We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More like a hostel than hotel”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Seahouses
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Bamburgh Castle Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Seahouses
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Shocked at the state of the place. We asked for a sea view room. The room was basic with a view over looked by the garden table and chairs. You could not sit in the room and look out without the bar customers looking at you. The room only had the basics. No shower. The food you had to queue for. No personal service . You are charged top price for a basic room. This hotel is for the young,not for anybody expecting service from a hotel. This hotel has lost is appeal.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms with the amount of fire doors, baning late in the night upsetting your sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

And we're shocked at your review, which has us bamboozled. Not that we're doubting this is a genuine review, of course, nor are we accusing anyone of telling wee porky pies... but what you say here isn't right.

It is impossible to have a sea view room overlooked by tables and chairs and the beer garden because all our sea view rooms are on the 1st or 2nd floor. Secondly, every single one of our sea view rooms bar one (on the second floor) have showers. You state your sea view room being overlooked by the beer garden, tables and chairs had no shower? Unless of course someone had got a ladder out!

The only four rooms that could be overlooked are ground floor rooms with no sea views that are popular with people with dogs as they can come and go when they wish straight out onto the front.

You say you were shocked at the state of the place. It would be helpful for us to know what or which part you were shocked at by being more specific.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,044)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

781 - 787 of 1,044 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2013

We were quite surprised how comfortable this quirky little in is. Though we only stayed one night, it was very relaxing and refreshing. Everything is rustic, definitely not luxurious, but fits well in the theme of the place. I agree that the bar is quite busy and it can be quite hectic, but it added to the atmosphere and charm of the place. We would probably stay again when in the area, but may try elsewhere first.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 477DavidPrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRO76, Front Office Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Thank you for your review and for the five stars - we look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

6 of us stayed here on a Saturday night to celebrate my brothers 50th birthday, the first thing we found strange was that you check in at the bar rather than a designated reception, this immediately raises a problem when the bar is busy because your competing with thirsty travellers for the attention of someone to book you in, we waited around 10 minutes to be looked after, not the best of starts to our stay.
The rooms once we got into them were very nice, they were clean and all had tea/coffee making facilities, the en-suite bathrooms were particulary large and we'll kept.
I would rate the food on offer in the hotel as limited and perhaps a little expensive for what you got but within a 150 yds of the hotel are several restaurants well worth investigating.
One thing that I defy anyone to complain about is the views and local places of interest, our room overlooked the pretty little Harbour which was only 75 yds away and if you walk to the sea wall and look left and ahead you will see the magnificent Bamburgh Castle about 3 miles away and the Farne Islands about a mile offshore. Overall it was a great stay and the hotel was very good in some areas but average in others, I'd rate it a solid 7/10.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steveStocktonOnTees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRO76, Front Office Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Thanks for the review - we always do state that we are a pub with rooms as opposed to being a hotel. We don't have a hotel reception, and check in is at the bar. We will feed back your comments though and appreciate you taking the time to make them. Hope to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The view from the restaurant is wonderful and we had our dinner on the terrace with an amazing sunset. Staff welcoming and helpful. Room (at the back) was clean and had everything needed plus good towels. Would have been excellent if yogurts and porridge for breakfast and more choice for evening meal.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue_in_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRO76, Front Office Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We will feed back comments about yoghurts and porridge at breakfast which are included free with your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Stopped for 2 nights and enjoyed the brilliant view looking out to the Farne Islands. The room was very clean and airy with everything you need - I'm sure the other non-sea facing rooms would be OK but it is well worth the small extra cost for the view. Decent buffet breakfast and we tried the food in the evening on one night, which although fairly standard 'pub food', was well presented and served by friendly staff. Just be aware that we noticed it was busy on both the Friday and Saturday night so getting a table can sometimes involve a wait! Would have no hesitation in stopping again.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view room - with balcony if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nr1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review and for your comments. It does indeed get busy at peak times especially during the summer months, but the good news is we have lots of seats indoors and out! Hey, we're just a very popular place! Looking forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We booked a room with a sea view but did not expect what we got WOW what a view and a balcony with table & chairs as well which we took full advantage of as the weather was gorgeous, the room was spacious and has everything you need for a comfortable night. The buffet breakfast was nice with a good selection, also had dinner the food was lovely and we had a table with a view of the harbour plus the staff could not have been more friendly. We will definitely be stopping here again and have already recommended it to friends.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YMcTMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

That's such a lovely review - thank you so much. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay - and our views too! Thank you for the five stars as well....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We were recommended to try the Bamburgh Castle Inn, and we were not disappointed. The Inn is an impressive looking building, and inside the décor is very attractive. The staff are attentive and helpful but not "over the top".

We all decided to have the roast lamb with vegetables and mint sauce. It was delicious. The lamb has to be the most tasty and succulent meat we have ever had. Wonderful! We were full after that but managed some delicious strawberries and ice cream for dessert. We had a very good bottle of red wine with the meal. Highly recommended! The price was very reasonable, and we will definitely go again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jenwix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Delighted to read your review - and thank you for the five stars - we look forward to welcoming you to the Inn again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seahouses
6 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
5.4 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,289 reviews
4.6 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bamburgh
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
The Hog's Head Inn
The Hog's Head Inn
#4 of 5 in Alnwick
540 reviews
5.6 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
393 reviews
21.3 mi away
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Marshall Meadows Country House H...
#1 of 3 in Berwick upon Tweed
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bamburgh Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bamburgh Castle Inn

Address: Seahouses, Seahouses NE68 7SQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Seahouses
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Seahouses
Price Range: $57 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bamburgh Castle Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When it comes to top seaside locations, the award-winning Bamburgh Castle Inn in Northumberland is hard to beat. Named Tourism Pub of the Year 2015 in the North East England Tourism Awards, The Bamburgh Castle Inn overlooks the harbour in the fishing village of Seahouses. Newly refurbished, this friendly inn with 33 en-suite rooms has all the charm of the seaside with amazing sea view rooms. Enjoy a drink or eat al fresco in our elevated beer garden with its amazing views of the Northumberland coast towards the Farne Islands and the inn's namesake - Bamburgh Castle. If you're looking for accommodation for a stay away, a guest house or a bed and breakfast in Northumberland that offers excellent value for money, a more laid back approach than a hotel and more service than simply self-catering, look no further than The Bamburgh Castle Inn. With an established reputation for good, home-cooked pub food and serving up a proper pint of Northumberland's finest, The Bamburgh Castle Inn is popular with visitors and locals alike. Don't miss our legendary Sunday Carvery complete with towering Yorkshire Puddings - you won't be disappointed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Bamburgh Castle Hotel Seahouses
Bamburgh Castle Seahouses
Hotel Bamburgh Castle
Bamburgh Castle Hotel House Sea
The Bamburgh Castle Inn Seahouses, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing