We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a Weekend Break with Fantastic Views”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Seahouses
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Bamburgh Castle Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Seahouses
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great for a Weekend Break with Fantastic Views”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights while visiting the Farne Islands. You cannot beat the location, it overlooks the harbour and the views are fantastic. I would definitely recommend upgrading to a sea view room, worth it for the extra £10 per night. Breakfast was good, buffet of hot food and plenty of cereals. We had a coeliac in our group and they provided gluten free bread which was good. The pub itself was nice, we had fantastic weather so were able to enjoy the lovely beer garden. Overall would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a sea view room although if staying in the summer months try to avoid room 13 as there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you very much for the review and look forward to welcoming you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    429
    319
    131
    54
    28
See reviews for
230
505
28
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Food can not even be classed as average. poor version of pub grub.! The service is rubbish. Staff are rude and unhelpful. The location is lovely but the decor and furniture is dated and shabby. House keeping could be improved. Overall cleanliness could also be improved. Will not return after such disappointment.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Safetyfirst1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
What can we say? Our favourite grudger is back again. Please read our other reviews rather than taking into account any suspicious reviews like this. Again, we have reported to TripAdvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Got there and its car park was full. So had to pay to use car park on seafront until a space arose. A bad start. Room was very pleasant, though not with a sea view as had hoped to get. Whole hotel has a sort of plasticky corporate feel to it. A bit too 'improved'. As a pub it's far too big to be personal, but its rather too small to be a luxury hotel. Hmmm. Nice location. Food OK. But somehow it didn't grow on me. Would stay again, but would really prefer somewhere else.

Room Tip: Seaview if available. Other rooms have no view but very pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wizbangHalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Everyone is perfectly entitled to their opinion! All we would say is that in busy times as July, parking can get busy and so does the inn - so unless you have booked, we can't guarantee a se view room. Why not book now for a sea view room with your own terrace overlooking the harbour. Cracking value we think!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Shocked at the state of the place. We asked for a sea view room. The room was basic with a view over looked by the garden table and chairs. You could not sit in the room and look out without the bar customers looking at you. The room only had the basics. No shower. The food you had to queue for. No personal service . You are charged top price for a basic room. This hotel is for the young,not for anybody expecting service from a hotel. This hotel has lost is appeal.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms with the amount of fire doors, baning late in the night upsetting your sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
And we're shocked at your review, which has us bamboozled. Not that we're doubting this is a genuine review, of course, nor are we accusing anyone of telling wee porky pies... but what you say here isn't right.

It is impossible to have a sea view room overlooked by tables and chairs and the beer garden because all our sea view rooms are on the 1st or 2nd floor. Secondly, every single one of our sea view rooms bar one (on the second floor) have showers. You state your sea view room being overlooked by the beer garden, tables and chairs had no shower? Unless of course someone had got a ladder out!

The only four rooms that could be overlooked are ground floor rooms with no sea views that are popular with people with dogs as they can come and go when they wish straight out onto the front.

You say you were shocked at the state of the place. It would be helpful for us to know what or which part you were shocked at by being more specific.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryhope
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We were quite surprised how comfortable this quirky little in is. Though we only stayed one night, it was very relaxing and refreshing. Everything is rustic, definitely not luxurious, but fits well in the theme of the place. I agree that the bar is quite busy and it can be quite hectic, but it added to the atmosphere and charm of the place. We would probably stay again when in the area, but may try elsewhere first.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 477DavidPrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRO76, Front Office Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for your review and for the five stars - we look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockton on tees
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

6 of us stayed here on a Saturday night to celebrate my brothers 50th birthday, the first thing we found strange was that you check in at the bar rather than a designated reception, this immediately raises a problem when the bar is busy because your competing with thirsty travellers for the attention of someone to book you in, we waited around 10 minutes to be looked after, not the best of starts to our stay.
The rooms once we got into them were very nice, they were clean and all had tea/coffee making facilities, the en-suite bathrooms were particulary large and we'll kept.
I would rate the food on offer in the hotel as limited and perhaps a little expensive for what you got but within a 150 yds of the hotel are several restaurants well worth investigating.
One thing that I defy anyone to complain about is the views and local places of interest, our room overlooked the pretty little Harbour which was only 75 yds away and if you walk to the sea wall and look left and ahead you will see the magnificent Bamburgh Castle about 3 miles away and the Farne Islands about a mile offshore. Overall it was a great stay and the hotel was very good in some areas but average in others, I'd rate it a solid 7/10.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steveStocktonOnTees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRO76, Front Office Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thanks for the review - we always do state that we are a pub with rooms as opposed to being a hotel. We don't have a hotel reception, and check in is at the bar. We will feed back your comments though and appreciate you taking the time to make them. Hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire UK
Level Contributor
64 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The view from the restaurant is wonderful and we had our dinner on the terrace with an amazing sunset. Staff welcoming and helpful. Room (at the back) was clean and had everything needed plus good towels. Would have been excellent if yogurts and porridge for breakfast and more choice for evening meal.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue_in_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRO76, Front Office Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We will feed back comments about yoghurts and porridge at breakfast which are included free with your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seahouses
6.0 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
5.4 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,201 reviews
5.6 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bamburgh
198 reviews
21.4 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
357 reviews
12.9 mi away
The Hog's Head Inn
The Hog's Head Inn
#4 of 5 in Alnwick
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bamburgh Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bamburgh Castle Inn

Property: The Bamburgh Castle Inn
Address: Seahouses, Seahouses NE68 7SQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Seahouses
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Seahouses
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bamburgh Castle Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When it comes to top seaside locations, the award-winning Bamburgh Castle Inn in Northumberland is hard to beat. Named Tourism Pub of the Year 2015 in the North East England Tourism Awards, The Bamburgh Castle Inn overlooks the harbour in the fishing village of Seahouses. Newly refurbished, this friendly inn with 33 en-suite rooms has all the charm of the seaside with amazing sea view rooms. Enjoy a drink or eat al fresco in our elevated beer garden with its amazing views of the Northumberland coast towards the Farne Islands and the inn's namesake - Bamburgh Castle. If you're looking for accommodation for a stay away, a guest house or a bed and breakfast in Northumberland that offers excellent value for money, a more laid back approach than a hotel and more service than simply self-catering, look no further than The Bamburgh Castle Inn. With an established reputation for good, home-cooked pub food and serving up a proper pint of Northumberland's finest, The Bamburgh Castle Inn is popular with visitors and locals alike. Don't miss our legendary Sunday Carvery complete with towering Yorkshire Puddings - you won't be disappointed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Bamburgh Castle Hotel Seahouses
Bamburgh Castle Seahouses
Hotel Bamburgh Castle
Bamburgh Castle Hotel House Sea
The Bamburgh Castle Inn Seahouses, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing