We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“peaceful location”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Seahouses
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Bamburgh Castle Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Seahouses
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Just returned with my husband from a 2 night stay at the bamburgh castle inn, this was our first visit to northumberland & we were not disappointed. The views over the harbour & across to the farne islands are so amazing & although we couldn't book a seaview room we were not disappointed as sitting in the sea view lounge sipping our drinks looking out to sea was so peaceful & more than made up for it. Our room was very spacious, clean & comfortableThe staff are very friendly & welcoming & the food was excellent with plenty of choice on the menu. A visit to Banburgh Castle & Holy Island is a must. We will definetely return maybe in the summer months when the boat trips are running across to the farne islands.

Room Tip: A seaview room would have been nice
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annwoodlesford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Thank you for a great review and five stars. We're so pleased you enjoyed your first visit to Northumberland and hope you return again soon. Sea view rooms are popular - especially those with their own private terrace, so book as early as you can. :D

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,016)
There are newer reviews for The Bamburgh Castle Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

794 - 800 of 1,016 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2013

had a 3 night break, staff very friendly and helpful, comfy room, had to regulate the heat, couldn't sleep the first night because I was so hot, food ranged from OK to very good, I found the breakfast a nightmare on the first morning, it is self-service, no eggs or tomatoes, went off to do my toast, toaster took 7 mins to do a slice of toast, came back, still no eggs or tomatoes

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

You're right! We pride ourselves on having one of the best sea views in the county - if not further afield. Glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for the review. We do try to make every part of your stay fantastic - including breakfast which usually we receive rave reviews for. You must come stay again and have another try at breakfast, or please ask a member of staff if there is a choice that you are waiting for?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Stayed here for two nights dinner bed and breakfast with a group of friends, our room was very nice, extremely warm and cosy, overlooked the sea, and had a lovely balcony with stunning views.
Food was very good and the staff are very pleasant. It was clean and the bed was very comfortable. It has an extensive menu and the sticky toffee pudding is to die for! Our room was in the new extension and I would recommend that you try and get a room there as some of the older rooms are a little draughty. Great base for walkers and this is a dog friendly hotel. We have booked for next year.

Room Tip: Doggie rooms are available and they have their own patch of grass.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rose C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Thank you for the great review. We look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Great location for a winter break and good value too. The Bamburgh Castle Inn benefits from it's elevated position overlooking the harbour and beyond to the Farne Islands.

Rooms clean and comfortable, if of the no frills variety. Lovely bath and plenty of hot water to enjoy after bracing walks along these fabulous and dramatic beaches. A shower screen however would have been nice to best use the tap mixer. Sea view rooms the best and quickly booked out at time of booking ... motto "book early to avoid disappointment". Rooms at rear look out over unspectacular car park but all guests can appreciate the fantastic views from the bar restaurant picture windows.

Fish and chips a must have meal in Seahouses and from the Bamburgh Castle Inn you can see the boat that brought in your supper! The winter deal allows £16 against evening meal so sufficient for two courses, would be a little short if going for 3 courses or specials.

Food excellent quality, nicely prepared and wholesome quantity. Window seats can be reserved too if you particularly want to look out. Nice verandah area and picnic tables again with views.

Not many easy chairs but there are cosy corners and comfortable seating in the upstairs sea view lounge.

Well situated for sweeping bays and sandy beaches, sensational castles, Farne Island birds & seals, Lindisfarne for history and mead [check tide tables], great golf courses including Seahouses ..... loads to do and see.

Don't rely on weather forecasts for Seahouses/Bamburgh etc ... often wrong with clear skies on the coast when poor a mile or two inland.

Northumberland really is unspoilt and steeped in history and natural beauty. The Bamburgh Castle Inn is a comfortable base to enjoy the area. The staff are friendly and helpful and a credit to the place.

Room Tip: Book early for sea view room
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DeeGeeEmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

What a comprehensive review - thank you for taking the time to write this. and for your comments. We hope you return again to stay soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Travelling around the area we called here to see if they had a room for the night.There was an offer on for be,breakfast and evening meal which was a very good. the food was as excellent as the service. The room we had was basic but clean,all the sea view one's had gone,(the price was still the same) which was a shame as it would have been a nice bonus. Serve yourself for breakfast, I enjoyed the bacon and the sausage but did'nt have a great deal due to a good helping that was given with the meal the night before.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linton22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Fair review - thank you very much for taking the time to write it. We hope you'll return again - book early to get your sea view room!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Been here a few times and have never been disappointed with the food or the service. Everything is just about what you would expect from such a restaurant, good portions of 'real food' as my grandfather used to say.

We visit this area quite often and always have at least one meal here, highly recommended.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
Thank Darren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

It's always good to welcome back repeat customers - and to hear that people recommend us! Thank you very much. We appreciate your comments and positive feedback and look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed with friends for four nights Monday to Friday on the winter rate deal. We also stayed in 2009 & 2010. It was good then and even better this time. Ryan the Manager heads a very effective and well trained team in all areas. The staff were attentive, polite and professional and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were very clean and well serviced with a rolling programme of inprovements. The breakfast was excellent and the evening menu gave a wide choice of well-cooked dishes. This was a great value for money Winter Break in a pleasant environment and wonderful location. We have booked for next year and confidently recommend The Bamburgh Castle Inn as a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roger N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Thank you very much indeed for a great review and for your five stars :D We do all we can to make sure you enjoy a super stay with us. Delighted that you'll be coming back to see us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seahouses
6.0 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
5.4 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,266 reviews
5.6 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
The Hog's Head Inn
The Hog's Head Inn
#3 of 5 in Alnwick
528 reviews
4.6 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bamburgh
215 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Sunningdale Hotel
The Sunningdale Hotel
#1 of 8 in Bamburgh
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bamburgh Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bamburgh Castle Inn

Address: Seahouses, Seahouses NE68 7SQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Seahouses
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Seahouses
Price Range: $58 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bamburgh Castle Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When it comes to top seaside locations, the award-winning Bamburgh Castle Inn in Northumberland is hard to beat. Named Tourism Pub of the Year 2015 in the North East England Tourism Awards, The Bamburgh Castle Inn overlooks the harbour in the fishing village of Seahouses. Newly refurbished, this friendly inn with 33 en-suite rooms has all the charm of the seaside with amazing sea view rooms. Enjoy a drink or eat al fresco in our elevated beer garden with its amazing views of the Northumberland coast towards the Farne Islands and the inn's namesake - Bamburgh Castle. If you're looking for accommodation for a stay away, a guest house or a bed and breakfast in Northumberland that offers excellent value for money, a more laid back approach than a hotel and more service than simply self-catering, look no further than The Bamburgh Castle Inn. With an established reputation for good, home-cooked pub food and serving up a proper pint of Northumberland's finest, The Bamburgh Castle Inn is popular with visitors and locals alike. Don't miss our legendary Sunday Carvery complete with towering Yorkshire Puddings - you won't be disappointed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Bamburgh Castle Hotel Seahouses
Bamburgh Castle Seahouses
Hotel Bamburgh Castle
Bamburgh Castle Hotel House Sea
The Bamburgh Castle Inn Seahouses, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing