a superb location with stunning sea views,although it is only five minutes walk from the town centre it has a lovely relaxing ambience.We stayed in the Moroccan room which was spotlessly clean with fresh clean towels,excellent tea coffee and biscuits and the most amazing view out over the Farne Islands.Breakfast was top class with a seven item full English which kept us going well into the afternoon,Overall a most enjoyable experience ,cheers.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sue G, Owner at St Aidan Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
we are so pleased you enjoyed your time in northumberland and managed to visit holy island as well as travel down our coast line thank you for taking the time to write the review and we look forward to seeing you again if you return to our area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed here while walking St Oswalds Way and arrived absolutely soaked. The room was perfect and a lovely hot shower sorted us out. The breakfast was lovely and with the hotel being just out of the town and on the seafront, when the sun shone the next morning the view was amazing.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carole h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sue G, Owner at St Aidan Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
thank you so much for taking the time to write your review john and i are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and the beautiful coastline, we have here, look forward to seeing you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seahouses
5.4 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
6.1 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
5.4 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Warkworth House Hotel
Warkworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Warkworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bamburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
21.5 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Aidan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Aidan Hotel

Property: St Aidan Hotel
Address: Seafront | St Aidans, Seahouses NE68 7SR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Seahouses
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Seahouses
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxed bed and breakfast, with spectacular views of the Farne Islands, Bamburgh Castle & Holy Island ... more   less 
Also Known As:
St Aidan Hotel Seahouses, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing