We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Seahouses
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Bamburgh Castle Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Seahouses
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 9, 2014

The Bamburgh Castle Inn is a good location for several reasons. It is in close proximity to Bamburgh Castle, Lindesfarne and is harbourside in Seahouses. You can wander around the village or visit several attractions close by.

Our breakfast was included and it was a delicious traditional English breakfast. We had dinner at the Inn also. We opted to order our meal then we went up a flight of stairs to a room that overlooked the harbour. The servers brought the meal to us. The only downfall was if you want another drink, you have to go all the way back down, order it, wait and bring it back up. Eating at The Bamburgh Castle Inn is like eating a home cooked meal. Delicious!

They provide WiFi but it was a bit of a joke really. We tried to connect in the pub and we're told to move closer to the connection. We were almost on top of it and it still didn't work. Fortunately WiFi is not a need for us when we are on holiday but if anyone needed it for business, it may be a bit of an issue.

I was glad to see the parking for guests was included.

The staff were pleasant and helpful.

I personally don't think I would want to stay during high season but we loved the time of year we went and would certainly return.

Room Tip: The 2 rooms at the top of the hotel facing the North Sea are by far the better rooms. You pay a litt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caribbean_breezes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Thank you for leaving such a useful review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay. Just a couple of points: we are a pub so you do indeed have to order at the bar - which does mean coming back down stairs from our Sea View lounge to order. Also, the WiFi does work in the main public areas - I conduct many meetings from different locations in the pub (and beer garden!) and have not had issues with WiFi access. The code for the WiFi has caught me out however and it can be tricky to enter correctly. If you are having problems, ask a member of staff and we will do all we can to help. Please do come again soon and thank you for leaving this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,027)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

718 - 724 of 1,027 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2014

This was our second visit, we stayed for 2 nights DBB, room was immaculate with beautiful harbour view. Food lovely, staff fantastic, nothing is a bother to them. Have booked again for next year!! Fantastic value for money.

Room Tip: request sea view when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maria o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Brilliant review - thank you :D

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

I almost forgot this review, however it was an evening booked for Friday 13th of December which included an evening meal, entertainment, one nights stay and breakfast the following morning. A disappointing turnout for the evening but that did,nt bother our party of four. We thouroughly enjoyed a Xmas meal and the entertainer Glen Roughhead is indeed a very talented singer. The accommodation was very comfortable. Well presented and WARM!!! Very pleasant and helpful staff and the following morning an equally pleasant breakfast enjoying views out across tthe harbour. At £65 per head it was excellent value for money and indeed that was reduced at checking out. Well worth the trip, the time and the money. Well done to all.

Room Tip: Seaview rooms cost a little more but its well worth the extra few pounds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cattdvd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

A lovely review - thank you! One thing to note - our sea view rooms and non sea view rooms cost the same during winter break rate periods, but as you point out there is a small difference for the remainder of the year. Well worth the small cost for our unbeatable views!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

Excellent value for money can't pick a single fault. Sunday carvery was great, dinner was great and breakfast was great too, totally relaxing. The room was immaculate(28). Great location, great views. Seahouses is a little gem full of Northumbrian charm!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jem e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Love the little gem of Northumberland charm - we may have to quote you on that! Thank you so much for the review and for the five stars. We wish you a speedy return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

3 of us stayed for one night on 30.12.13 on th DBB deal. Staff were so friendly, rooms spacious, very clean and comfortable, food was excellent. Unfortunately they were fully booked, otherwise we would have stayed another few nights. The views were brilliant. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Room 10 on first floor had sea view and balcony - what more could you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Margaret G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

What a lovely review - thank you very much indeed and for the five stars too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We were really looking forward to an evening meal in a lovely setting, but were so disappointed & quite frankly disgusted. We as a family have spent the last 20 years on holiday in the summer & New Year in Seahouses/Bamburgh & eaten in some fabulous places, but never tried the Bamburgh Castle until this Christmas/New Year.......but certainly shan't bother again. We actually considered booking in there for Dinner/Bed & Breakfast for 3 nights & are glad we didn't. The meal was appalling - small portions, chips were dry, £16.95 rib eye steak was so small it was untrue & not to mention the fat in it. The Bamburgh burger was dry, chewy & gristly... wouldn't even give it to our dog!!!! Having said that the staff were lovely & very welcoming. Such a shame & so disappointing.

Room Tip: Only ate in the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Oh no - what a shame to read. We are sorry you did not enjoy your meal. Please, please do come back and give us another try. I eat here as a regular local customer as do my friends and family. The food is cracking especially the steaks. Countdown to steak night is continuing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We had another excellent time in Seahouses staying in this hotel, The staff were extremely friendly, helpful and efficient and made us feel very welcome, The food was excellent and extremely good value, Bedrooms were warm and cosy with comfortable beds and had everything you could need. We have already booked our next stay for November, 2014.

Room Tip: Book a sea-view room with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan2111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Great to hear you have booked to come and stay again - thank you. And many thanks as well for your five stars and review. Much appreciated. See you in November!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seahouses
6.0 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
5.4 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,278 reviews
12.9 mi away
The Hog's Head Inn
The Hog's Head Inn
#3 of 5 in Alnwick
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
392 reviews
4.6 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bamburgh
216 reviews
22.5 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bamburgh Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bamburgh Castle Inn

Address: Seahouses, Seahouses NE68 7SQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Seahouses
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Seahouses
Price Range: $57 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bamburgh Castle Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When it comes to top seaside locations, the award-winning Bamburgh Castle Inn in Northumberland is hard to beat. Named Tourism Pub of the Year 2015 in the North East England Tourism Awards, The Bamburgh Castle Inn overlooks the harbour in the fishing village of Seahouses. Newly refurbished, this friendly inn with 33 en-suite rooms has all the charm of the seaside with amazing sea view rooms. Enjoy a drink or eat al fresco in our elevated beer garden with its amazing views of the Northumberland coast towards the Farne Islands and the inn's namesake - Bamburgh Castle. If you're looking for accommodation for a stay away, a guest house or a bed and breakfast in Northumberland that offers excellent value for money, a more laid back approach than a hotel and more service than simply self-catering, look no further than The Bamburgh Castle Inn. With an established reputation for good, home-cooked pub food and serving up a proper pint of Northumberland's finest, The Bamburgh Castle Inn is popular with visitors and locals alike. Don't miss our legendary Sunday Carvery complete with towering Yorkshire Puddings - you won't be disappointed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Bamburgh Castle Hotel Seahouses
Bamburgh Castle Seahouses
Hotel Bamburgh Castle
Bamburgh Castle Hotel House Sea
The Bamburgh Castle Inn Seahouses, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing