We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Seahouses
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Bamburgh Castle Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Seahouses
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Made a last minute reservation as I needed a break but did not really want fly anywhere. Saw the Winter Break promotion and thought why not? As I booked late I managed to get one night in a sea view room and would have to move to a car park room the 2nd night. Once I got there I inquired about any cancellations for a sea view room on the second night. The girl at the bar was friendly and very helpful and was able to accommodate me. When I came down from dinner I found out that she had arranged for me to stay in the same room (sea view) for both nights! Good food and the room was clean and pleasant. The Inn has a homely feel and I would have no problems returning. The only down side was that my room was in a high traffic area so could be a bit noisy at times as the other guests went to and fro. The staff were quite friendly and happy to help. Great location - harbour and beaches - but a car would be necessary to explore the area fully.

Room Tip: Book early and get a room on a higher floor - less traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FelipaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Just saw that we hadn't thanked you for your review (or TA hadn't accepted our reply!) thanks for kind words. Come stay again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,053)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

857 - 863 of 1,053 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2012

Hotel fine and on the front in Seahouses with good views over the Farne Islands. Staff very nice and accommodating but had booked a family room and ended up in a disabled room with an uncomfortable sofa bed in it. Gloomily lit room and not particulary appealing - tried to move, but hotel fully booked. No discount or anything offered. Bar area and food OK - typical pub grub - thought we had to send one dish back due to quality and quantity. Breafast fine including the Bamburgh Banger sausage which is very tasty.

All in all, rooms in need of a refurb, but probably caters well for their market - good value in winter, but wouldn't want to pay top dollar in the high season

Room Tip: ask for a room with a seaview - if travelling with children ask to ensure its not a disabled room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phileasfoggtmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2012

Thank you for your review. We are a three star graded pub with value for money accommodation. Our rooms are clean and comfy and are all subject to ongoing planned maintenence to keep the inn spick and span and fresh. We think the price reflects excellent value. Glad you like the Bamburgh Bangers - we will pass on the feedback to Mick the butcher.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We have stayed here many times with our dogs. I want to write a bad review so that it does not become too popular and we cannot get in.
Everything about this hotel is good, the staff are all so welcoming and friendly, my other half has a soft spot for Maria. She has been here for severval years now and always has a smile on her face.
On the coldest of days the rooms are always nice and warm, the food is excellent. We find the portions on the large side. As for the views you cannot get any better.
One of our Westies gets really excited when we go to stay there. The dogs are made to feel really welcome.
Well we have just had a two night stay and looking forward to our weeks break at Christmas !

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wadsleywesties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2012

What a lovely review - thank you so much for taking the time to post a review about somewhere you enjoy. We always love having you and the Westies to stay There aren't that many pubs with accommodation that take dogs in the area, but we have our designated dog friendly rooms, so you can bring your four legged friends!

Looking forward to seeing you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The location is fantastic all year round with access to long,clean sandy coastline ideal for walking or sightseeing the local castles of Bamburgh or Dunstanburgh. Seahouses is an ideal base to explore Northumberland. The hotel itself was fine with clean rooms and provision to bring the pet spaniel in a room that backed onto a grassed area. The staff were friendly but a problem with the boiler meant the heater was switched off resulting in cold showers which left several guests frustrated. The winter special of an evening meal and room overnight for £84 was good value

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Les B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2012

Thank you for a very useful review - it's good to know about the area around us, which as you know is superb.As with the previous reviewer we know how important it is for pet owners to bring their dog on holiday with them, so there's room at our inn for pets in our dog friendly rooms. We apologise again for the inconvenience caused by the boiler issue caused by upgrades to our heting systems. We hope that you will return again and enjoy a further excellent value stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Visited the area last week, and had lunch here on Wednesday. As we had our dog with us, we sat in the area reserved for dogs. Splendid view of the harbour. Ate from the Lunch menu but the main menu had a good selection, chose fish and chips and it was excellent. Very tasty crisp batter, and came with lemon and bread and butter! Rather a treat. Guest ale was superb, and staff very friendly and welcoming to us and the dog.

Very Highly recommended.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
Thank Kieront12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2012

Thank you for your review. Our fish and chips are indeed very popular - what can be better than fish and chips by the seaside! Glad you enjoyed them..
We have special areas in the pub inside - and outdoors where you can eat with your dog, as we appreciate if you are out and about with your dog, it is nice to have them with you in our designated dog friendly areas. Come back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Went here for lunch last Sunday with friends although it was very busy the staff were most helpful and found us a table within a couple of minutes,we decided on the carvery as looked to be the most popular . Not surprising as unlike most carveries you were not limited to two slices of meat
much to the joy of my hubby who is i real roast beef & yorkshire pudding kind of guy .
After lunch because it was such a lovely day we had a wander around Seahouses which is a really nice town with plenty of little shops to pass the time. I would recommend this venue to all.
PS the hotel have some fantastic short breaks on offer

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BEPPSEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2012

Yay! Really glad you liked the carvery - our inn has certainly 'carved' out a name for itself locally for its great Sunday Carvery. You really can pile your plate, and there's loads of meat plus home made Yorkshire Puddings by the Yorkie King himself - our head chef David! Come and stay onone of our winter breaks - they are great value and include dinner, bed and breakfast too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I stayed here in July 2012 for my partners family reunion.
The hotel was clean, the rooms were large and staff attentive.
I only ate in the hotel for breakfast and one lunch but the food was local, fresh and very nice.
There are lots of lovely views and attractions just a stones throw away from this hotel. I would recommend a boat trip to see the seals and puffins.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bowsera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

We're so sorry for the delay in saying thank you for your amazing review and 5 stars too. THANK YOU!!! Come and stay again soon please!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seahouses
6 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
5.4 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,299 reviews
4.6 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bamburgh
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bamburgh
1,007 reviews
12.9 mi away
The Hog's Head Inn
The Hog's Head Inn
#4 of 5 in Alnwick
541 reviews
11.9 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bamburgh Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bamburgh Castle Inn

Address: Seahouses, Seahouses NE68 7SQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Seahouses
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Seahouses
Price Range: $60 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bamburgh Castle Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When it comes to top seaside locations, the award-winning Bamburgh Castle Inn in Northumberland is hard to beat. Named Tourism Pub of the Year 2015 in the North East England Tourism Awards, The Bamburgh Castle Inn overlooks the harbour in the fishing village of Seahouses. Newly refurbished, this friendly inn with 33 en-suite rooms has all the charm of the seaside with amazing sea view rooms. Enjoy a drink or eat al fresco in our elevated beer garden with its amazing views of the Northumberland coast towards the Farne Islands and the inn's namesake - Bamburgh Castle. If you're looking for accommodation for a stay away, a guest house or a bed and breakfast in Northumberland that offers excellent value for money, a more laid back approach than a hotel and more service than simply self-catering, look no further than The Bamburgh Castle Inn. With an established reputation for good, home-cooked pub food and serving up a proper pint of Northumberland's finest, The Bamburgh Castle Inn is popular with visitors and locals alike. Don't miss our legendary Sunday Carvery complete with towering Yorkshire Puddings - you won't be disappointed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Bamburgh Castle Hotel Seahouses
Bamburgh Castle Seahouses
Hotel Bamburgh Castle
Bamburgh Castle Hotel House Sea
The Bamburgh Castle Inn Seahouses, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing