We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely meal.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Seahouses
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Bamburgh Castle Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Seahouses
Certificate of Excellence
paisley
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Lovely meal.”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We enjoyed a great meal here last night, good choices and fish lovely, kids well catered for. would recommend to anyone, good atmosphere and dogs were allowed in designated area, which is good to know for future. Only thing is portions are on the big side, we could manage a pudding, we were so full. but still lovely.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HerbiePaisley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Thanks for your review - we're pleased you enjoyed your meal with us - bring your dog next time!
Thank you for the feedback about portion size - we err on the hearty side and would rather people left feeling on the full side than they hadn;t had enough - a good excuse to go for a bracing walk along the beach afterwards!

Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    312
    128
    52
    28
See reviews for
221
499
28
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Horncastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We have just returned from 3 perfect days at this hotel. We were made to feel welcome on arrival with that wonderful Northumbrian hospitality and the staff were so helpful throughout our stay. There is a comprehensive menu in the bar throughout the day and evening. The food is of a very high standard. Despite the autumnal weather the hotel was warm & comfortable. The prices are also very reasonable and include a very tasty breakfast. The hotel has splendid views of the busy little harbour of Seahouses, the Farne Islands and Bamburgh Castle. Centrally situated, this hotel is an ideal base for the many attractions in this area including Lindisfarne, Alnwick Castle, Bamburgh Castle and Newcastle upon Tyne. Seahouses is the starting point to visit the Farne Islands, wonderful for seabirds including puffins, seals and Grace Darling, the inspiration for the RNLI. Being frequent visitors to Northumberland we have stayed in many hotels locally. My only regret is that is that it has taken us so long to find this gem. Incidentally we bumped into Robson Greene in a local shop.

Room Tip: If you love the sea request a sea view. It will cost a bit more but it's worth.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindenvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
I think we'll frame your review it is so lovely. We can honestly say that your lovely review echoes the many thank you letters and cards we are sent by happy customers. It's lovely to read on TripAdvisor too. Ous small and friendly team is close knit and we do all we can to make sure people have a brilliant time with us. Please come and stay soon! We've got some great winter break rates - all rooms are the same rate - sea view and non sea view, Nov - March - first come first served. Just visit our website for more details.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Just love staying here. So friendly, clean and comfortable. Our room had a balcony that over looked The Farne Islands, we evev had a bathroom with a view !!!Thank you for a relaxing 3 days . We have already booked again .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seahouses13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Hurrah! Glad you enjoyed your time with us. Look forward to seeing you again soon. Thanks for the five stars!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We only visited for lunch but we had a very pleasant experience at Bamburgh Castle Inn. The young lady's who served us at the bar for drinks and when we ordered food were very friendly and professional and courteous. There are beautiful views of the Farne islands which were an excellent accompaniment to the good home cooked pub food available. The menu has a good selection of traditional meals and even something to suit a fussy eater. Especially enjoyed were the potato skins. I feel the meal was good value for money compared with other eateries and the drink selection was good.

I would definitely return to both Seahouses and the Bamburgh Castle Inn in the future and I would definitely like to stay in the rooms in the future when next in the North east.

Thank you for a lovely welcoming experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bankyed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Thank you for your clear and comprehensive, positive review. We try at all times to go the extra mile to look after customers and make sure they enjoy eating or / and staying with us. We are a favourite among visitors and local people too, which is always good. We hope you will return to Northumberland and stay with us then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
278 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

This place has a comfortable feel as soon as you walk in. It's been decorated to a high standard and with a lot of thought.The best thing of all is the very helpful and cheerful approach of all staff without exception - everyone is clearly working hard to give a good experience to all who visit.

The food? Good quality starter, and main course. The only drawback - when I asked about the size of a pasta portion, the barmaid anticipated my question and assure me it was ample. Maybe for a mouse or a flea, but for an adult human being, I fear not! It was finished well before people on the next table who were served before me, and did not strike me as picky eaters. At least it fuelled me for cycling to Dunbar the following day in high winds, so I suppose cannot have been too bad!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hwylasbri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. My word - cycling to Dunbar! Good on you! Hope you left us fully recharged! We do exactly as oyu say in the review - offer an inn with accommodation that is welcoming, clean, comfy and the perfect base for exploring the local area. Our location makes us popular with cyclists like yourself heading out on the Coast and Castles Sustrans route. Thank you for the feedback about the pasta portion size - we usually get told off for being too big with our portions, but we'll take a look again at the pasta. Hoep to see you again soon! Happy cycling!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

We didn't stay here, just ate. Based on that we wouldn't book a stay. There was a bit of a wait for our food but it was busy and a Saturday evening so that wasn't a real problem. The food however was. My "roasted" salmon and veg was poached rather than roasted as it arrived in an inch deep puddle of olive oil. When asked, very courteously, by our waitress if we were unhappy with the food, I explained what the problem was. She then relayed a message from the chef about how food is roasted. He is sadly mistaken if he thinks that is how to roast veg. I didn't want to argue about it but a puddle of oil is a puddle of oil in any kitchen! You would expect a professional chef to know the difference!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank LynnMyles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
In response to your question, What eactly is roasted the Cambridge dictionary definition is: to cook food in an oven or over a fire.

We would love to have an open fire to cook on, but we don't! So your salmon was indeed cooked in an oven in a cast iron pot, as it is described on our menu - Fillet of salmon, baby potatoes, cherry tomatoes, green pepper, basil, balsamic vinegar and olive oil
all oven roasted in one pot. As the dish cooks, the juices come out of the fish and vegetables, which our professional chef (and scores of happy customers) agree is best kept with the dish and not poured away so diners can enjoy the flavours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Stayed 3 nights in late September the room was nicely decorated, clean and had an excellent view out over the Farne Islands.Staff were friendly and attentive, breakfast served 8am -9am could not be faulted but we did get down early.
We also got a room without a shower (24) but it didn't spoil the enjoyment.
I have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone.
Restuarant does get full at night but that is a testament to the excellent food they serve, we ate there on the second night, the first night we did eat at Wetherspoons in Berwick (can't really fault that for value either).

Room Tip: Go for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you for a very fair review. We hope you will return to stay with us in the future. Sea view rooms do book up quickly, so get in quick!

We're proud to be popular with locals and visitors aliek for food, hence why the inn is bustling. We're a happy inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seahouses
6.0 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
5.4 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
5.6 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bamburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.2 mi away
Links Hotel
Links Hotel
#12 of 25 in Seahouses
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.6 mi away
Springwood
Springwood
#2 of 25 in Seahouses
5.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bamburgh Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bamburgh Castle Inn

Property: The Bamburgh Castle Inn
Address: Seahouses, Seahouses NE68 7SQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Seahouses
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Seahouses
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bamburgh Castle Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When it comes to top seaside locations, the award-winning Bamburgh Castle Inn in Northumberland is hard to beat. Named Tourism Pub of the Year 2015 in the North East England Tourism Awards, The Bamburgh Castle Inn overlooks the harbour in the fishing village of Seahouses. Newly refurbished, this friendly inn with 33 en-suite rooms has all the charm of the seaside with amazing sea view rooms. Enjoy a drink or eat al fresco in our elevated beer garden with its amazing views of the Northumberland coast towards the Farne Islands and the inn's namesake - Bamburgh Castle. If you're looking for accommodation for a stay away, a guest house or a bed and breakfast in Northumberland that offers excellent value for money, a more laid back approach than a hotel and more service than simply self-catering, look no further than The Bamburgh Castle Inn. With an established reputation for good, home-cooked pub food and serving up a proper pint of Northumberland's finest, The Bamburgh Castle Inn is popular with visitors and locals alike. Don't miss our legendary Sunday Carvery complete with towering Yorkshire Puddings - you won't be disappointed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Bamburgh Castle Hotel Seahouses
Bamburgh Castle Seahouses
Hotel Bamburgh Castle
Bamburgh Castle Hotel House Sea
The Bamburgh Castle Inn Seahouses, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing