We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great little find!”
Review of Megstone House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Megstone House
Ranked #5 of 25 Seahouses B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“What a great little find!”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

What a gem Megstone house is
exceptionally clean, tidy and well located
Donna and Paul the owners were the consummate hosts creating a friendly welcoming environment making us feel like we had been friends for years
Mike and Angie

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angiemj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
130
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peterlee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

We were given a free upgrade 2 the 4 poster room & it was perfect. Would pay extra 2 stay in this room again. Perfect b&b. Easily 5 star.
Location was perfect.
Breakfast was perfect.
Owners were very friendly, nothing was to much trouble.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 69bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Family members raved about the wonderful room and shower and breakfast. Having been in the hospitality industry, they said this is as good as it gets. Superb customer service combined with a really friendly welcome.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anne l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a night's stay at the Megstone House B&B in Seahouses. We were greeted by a very friendly Donna and Paul. Our room was of a good size, comfortable bed, lovely white sheets, soft pillows. Bathroom excellent with soft white towels, plenty of shower gel, shampoo, body lotion etc. The breakfast was superb. There was fruit juice, cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurt, toast, tea, coffee and the full English was cooked to perfection, and was eaten in a warm, comfortable dining room which had beautiful white tablecloths. The whole house was spotlessly clean and freshly decorated throughout. We had a peep in the other two bedrooms and they were also superb. We would recommend this B&B wholeheartedly.Well done Donna and Paul and thank you.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thedancingduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bradford
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

On arrival we were greeted by Donna & Paul who made our stay extremely pleasant from start to finish - the rooms are beautifully decorated and immaculately clean attention to detail is spot on , beds comfortable and breakfast lovely - you couldnt ask for a nicer place to stay - short walk into seahouses and a beautiful part of the north of england to visit - plenty to do and see - visit the the ship inn - atmosphere is how a pub should be
recommend Megstone House to anyone and what a lovely weekend spent in a beautiful little place
thanks Donna & Paul

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank breesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Great B and B, owners so friendly and attentive, lovely walk into sea houses, lovely rooms and facilities. Great base for exploring. Great pub first recommended on trip advisor. Definitely recommend for the weekend.

Room Tip: Four poster on the front street lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amiejsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We only stayed one night at Megstone House but it was a good night! We were just passing through to visit the Farne Islands on our way to Scotland and wished we could have stayed longer as it was such a pretty spot. The reviews are accurate, the place is beautifully clean, our room was lovely & the breakfast doesn't disappoint. The bed was comfy, the room bright and light and the ensuite shower nice and powerful. Donna & Paul are great hosts and happy to chat and provide information about the area. It's a nice, easy stroll from their place into the centre and there are plenty of places to eat out both here and in the surrounding area. Would recommend this place to anyone looking for a place to stay.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Batkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seahouses hotels
0.2 mi away
Springwood
Springwood
#2 of 25 in Seahouses
5.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.2 mi away
Links View Bed & Breakfast
Links View Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 25 in Seahouses
5.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.1 mi away
St. Cuthbert's House
St. Cuthbert's House
#1 of 25 in Seahouses
5.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Olde School House
The Olde School House
#6 of 25 in Seahouses
5.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.1 mi away
Regal House
Regal House
#9 of 25 in Seahouses
5.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dunelm House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Megstone House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Megstone House

Property: Megstone House
Address: 187 Main Street, Seahouses NE68 7TU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Seahouses
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Seahouses
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Megstone House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Megstone House Seahouses, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing