We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a coffee then back for more.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Seahouses
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Bamburgh Castle Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Seahouses
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 12, 2013

On holiday with my wife and mum in law we called here for morning coffee,and returned later for an evening meal this is a very nice pub with terrific views over the harbour, dog friendly which is good for us, and a 5 star hygene notice proudly displayed at the bar.Plenty of beers to choose and we ordered 2 Scampie and 1 fish and chips I had the fish and chips with peas which were served on a hot plate not like some places we have been to,the fish and chips were very nice,,the only down side was the skin was still on the fish which I am not used to,the Scampie was given top marks from 2 experts who were with me,all in all a very nice meal out,average prices and very good service from the waitresses,would go again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank poppythedog34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Glad to hear you came back for more! And we hope to see you again soon! Please ask if you want us to take the skin off your fish - we'd be happy to oblige. We leave the skin on to help keep the fish in place when it is cooking and gives a lovely crisp finish.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,027)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

782 - 788 of 1,027 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2013

We checked in for one night at the Bamburgh Castle Inn. At £85.00 for B&B you would expect something reasonable. Our room was basic and generally clean except for the bathroom floor which needed a good scrub. As per other reviews, we noticed that the doors banged heavily. Fortunately, we were staying during a quieter period and were not disturbed but I could imagine during busier periods it would be very noisey. The breakfast was extremely average with a buffet offering the cheapest of ingredients that tasted that way. The Bamburgh Castle Inn obviously deals with a mass market and justifies the prices due to it's excellent location on the harbour but was distinctly average. It was alright for a one night stay but I think I would find somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank n0tjustabirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Ah well, you can't please everyone I guess. If you read our reviews cleanliness and spotlessness features heavily among guests who have troubled themselves to leave reviews, so we were surprised by your comment about the floor.. Our rate is per room, so based on two people sharing - as was in your case - that is £42.50 per person including a free breakfast which we think is pretty good value. We are a pub with rooms which is reflected in our price.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great place and location. Rooms clean and comfortable , although a lot of noise at night from banging doors and squeaky floorboards in the corridors ( a simple soft close bar would help with the door banging)

Staff very friendly and helpful ... just wish the same could be said for the Manager .. rude is an understatement. Totally spoilt our stay and would not consider staying here again.

Breakfast served 8/9 am ...would advise you get there at 8 as the food was cold and inedible shortly afterwards on all three mornings I visited.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mamabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Just one comment to make - shame about the soiled bed that had to be destroyed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Went for dinner. Only it was pub grub. And not that brilliant either. The food was typical of order at the bar establishments and the only redeeming feature was the view over the harbour and North Sea. Fish and chips was ok. Scampi and chips to be avoided at all costs. Not sure what the animal policy was but what appeared to be a local taking his dog in to the bar was not all that clever as the dog was pretty rank (smelly) and that did nothing for the ambiance. If our experience was typical the AVOID.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank MCASPETH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

We were disappointed too, to read your review. We welcome pets in designated areas as we understand that some people like to bring their pets with them on holiday and finding somewhere that accepts pets can be hard to find. But we appreciate that not everyone likes to dine next to Fido, which is why we have separate doggy areas.

Scampi and Fish and Chips are two of our best selling dishes. We have a strong local following and are very popular with visitors too, so folks, if you are reading this - please make up your own minds - we look forward to welcoming you. Mr Grumpy Pants will be avoiding us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Stayed here with the family for the May bank holiday weekend. The hotel was clean and had a pleasant atmosphere. The food was enjoyed by all the family (order at the bar, & reserve a window table to enjoy unobstructed sea views). The children's portions are good quality proper food, very much enjoyed, but quite big portions, as are the adult's. We were impressed with the huge fresh fish, and I particularly enjoyed delicious lamb. Eating in this hotel, we felt, was good value. The breakfast starting at 8am I felt was a little late, especially as we had a diver in our family who had to be away before this one morning. We stayed in room 1, disabled access, which doesn't have a view, but was spacious and right next to a fire exit to the car park, making unloading easy. There was some noise of people on the stairs, but nothing excessive. The staff were friendly, polite and informed. The hotel is situated right on the harbour, a steep hill running down to it, with it's own private parking to the rear. There is a crazy golf course and clean soft play area with decent food close by at The Bunker, and endless clean beach a few hundred yards further along. All in all, a pleasant weekend away in an attractive location. My only gripe is the non-existence of O2 mobile coverage and lack of wifi reaching the bedroom. Neither of these is the Hotel's fault, but as we had relied on telephone and Internet access for contact with the divers and tourist attraction & accessibility information, I would very much have liked to know this fact in advance so we could have prepared.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ritchie_family7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Thanks for the review! Lots of positive points - thank you! Yes, the curse - or blessing - of iffy mobile phone coverage. T mobile gives the best coverage around these parts. Because of the nature of the building - as we stress on the website - our free Wi-Fi is patchy in some rooms, however is accessible from the public bar and dining areas. Ask staff for a code. If you are in need of an early breakfast - say if you are diving or bird watching, we'll do our best to assist. Please ask a member of our team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

stayed for a night after cycling from Newcastle. Was brilliant. They even found a bucket of hot water to wash the bikes off. Very friendly. food was fab. Rooms big , clean and great value. OUrs had a wonderful seaview. Will come back when not cycling and stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ilkleyrachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Thank you so much for your review - it says a lot about our spirit and what we try to do to make our guests make the most of their stay with us! Whether that's helping wash off bikes or meeting special dietary requirements. Thank you for the five stars too! Hope to see you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Food was your regular pub food. Fish and chips were excellent and my grilled salmon ok. My sisters Steak and Ale pie was disappointing. The house Rose wine, although cheap at £8.95 a bottle, was terrible!
The place was well appointed though and the view was lovely, from the restaurant.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shirl565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Eeeoo good things and not so good things in your review. Everyone's tastes are different and our wines were very carefully chosen (we had a nice time taste testing them!) The steak ale pie is a firm favourite on the menu too. All we can say is please do come back to give us another try?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seahouses
6.0 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
5.4 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,278 reviews
12.9 mi away
The Hog's Head Inn
The Hog's Head Inn
#3 of 5 in Alnwick
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
392 reviews
4.6 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bamburgh
216 reviews
22.5 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bamburgh Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bamburgh Castle Inn

Address: Seahouses, Seahouses NE68 7SQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Seahouses
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Seahouses
Price Range: $57 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bamburgh Castle Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When it comes to top seaside locations, the award-winning Bamburgh Castle Inn in Northumberland is hard to beat. Named Tourism Pub of the Year 2015 in the North East England Tourism Awards, The Bamburgh Castle Inn overlooks the harbour in the fishing village of Seahouses. Newly refurbished, this friendly inn with 33 en-suite rooms has all the charm of the seaside with amazing sea view rooms. Enjoy a drink or eat al fresco in our elevated beer garden with its amazing views of the Northumberland coast towards the Farne Islands and the inn's namesake - Bamburgh Castle. If you're looking for accommodation for a stay away, a guest house or a bed and breakfast in Northumberland that offers excellent value for money, a more laid back approach than a hotel and more service than simply self-catering, look no further than The Bamburgh Castle Inn. With an established reputation for good, home-cooked pub food and serving up a proper pint of Northumberland's finest, The Bamburgh Castle Inn is popular with visitors and locals alike. Don't miss our legendary Sunday Carvery complete with towering Yorkshire Puddings - you won't be disappointed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Bamburgh Castle Hotel Seahouses
Bamburgh Castle Seahouses
Hotel Bamburgh Castle
Bamburgh Castle Hotel House Sea
The Bamburgh Castle Inn Seahouses, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing