We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great place to stay”
Review of Megstone House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Megstone House
Ranked #4 of 25 Seahouses B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wolverhampton
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A Great place to stay”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We came to see the coast and the seabirds and booked into a small B&B because it had good reviews. Donna and Paul are great hosts they love what they do and it shows, nothing is too much trouble everything was spot on. We have already booked our return visit

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Pennaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
140
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed for one night on our way to Scotland, and were greeted by wonderful owners Donna and Paul. The house is beautifully and tastefully decorated with fine furnishings and is truly a home from home. The rooms are spacious and extremely comfortable, great bedding fluffy towels and nice toiletries. The welcome tray includes everything you need.

Breakfast was fresh tasty and local produce, nothing was too much trouble and I would highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Nolongerreviewing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south shields
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Booked Megstone House after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed at all. The most comfortable nights sleep we have had for a long while, the rooms are absolutely spotless, beautiful decor and the warmest welcome ever. The breakfast was 1st class especially the tomatoes. Only one bad point..... we only stayed one night.... but will be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank weepeezie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

I decided to take my fiance to Scotland and thought it would be nice to stay over in Northumberland for the evening.
So i found Seahouses, now in Seahouses itself there isnt much to do, however there are a few nice restaurants!
I recommend coming by car as there are lots of places and ruins to visit just outside Seahouses.
Now to the B&B, we knocked on and this lovely couple answered who instantly made us welcome.
They knew i was coming for a special occasion and they even upgraded our room to the 4 poster bed.
We where instantly amazed on how clean the room was, no dust to be seen!
I can go on with myself about the room but to sum it up Flat screen, power shower, lovely mattress, cozy carpet! all round lovely!!

Breakfast in the morning was very nice and cooked to your liking.

We will certainly go back here if we ever visit Seahouses again!

Rob and Tamara

Room Tip: Get the 4 poster room its lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank robben1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I recently stayed at Megstone House for two nights, and it is by far the best B+B I have ever visited. It exceeded all expectations: from the size, immaculate cleanliness and quality of the rooms to the warm welcome and flawless breakfasts. I don't get a lot of time off, and I'm delighted that I chose to spend a few days there. A perfect stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Chris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We have just spent a superb 5 nights at the megstone house. Donna and paul are very friendly and helpful owners. We had a extremely clean and comfortable room with ensuite. Our room had flat screen tv , tea coffee and hotchocolate & bisciuts. Breakfast was excellent. It was a pleasure to stay there and would definately go back. thanks again jane

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank sandykenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Megstone house was a fabulous find, immaculate and tastefully decorated ‘huge’ guest rooms.
In a great location for exploring the coast and only a 5 minute stroll into town and the harbour.
Donna and Paul are perfect hosts, nothing is too much trouble for them and their breakfast was all you needed to set you up for the day ahead.
Thank you Donna & Paul you made Dave, Liam and myself feel very welcome in your warm and friendly home and we would definately stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank JRiceManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seahouses
5.6 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Olde School House
The Olde School House
#5 of 25 in Seahouses
219 reviews
0.2 mi away
Links View Bed & Breakfast
Links View Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 25 in Seahouses
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
St. Cuthbert's House
St. Cuthbert's House
#1 of 25 in Seahouses
770 reviews
0.2 mi away
Springwood
Springwood
#2 of 25 in Seahouses
341 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dunelm House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Megstone House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Megstone House

Property: Megstone House
Address: 187 Main Street, Seahouses NE68 7TU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Seahouses
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Seahouses
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Megstone House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Megstone House Seahouses, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing