We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome surprise”
Review of Links Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Links Hotel
Ranked #13 of 25 Seahouses B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, United Kingdom
1 review
“Welcome surprise”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I wasn't expecting much and the exterior didn't excite. However, the room was immaculate, with one of the cleanest bathrooms I have ever encountered.The breakfast was also very good and I found the rather traditional decor very cosy and welcoming. The large picture window looking onto the main road from the room meant curtains needed drawing on occasion for privacy, but overall a pleasant surprise

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richogooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    103
    31
    23
    5
See reviews for
48
135
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Shields, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 19, 2013

love this bed n breakfast, they make you feel most welcome,the staff and manageress are lovely, the room we had was clean and the bathroom was lovely, the breakfast we had was fantastic well worth the money, we will be going back there for definate.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wareham1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
88 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Shabby and unwelcoming from the outside, drab and dreary on the inside the Links Hotel is from another era.
The shocking thing is that it probably HAS received a makeover in the past thirty years... all designed to keep it firmly in the 80's.
The bar, dominated by a massive plasma screen on the end wall, has the feel of a holiday camp club, all chairs to the wall and fruit machines.
My room on the other hand had a flat screen the size of an iPad which was handily placed on top of the wardrobe due to lack of space.
The bar food was predictable and way too extensive. When will pubs and hotels ever learn that when they deviate from 5-5-5 you just know Mum's gone to Iceland.
It is however extremely popular with the over 60's presumably because they know it's never ever going to be different this year, next year or in another 30 years.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Clivedubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

I stayed here as a last minute thing as I wanted to take a trip out to the Farne Islands and an opportunity came up when it looked as though the weather would be good. The hotel is actually in two parts as they seem to have occupied the, now closed, pub next door. I was in this annex upstairs in the old pub and the room was a reasonable size and seemed to have been relatively recently refurbished. It is an old building of course, but the room was a reasonable size and was clean with a comfortable bed (it was a twin bedded room). The bathroom too seemed quite new - the shower cubicle could have been a bit bigger but overall a good standard. I had some concerns about security as the outside door to the annex is left open - but it is a relatively small place and I expect the crime rate is pretty low. However, I would be careful not to leave valuables in the room.

Breakfast was good and hearty. I didn't eat in the bar/restaurant part in the evening, but it looked quite busy when I popped my head and looked OK. Because I was in the annex there might be an issue when it rains in getting too/from the main building for meals. Luckily when I was there is was dry.

The car park is OK - there are actually two, one behind the main hotel and the car park of the annex. There was enough room when I was there and the hotel was pretty full.

They seem to cater for groups of golfers - might need to take a look at this for a future visit with friends. There were two large groups of golfers down at breakfast when I was there, as well as a few other birdwatchers. The hotel is off the beaten track in terms of large towns so I guess most of the trade is from tourism rather than business.

I debated whether this was 3 or 4 stars. It isn't really a high class hotel but it does offer good value for what it delivers - reasonable rooms, good breakfast, convenient location. So in the end I settled on 4 stars.

I would stay here again if I am up that way.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ARH51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 28, 2013

stayed at the links recently with a golf society from Manchester, The staff were superb,the food was superb.Dont be fooled by the front of the hotel, just needs a coat of paint.Room was of a good standard nicely decorated with comfortable beds,nice bathroom with shower.We liked this hotel so much that we are returning there next year

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billythered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Did not stay in the hotel, but ate in the bar. Welcomed by friendly young barman who told us we could eat in the bar. It has an extensive Menu if not somewhat too big,we chose Chicken liver pate and Haggis neeps & tatties, followed by Lemon Sole with asparagus and Seafood Platter, both of wich were lovely. This is a busy bar and restaurant, well run by a pleasant young staff. would go again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank F00dman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leyland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Booked just a few days in advance, I couldn't find a bed and breakfast! Room comfortable and a huge bathroom set up for disabled guests,
Evening meal in the bar good choice! food is excellent, Breakfast full English cooked perfectly. All staff friendly and helpful. Planning on a return visit very soon.

Room Tip: room 10 ok for disabled
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank casonline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seahouses
5.5 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
370 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bamburgh
197 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Olde School House
The Olde School House
#6 of 25 in Seahouses
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Farne Island B&B
Farne Island B&B
#8 of 25 in Seahouses
109 reviews
0.4 mi away
Springwood
Springwood
#2 of 25 in Seahouses
332 reviews
1.8 mi away
Beadnell Towers
Beadnell Towers
#3 of 8 in Beadnell
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Links Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Links Hotel

Property: Links Hotel
Address: 8 King Street, Seahouses NE68 7XP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Seahouses
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Seahouses
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Links Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Links Hotel is a 2 star rated hotel in the peaceful setting of Seahouses on the Northumbrian Coast. The hotel offers superb ensuite accommodation with its own lounge bar and restaurant. The hotel is only two minutes from the bustling fishing harbour , where boat trips to the bird and seal sanctuaries can be taken. The 18 hole Seahouses golf course is only 500 yards from our door and is playable most of the year.The hotel is situated close to centre of Seahouses and a short walk to the bustling harbour where you can take a boat trip to the Farne Islands. Seahouses itself is blessed with beautiful beaches and scenery all within easy reach. Seahouses lies on the Northumbrian coastal route which is peppered with historic castles, the closest being Bamburgh Castle just 2 miles away. The market town of Alnwick with its Harry Potter famous castle is just 12 miles away. There are a wealth of activities nearby such as horse riding, walking cycling, bird watching and golfing. The Links hotel is ideally placed for a golfing break with the 18 hole Seahouses golf course within walking distance and numerous other golf courses near by.The Links Restaurant with its varied menus, freshly prepared by our resident chef, using wherever possible local produce, is an ideal place to spend an evening. An exciting range of fish, meat and poultry dishes, some traditional and others more exotic are available to suit all palates. Enhanced by our carefully selected wine list you are sure to find something to your taste. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Links Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Links Hotel Seahouses, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing