We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter special”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Seahouses
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Bamburgh Castle Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Seahouses
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 19, 2013

My wife and I stayed for two nights in early February. We had one of the double rooms with a balcony, which was very clean and comfortable. The only slight problem with the sea view was that you had to stand up to see it, as there is a fairly high wall on the balcony which restricts the view somewhat. However, the views from the bar/dining area are fabulous. The food was excellent. We were on the winter package where you could choose two course up to a value of £16, and there was a good choice for my wife, who is vegetarian. Breakfast also was very good, with "branded" cereals and jams - not the cheap own label stuff you sometimes get!
Excellent value and would recommend this lovely wee Inn when exploring that part of Northumberland.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david_sherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Thank you for your review. We're sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay. There are just a few comments we would like to make - the first being we are actually an inn with accommodation. We are not a hotel and try our best to make that clear, as we don't have the facilities (deliberately) that a hotel has - like room service or a dedicated check in. We're sorry, too, that you had to wait to be checked in, but as you did appreciate, it was one of our busiest days of the year.
Our winter break deal is marketed as dinner, bed and breakfast breaks. This does include plenty of dishes that would fall within the price limit set, which is made clear when booking. Reading the many reviews we get praising our winter dinner, bed and breakfast breaks shows that most people think this represents excellent value. Winter break rates apply to sea view and non sea view rooms, so sea rooms do get booked quickly. A point worth noting if you are looking to stay with us at peak times and during winter break rates (Nov 1st - March 31st). Due to the nature of the building (it dates back to the 19th century) we clearly state on our website that Wi-Fi (free) is available in the bar as there are black spots in the rooms - although some rooms can access the Wi-Fi.
We do hope you return again. Make sure you book in plenty of room and ask for a sea view room with a terrace! PS We're privately owned and aren't a chain.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,036)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

823 - 829 of 1,036 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed 2 nights in Feb on special deal of £44.50 per person per night for dinner bed and breakfast. This included 2 courses at dinner to the value of £16. Food choice was very good and the quality was above average. The room was clean and comfy and was in the attic with excellent sea views. Excellent walks nearby and lots of interesting places within a short drive. Will definitely return.

Stayed: February 2013
Thank JMBM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Thank you for the five stars and great review :D come back again soon and enjoy our cracking winter break rates!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

As always we go away for our anniversary so this time we went to Seahouses & booked in at The Bamburgh Castle Inn.
Well its situated in the centre of really small fishing village, great view of the harbour & all the way across to the castle. There was a winter special on so it payed to eat in at night, restaurant great & service very efficient, self service breakfast which was really good, would stay again if go up that way again

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a shower & only a bath, would have preferred a shower but ay not to worry
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thefolly4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Delighted you enjoyed your stay - and for choosing us to celebrate your anniversary, Hope to welcome you back again next year if not before! Some rooms have showers, some baths and some both.. If you have any preference just ask a member of our team when you book.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed at bamburgh castle inn from Xmas eve to Boxing Day and I must say its one of the best Xmas I have had.

They could not do enough for us and we took our golden retriever to stay too which he was made most welcome and could go into a certain part of the bar area for real fast and in the evening.

The hotel has a winter break special which is the best deal ever :-)

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison100734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

A lovely review - thanks - and we appreciate the five stars too. We're so pleased you enjoyed such a special Christmas with us - it's a lovely time of year and we go all out to make sure all our guests and customers have a brilliant time - our winter break rates are excellent and include Christmas and New Year too. Plus as you say, you can bring your dog to stay with us, so no one gets left at home!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

by far a fantastic experience, wish i could have stayed longer, stunning room, comfy bed, pillows, sea view all the way to holy island, dining room over looked the harbour, dispite it being freezing and raining it was so lovely, great deal of £44.50 for B&B and evening meal which was stunning, tasty, plenty of it,hot, and the breakfast was beautiful ,self service but all fresh, hubby wanted poached eggs which were quick and beautifully done, nothing was to much trouble for the staff, will definantly go back

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nanajanet76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

A lovely review which sums up what we do best - giving our guests a great holiday with us. Come back and see us again soon - and thank you for the five stars :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We had a two night stay on their inclusive package deal of £40 pp for dinner, bed & breakfast - which is excellent value. Beautiful sea view from most rooms. Rooms are clean & tidy - but in some places the fixtures are getting a bit tired - messy sealing around the bath and the odd rusty screw. Reasonable selection of food - which was good but not outstanding. Hotel was over heated in a number of areas.

Staff extremely pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1hugh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for the feedback. We are currently working through our rooms in an ongoing maintenence programme, but I will flag up your comments about the sealing. Being so close to the sea means that our sea facing rooms do get their fair share of sea spray which can cause rust, so we do keep an eye out for any rust damage which is dealt with. Hope you'll return again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Visited again this Twixmas (2012) and it was as good as previous years. Sea view room large with a comfortable bed and good size bathroom. Floorboards still creak around the hotel but that's all part and parcel of its quirkiness. Food was very good with huge portions, I had to order the lighter/children's portion otherwise I would now be at least 2 sizes larger. Manager Ryan and all his staff made our stay memorable and although each year we say we will visit pastures new, we still return to Bamburgh Castle Inn!! Thank for yet another wonderful holiday.

Room Tip: Rooms 20, 21 and 25 are big with seaviews
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BanksyEastMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Thank you so mcuh for a lovely review and for five stars. We value this greatly and hope to see you again next Twixmas?!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seahouses
6.0 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
5.4 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,286 reviews
5.6 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
The Hog's Head Inn
The Hog's Head Inn
#3 of 5 in Alnwick
536 reviews
4.6 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bamburgh
220 reviews
21.3 mi away
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Marshall Meadows Country House H...
#2 of 3 in Berwick upon Tweed
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bamburgh Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bamburgh Castle Inn

Address: Seahouses, Seahouses NE68 7SQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Seahouses
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Seahouses
Price Range: $57 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bamburgh Castle Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When it comes to top seaside locations, the award-winning Bamburgh Castle Inn in Northumberland is hard to beat. Named Tourism Pub of the Year 2015 in the North East England Tourism Awards, The Bamburgh Castle Inn overlooks the harbour in the fishing village of Seahouses. Newly refurbished, this friendly inn with 33 en-suite rooms has all the charm of the seaside with amazing sea view rooms. Enjoy a drink or eat al fresco in our elevated beer garden with its amazing views of the Northumberland coast towards the Farne Islands and the inn's namesake - Bamburgh Castle. If you're looking for accommodation for a stay away, a guest house or a bed and breakfast in Northumberland that offers excellent value for money, a more laid back approach than a hotel and more service than simply self-catering, look no further than The Bamburgh Castle Inn. With an established reputation for good, home-cooked pub food and serving up a proper pint of Northumberland's finest, The Bamburgh Castle Inn is popular with visitors and locals alike. Don't miss our legendary Sunday Carvery complete with towering Yorkshire Puddings - you won't be disappointed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Bamburgh Castle Hotel Seahouses
Bamburgh Castle Seahouses
Hotel Bamburgh Castle
Bamburgh Castle Hotel House Sea
The Bamburgh Castle Inn Seahouses, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing