We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoyed our stay but”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Seahouses
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Bamburgh Castle Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Seahouses
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 31, 2013

liked the hotel very much and found the food fine. Lovely staff so pleasant. Sea view room fine but spoiled by television from next room blaring out at 7am and one afternoon we heard the entire Cbeebies program. The tv in the next room is situated on a stud wall immediately above where our headboard in our room was. It was really intrusive and i do hope something can be done about it. Apart from that our stay was most enjoyable and we will book for next year.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jean b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Thank you for leaving a review. If you could contact us to let us know which room you stayed in, we will certainly try to rectify this issue. Thank you for flagging.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,017)
There are newer reviews for The Bamburgh Castle Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

788 - 794 of 1,017 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2013

Visited for evening meal only (for seven !). Typical pub meal. Order drinks from the bar and take to table, order meals from the bar etc. Thought that service was first-class - friendly without being overbearing and everything was delivered with a smiling face. The menu is quite limited though and I found it difficult to choose because there were very few options. When food arrived, however, there could be few criticisms - good, hot pub grub and pretty high quality. Would visit again but would it find it very difficult if we had stayed here for any length of time - not enough variety on the menu !

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Thanks for dining with us and for your review. We're just about to launch our new summer menu with more options on. We try to offer a wide choice of specials to supplement our menu, but during busier times like Easter our kitchen size means that we are unable to prepare and serve specials as well as our main menu. Sorry... But glad you enjoyed your food - it is all home made and cooked to order.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We ate here twice while staying elsewhere in the area. Competition was a bit limited as the fish & chip shops only served till 6PM and the other pub didn't start serving till 7.
We found the service fine both times and the prices were about what you'd expect. Sea views from many of the tables is a nice bonus. Nice beer too!
I think the specials board is the way to go as - just as others have pointed out - the standard menu choice is a bit limited and tried and trusted. Give the chips a miss as I doubt that if you took a plate of theirs outside you'd get much competition from the gulls.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imacbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Thanks for eating with us and for leaving a review. Visitors and locals alike rub shoulders as we're popular with both, which is always the sign of a good place to eat. Plus we are open all day and every day with food served until 9pm. All our food is home mad and cooked to order.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

This hotel was very nice.rooms very clean.we went on the winter special which included bed breakfast /evening meal.We were dissapointed when ordering our evening meal to be told we could not order for 45mins.surely a hotel this size should be able to cope with the demands when busy.so we had a drink and waited 45 mins went to the bar to order to be told they were still not taking orders by this time i was furious and asked to speak to the manager only to be told by the person behind the bar he was in charge that day.I dont know if he was the manager and i didnt like his manner after all we had already waited the time he told us.THe food when we got it was very nice its just a shame we had to wait so long.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KarenTwedd62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

We were sorry to read your review and can only apologise for your wait. We can say, hand on heart, it is extremely rare that customers have to wait that length of time for their food. All our food is cooked to order. Please do come back and try us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We had an evening meal here in their restaurant. The food was typical pub food although nicely cooked I was surprised at how limited the menu was. I have been to pubs in the area with a more expansive menu.
There were however a few problems.
Firstly you could stand at the bar for about 5 minutes waiting for someone to serve you. When the barman eventually appeared he was chewing. It was obvious he has nipped out of the back for something to eat.
Secondly 2 couples ordered their food. 2 in their party ordered specials from the blackboard but nobody thought to tell them that they had sold out of those dishes. Hence 2 in the group got their meals whilst the other 2 had to sit and wait (approx 30 minutes) for their newly ordered dishes to be served!!
Felt it was a bit overpriced and not a particularly inspiring menu.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank holidayfever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

Aw - sorry to hear that you were left feeling... well, that we were average. All we can say is please come back and try us again. We've a great new menu for Spring and Summer. Come and try it and let us know what you think.
:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Have just returned with my wife from our second visit in two years, this time for 3 nights with friends. We had a top floor room with balcony overlooking the harbour with views to the Farne Islands and Bamburgh Castle. We were very warmly welcomed by the staff and were remembered from our previous stay. As before the atmosphere was very relaxed and comfortable and nothing was too much trouble. The food was of a very high standard and the kitchen were more than happy to accommedate any requirements. An excellent place to stay whatever you intend doing at very reasonable prices. We shall return!!

Room Tip: If a room with balcony and views book as far in advance as possible
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johnt007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

What a lovely review. Many thanks! And we're delighted with the five stars too - cheers! We're raising a pint of Farne Island ale to you both! We look forward to you returning to stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Me and my boyfriend went for a 2 night stay to seahouses. Plan was to chill out, look at some castles, walk on the beach, eat and drink!! lol! We initially booked for 1 night then booked for the following night once we arrived, there was a room avalible but without a sea view on the second night - which was fine by us. We had the dinner bed and breakfast offer £44.50 which is £16 each towards your evening meal. Our meals were gorgeous! I had pork with haggis, veg and potatoes. really nice and good value at £9.95 i thought. My Boyfriend has steak pie which he really enjoyed. Bottle of wine for £16.95 which is about average price too. We sat in the window and watched out to sea from our room - what a great treat this was :-) The room was large with a large bathroom, all the stuff you would expect, nice tv, lamps, tea/coffee. Room was nice and warm, had to turn the radiator down abit. (i wouldn't want their heating bills!) Had a good nights slepp until 7am when our neighbour decided to put his tv on full blast and we were woken up with a start! bit rude i thought but that people for you. The wall are abit thin and we could hear next door having their morning ..erm... things... lol! Breakfast was abit hecktic, had to wait for food to be brought out to the self service area but the staff were working hard and seem to be never still. The sausages are ace!!! really good. There was a really helpful hardworking member of staff called Ryan who deserves a mention - Thanks for a great service! If i had to recommend anything, go for the specials on the food menu. The food on the main menu was ok but average pub grub. Specials are worth trying and good value for money. Overall a great break. Thanks eveyone.

Room Tip: Sea view every time
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Thanks for your review - and we're glad you enjoyed your chill out in Northumberland. Hope you stay again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seahouses
6.0 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
5.4 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,266 reviews
5.6 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
The Hog's Head Inn
The Hog's Head Inn
#3 of 5 in Alnwick
528 reviews
4.6 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bamburgh
215 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Sunningdale Hotel
The Sunningdale Hotel
#1 of 8 in Bamburgh
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bamburgh Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bamburgh Castle Inn

Address: Seahouses, Seahouses NE68 7SQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Seahouses
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Seahouses
Price Range: $58 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bamburgh Castle Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When it comes to top seaside locations, the award-winning Bamburgh Castle Inn in Northumberland is hard to beat. Named Tourism Pub of the Year 2015 in the North East England Tourism Awards, The Bamburgh Castle Inn overlooks the harbour in the fishing village of Seahouses. Newly refurbished, this friendly inn with 33 en-suite rooms has all the charm of the seaside with amazing sea view rooms. Enjoy a drink or eat al fresco in our elevated beer garden with its amazing views of the Northumberland coast towards the Farne Islands and the inn's namesake - Bamburgh Castle. If you're looking for accommodation for a stay away, a guest house or a bed and breakfast in Northumberland that offers excellent value for money, a more laid back approach than a hotel and more service than simply self-catering, look no further than The Bamburgh Castle Inn. With an established reputation for good, home-cooked pub food and serving up a proper pint of Northumberland's finest, The Bamburgh Castle Inn is popular with visitors and locals alike. Don't miss our legendary Sunday Carvery complete with towering Yorkshire Puddings - you won't be disappointed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Bamburgh Castle Hotel Seahouses
Bamburgh Castle Seahouses
Hotel Bamburgh Castle
Bamburgh Castle Hotel House Sea
The Bamburgh Castle Inn Seahouses, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing