We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love it here”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Seahouses
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Bamburgh Castle Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Seahouses
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I have been here 4 times now for their Winter Warmer deals and when I get back home always wish I had stayed for a couple of more nights. The rooms and bathrooms are well laid out and I always book early to try and get a sea view (it is worth it) and cannot fault the breakfasts or the evening meals. All in all I am always impressed which is why I go back, if I wasn't I wouldn't.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BoppingGeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

That's made us smile - thank you. Really appreciate the review - come back soon! Winter warmers start November 1st! 5 stars too - woohoo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,025)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

789 - 795 of 1,025 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2013

I have been here a few times for family lunches. Obviously being Seahouses, fish and chips figure high on the agenda. The fish is huge, the chips are proper chunky chips, rather the tasteless matchsticks, but the tiny frozen peas were disappointing! I'd have thought they coudl have managed some proper mushy peas, or at least some big enough to stick a fork in. The other meals enjoyed by our party were pretty average pub grub.

The interior of the restaurant is spacious, and warn and cozy when a cold sea breeze strikes oudoors. The hotel has guest parking right in the middle of Seahouses, which is a plus, and it is well placed for the obligatory walk along the harbour.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Thanks for the review. We'll feed back your comments about the peas.. maybe we could give choice of mushy or garden?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Just had a couple of days over on the North East coast with the family and the dog.

Even though the weather was cold the Bamburgh Castle Inn was ideal warm and cosy, the winter special B & B plus evening meal was very good value for money with the food being of a good selection and high quality. Bedrooms were very tidy and cosy.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdenCumbrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Many thanks for your review - a warm welcome awaits on your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

This hotel bills itself as an "inn and country pub" but this does not accord with my idea of such a description. Situated right above the harbour in this little seaside town, the hotel offers beautiful sea views from many of its bedrooms, some of which even have a balcony. The Farne Islands are in sight too. There is a raised garden overlooking the harbour although, when we were there, the east wind was too uncomfortable for sitting outside. Our bedroom was of decent size, modern and reasonably well appointed (although without a telephone) the bathroom equipped with good bath, efficient shower and, very important, good-sized towels. For £90 per night for a double room,you might expect some basic toiletries rather than a squeeze bottle of liquid soap fixed to the wall. There were some weird noises from the plumbing - I was woken three times during one night by an extraordinary sound from the bathroom when our neighbours flushed their loo (or maybe just turned on a tap) and the small herd of rhinoceros in the corridor outside also caused some minor disturbance to my sleep. Having said that, the bed was comfortable and the linen ok quality. Public areas were excessively hot throughout, uncomfortably so in the corridors but the level of heat in the bedroom was easily adjusted. The large bar area is given over almost entirely to the service of food. Not that the cask ales on offer were in any way tempting. The menu is severely limited, the promised "specials board" being inoperable in holiday times "because we get too busy". Some, but not all of the food was edible. The wine list is of minimal length and, for the quality on offer, overpriced. And it was highly irritating to be told, when asking the waiting staff for bottles of wine or our table of twelve, that we had to go to the bar to get them. Generally, but with one exception, the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful but at times appear overworked. Breakfast, buffet style, was fine. To sum up, this is a clean and comfortable (if ambitiously priced) B&B - but if I stay here again, I shall eat and drink in The Olde Ship Inn next door.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Blackbobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Thanks for your review. We think our menu has plenty to choose from - but it's good to hear opinions. We cook all our food fresh to order which is why our menu isn't pages long. Due to the size of our kitchen in busy times we can't run a specials board.

Rates are per room (April 1st - Oct 31st) which we ffel represents good value with a free breakfast included in the price!

We love our neighbours - The Olde Ship Inn, so if you would like to go eat and drink with them next time please do!

We like to think we complement each other well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Stayed 28th March 2013. The hotel is in a great position over looking the harbour. The food is very good and the staff very friendly. The price for a double room was £88-00 but £32-00 of this is towards the evening meal ( £16-00 each ) which i thought was good value. The hotel is an ideal base for walking.

Room Tip: The rooms at the rear of the hotel ( car park) are very noisy due to the cellar fan and extraction u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mark t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Thanks for the review. Our best tip is book as early as possible for our winter breaks to secure sea view rooms as all room rates are the same for winter breaks Nov 1st - March 31st.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

This was the first time I had stayed here, so wasn't sure what to expect, although had fairly high expectations, as the website made it look quite promising and I had been recommended it by a friend. Sadly, a felt rather underwhelmed. On arriving, we managed to get a space in the small car park, which was good, given it was the Easter weekend and it was very busy. There is no dedicated reception. You just go to the bar to check in, which isn't ideal. It was a Saturday afternoon and there were lots of people ordering food and drinks, which made for a bit of a challenge. The staff appeared to be a bit disorganised and ignored us, serving other people who came to the bar after us. We were told by a somewhat disinterested barman that it was earlier than the 2.30pm check in time (It was about 2.05pm). He advised that "they" are very strict about that. So we had to take our luggage back to the car. We checked in after 2.30pm. We were advised that, as we had booked the Winter Break deal, we would get £16 worth of food from the menu for dinner. The deal stated that you got a 2 course meal from a selected menu, so this was somewhat misleading, as it means you either choose the cheaper options or pay extra! The room we were allocated was Room 1. It's large and adapted for disabled use (we aren't disabled). It faces onto a wall, so no view at all. It's next to a fire door and seemed to be under a stair or corridor above, as it was very noisy with others passing to and fro. Although very clean and well maintained, the room was bland and characterless. The twin beds were tiny and not a standard single size, which meant you risked falling out if you moved. There was certainly plenty room for standard singles! And the TV on the wall was also very small.The bathroom, although adapted, was fine, however, the water in the shower was at best, tepid. The WiFi in the hotel appeared not to be working and there was no signal in our room anyway. The evening meals were of a reasonable standard, but you felt limited to a few choices due to the cost restriction. The steak pie is very good and portion sizes are decent. Breakfast is served, buffet style, but only from 8-9am. Especially at a weekend, this felt too early and too short. The hotel and the restaurant have the feel of a well known chain of hotels and family restaurants. It lacked individuality and character. With some tweaking, the whole experience could be significantly better!!

Room Tip: Unless you need a disabled access room, avoid room 1. Ask for a seaview. And go to the Olde Ship Inn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

We're sorry to read your review... :( We always try to be clear about who and what we are - a pub with rooms as opposed to a hotel. We are this way because we don't have a designated check in or room service. We do our best to accommodate but given that you arrived on one of the busiest weekends of the year would mean that our bar and staff are at their busiest.
\That said, we will always do our best to meet our guests' requests like early check in, so if we can we will.

Our rooms are all shown clearly on our website. While our winter break offer is clearly stated too. We think it represents amazing value for money.

We're not a chain, or a hotel, but what we are is a pub with rooms, offering good value accommodation that is clean, comfortable and in a great location. Sorry we were disappointing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Visited here a few times for breakfasts and just come in for a drink.Staff very friendly and welcoming place is very clean it's dog friendly too just on the carpet area.Food lovely and very reasonably priced not stopped in the hotel itself as my family have a caravan but heard from others it's very nice and comfortable I would recommend it

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minniemouse_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review us! Yes - we are dog friendly in dedicated areas of the inn - very few pubs / restaurants permit this locally. Because we have a spacious dining area, we can keep our four legged guests separate to the main dining area so everyone is happy! We have designated dog friendly rooms too in our inn, if you are staying.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seahouses
6.0 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
5.4 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,278 reviews
12.9 mi away
The Hog's Head Inn
The Hog's Head Inn
#4 of 5 in Alnwick
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
392 reviews
4.6 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bamburgh
216 reviews
22.5 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bamburgh Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bamburgh Castle Inn

Address: Seahouses, Seahouses NE68 7SQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Seahouses
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Seahouses
Price Range: $57 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bamburgh Castle Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When it comes to top seaside locations, the award-winning Bamburgh Castle Inn in Northumberland is hard to beat. Named Tourism Pub of the Year 2015 in the North East England Tourism Awards, The Bamburgh Castle Inn overlooks the harbour in the fishing village of Seahouses. Newly refurbished, this friendly inn with 33 en-suite rooms has all the charm of the seaside with amazing sea view rooms. Enjoy a drink or eat al fresco in our elevated beer garden with its amazing views of the Northumberland coast towards the Farne Islands and the inn's namesake - Bamburgh Castle. If you're looking for accommodation for a stay away, a guest house or a bed and breakfast in Northumberland that offers excellent value for money, a more laid back approach than a hotel and more service than simply self-catering, look no further than The Bamburgh Castle Inn. With an established reputation for good, home-cooked pub food and serving up a proper pint of Northumberland's finest, The Bamburgh Castle Inn is popular with visitors and locals alike. Don't miss our legendary Sunday Carvery complete with towering Yorkshire Puddings - you won't be disappointed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Bamburgh Castle Hotel Seahouses
Bamburgh Castle Seahouses
Hotel Bamburgh Castle
Bamburgh Castle Hotel House Sea
The Bamburgh Castle Inn Seahouses, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing