We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply Delightful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Megstone House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Megstone House
Ranked #5 of 25 Seahouses B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Simply Delightful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

I stayed 2 nights and Megstone House and it was delightful. My room was big and bright with its own little sitting room. Comfy bed, lots of coffee and free wifi in the room. Huge cooked breakfast each morning was delicious. Donna and Paul were wonderful hosts who really looked after me. I loved staying at Megstone and hope to return one day. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Peabot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
124
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed two nights at the beginning of May and were delighted with our experience. The owners, Donna and Paul, were most welcoming and absolutely nothing was too much trouble for them. The place was spotless and simply everything you could reasonably expect to find was provided. We will definitely visit again and can't commend it highly enough.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Roger D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

We came to see the coast and the seabirds and booked into a small B&B because it had good reviews. Donna and Paul are great hosts they love what they do and it shows, nothing is too much trouble everything was spot on. We have already booked our return visit

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Pennaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed for one night on our way to Scotland, and were greeted by wonderful owners Donna and Paul. The house is beautifully and tastefully decorated with fine furnishings and is truly a home from home. The rooms are spacious and extremely comfortable, great bedding fluffy towels and nice toiletries. The welcome tray includes everything you need.

Breakfast was fresh tasty and local produce, nothing was too much trouble and I would highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Nolongerreviewing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south shields
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Booked Megstone House after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed at all. The most comfortable nights sleep we have had for a long while, the rooms are absolutely spotless, beautiful decor and the warmest welcome ever. The breakfast was 1st class especially the tomatoes. Only one bad point..... we only stayed one night.... but will be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank weepeezie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

I decided to take my fiance to Scotland and thought it would be nice to stay over in Northumberland for the evening.
So i found Seahouses, now in Seahouses itself there isnt much to do, however there are a few nice restaurants!
I recommend coming by car as there are lots of places and ruins to visit just outside Seahouses.
Now to the B&B, we knocked on and this lovely couple answered who instantly made us welcome.
They knew i was coming for a special occasion and they even upgraded our room to the 4 poster bed.
We where instantly amazed on how clean the room was, no dust to be seen!
I can go on with myself about the room but to sum it up Flat screen, power shower, lovely mattress, cozy carpet! all round lovely!!

Breakfast in the morning was very nice and cooked to your liking.

We will certainly go back here if we ever visit Seahouses again!

Rob and Tamara

Room Tip: Get the 4 poster room its lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank robben1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

I recently stayed at Megstone House for two nights, and it is by far the best B+B I have ever visited. It exceeded all expectations: from the size, immaculate cleanliness and quality of the rooms to the warm welcome and flawless breakfasts. I don't get a lot of time off, and I'm delighted that I chose to spend a few days there. A perfect stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Chris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seahouses
2.8 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bamburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
4.8 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,143 reviews
0.2 mi away
Springwood
Springwood
#2 of 25 in Seahouses
5.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
St. Cuthbert's House
St. Cuthbert's House
#1 of 25 in Seahouses
5.0 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
0.2 mi away
Links View Bed & Breakfast
Links View Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 25 in Seahouses
5.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Olde School House
The Olde School House
#6 of 25 in Seahouses
5.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Megstone House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Megstone House

Property: Megstone House
Address: 187 Main Street, Seahouses NE68 7TU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Seahouses
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Seahouses
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Megstone House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Megstone House Seahouses, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing