We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter Break Special Offer - ABSOLUTE Value For Money!!!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Seahouses
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Bamburgh Castle Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Seahouses
Certificate of Excellence
South Yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Winter Break Special Offer - ABSOLUTE Value For Money!!!”
Reviewed December 7, 2009

We found and booked this hotel the day before we wanted to visit the area. On arrival we were pleasantly surprised by the standard and cleanliness of the decor, and even though there is no actual reception/booking in area as mentioned in one of the other reviews, this was absolutely no problem AT ALL!! When all's said, all you're doing is collecting a room key, if you expect a fanfare on arrival then you've obviously taken a wrong turn eoff the M25!!
Th staff were friendly , the room was very clean and the standard of food was well above our expectations!
The only downwside that we could even mention was the intermittent noise of what
we presume was some sort of generator, and we're sorry to say that this went on through the night!!
We paid £37.50 P.P.P.N, dinner, B&B, and we certainly had more than our money's worth!!
The staff were freindly and attentive, and I feel we could even have forgiven the odd bout of surliness had it happened, considering they were there to serve breakfast early in the morning and still there until late on in the evening, and were never standing around idle. Maybe people reap what they sow............
The location of the Inn was perfect, overlooking the harbour with views of Bamburgh Castle and the Farne Islands.
We would certainly recommend this hostelry and would gladly return for another peaceful, short break.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ttizzytoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

985 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    436
    329
    135
    54
    31
See reviews for
236
521
29
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
North East
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 24, 2009

Good views of harbour. Excellent food. Clean, good sized rooms. Sean and staff could not be more welcoming and friendly. Pets are welcome.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Storm2110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East England
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2009

Very surprised, having visited Seahouses dozens of times over the years it was the first time we have visited the hotel. Family included 4 adults and 1 teenager, the rooms were well located and maintained we wonderful sea views (except room for disabled which was unfortunate but still a great room). Staff were very friendly and could not do enough for us during our 7 night stay. Well worth the visit and certainly will be staying again. the hotel offered access to private pool and leisure facilities across the road, only sorry we did not have time to use them.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianNortern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwickshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 24, 2009

Bamburgh Castle Inn has a fab location but our break was tarnished by the surly staff. Do they know how to smile and be friendly? With the exception of Monday morning, (when a female member of staff who hadn't been working over the weekend was on duty), I had to ask staff each morning to replenish either the the milk, fruit juice (which wasn't very fruity) and clear away dirty dishes which I would have thought they should have done as a matter of course. Our room had a sea view but you couldn't see it unless you stood up due to the block wall and why was there no shower curtain in bathroom?
If I were Lindisfarner director Keith Liddell, I'd send my staff on customer relations excercise and get a decent food supplier; you're profits would rocket!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarlbur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnet
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2009

A strange mix of good and not so good. The room was spotlessly clean, newly furnished and had a flat screen TV with freeview digital - but the bathroom was spartan with no shelf to put toiletries and slightly unreliable fittings. The staff attitudes varied - some friendly and helpful, others polite but less helpful. The menu was mainly routine standards, but the specials were excellent (although they changed slowly). Breakfast buffet was adequate, but could easily have beeen improved - e.g. by cooking the eggs in batches through the service, not all at the start so that they end up with hardened yolks!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarnetMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley Lancashire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2009

We have recently returned from Seahouses, after a 4 day break at the Bamburgh Castle Inn. It is the refurbished and renamed Bamburgh Castle Hotel, which we had stopped at on numerous occasions in the past. This was our first visit since the refurbishment and so the following comments may have been somewhat influenced by our memories of previous visits to Seahouses.

Reception: On arrival, we checked in at the bar, via the bar staff who appeared to double up as receptionists. Having said this, checking in was reasonably quick and the staff were helpful.

Bed Room:
Our on-suite room, a superior type, which overlooked the Farne Islands, was situated on the first floor. It was double bedded, with a balcony. Access to the balcony, was via French windows. Both the bedroom and bathroom were spotlessly clean.

Criticisms relating to the room:
No means of obtaining fresh air into the room, other than by balcony doors.
There were no chairs in bedroom or on the balcony. When I enquired about obtaining some chairs, I was initially told by a member of staff, that it was not Company policy to have chairs in rooms. However, when I discussed this with Sean the duty manager, he informed me that table and chairs were in fact on order. He arranged for a chair to be put in our room.
However, had there been chairs on the balcony, we would have been unable to sit in them and look out to sea, because of the height of the balcony wall.
There was no shower screen in bathroom or electric shaver point
There was no telephone phone in room. Therefore, there was not any way of communicating for room service etc.
The Inn did not have a public telephone installed.
Food:
Breakfast - Is buffet type and is perfectly acceptable with all the usual things you would expect. It is served between 08.00 and 09.00 hours.
Evening Meal - We had two evening meals at the Inn and found them to be reasonably priced and of good quality.

Conclusions:
A very clean establishment and on reflection, one has to accept that it is an Inn that has recently undergone some renovations and not a Hotel.
Would we stay there again? The answer is more than likely. Bamburgh Castle Inn is situated in an ideal position for touring Also, it is spotlessly clean.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 265CML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hexham
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2009

Staed for one night on the hottest day of the year. Room small but clean and had sea view which was a bonus. Views from the terrace off the upstairs lounge were superb and the sunset over Bamburgh Castle was memorable.
The food in the restaurant let them down - the hottest day of the year and not one salad available - they were serving roast venison though.

Breakfast as spoiled by inedible tinned graperfruit - one of only two fruit options - and a general lack of lighter options such as yoghurt/ cheese or pastries.
More seasonal options please.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hexham1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seahouses
5.4 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,230 reviews
6.0 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
5.6 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bamburgh
207 reviews
21.4 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
365 reviews
0.2 mi away
Links Hotel
Links Hotel
#13 of 25 in Seahouses
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bamburgh Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bamburgh Castle Inn

Property: The Bamburgh Castle Inn
Address: Seahouses, Seahouses NE68 7SQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Seahouses
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Seahouses
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bamburgh Castle Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When it comes to top seaside locations, the award-winning Bamburgh Castle Inn in Northumberland is hard to beat. Named Tourism Pub of the Year 2015 in the North East England Tourism Awards, The Bamburgh Castle Inn overlooks the harbour in the fishing village of Seahouses. Newly refurbished, this friendly inn with 33 en-suite rooms has all the charm of the seaside with amazing sea view rooms. Enjoy a drink or eat al fresco in our elevated beer garden with its amazing views of the Northumberland coast towards the Farne Islands and the inn's namesake - Bamburgh Castle. If you're looking for accommodation for a stay away, a guest house or a bed and breakfast in Northumberland that offers excellent value for money, a more laid back approach than a hotel and more service than simply self-catering, look no further than The Bamburgh Castle Inn. With an established reputation for good, home-cooked pub food and serving up a proper pint of Northumberland's finest, The Bamburgh Castle Inn is popular with visitors and locals alike. Don't miss our legendary Sunday Carvery complete with towering Yorkshire Puddings - you won't be disappointed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Bamburgh Castle Hotel Seahouses
Bamburgh Castle Seahouses
Hotel Bamburgh Castle
Bamburgh Castle Hotel House Sea
The Bamburgh Castle Inn Seahouses, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing