We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service - Poor Value”
Review of The Olde Ship Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Seahouses
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Olde Ship Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Seahouses
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great Service - Poor Value”
Reviewed May 1, 2006

The staff were very friendly, the atmosphere in the pub was great and the beer excellent.

However for the price: the breakfast was average (kippers good - full english poor with tinned mushrooms), the room small and the bed too soft. Everything was clean but at £100 per night for 2 people you can get so much more for your money elsewhere.

We were really disappointed with the overall experience.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    141
    38
    25
    18
See reviews for
63
282
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 21, 2006

I have to agree with both of your previous reviews good and bad.
My husband and I have stayed at the Olde Ship now a few times and have always found the accomodation to be lovely. The rooms are always clean and the staff are fabulous, but I do agree some of the furnishing could do with updating and information in the rooms is very much out of date.(2005 information still in the rooms for March 2006)
The food in the dining hall for both breakfast and evening meal is really not up to the standard that this lovely quaint hotel should be offering. Vegetables at evening meal are always left, and breakfast is normally cold and greasy. (not appertising at all)It really is not as good at it should be for the price of £19.00 per person March 2006.
This is a pub I craved all of my childhood to stay in and after a day trip some years ago my husband walked in booked us a room to stay overnight. We were happy with the room at that time, but thought was very expensive for not having a harbour view. We both love the pub and have been back twice since that time and really the peace and quite and the lovely staff are why we come back, certainly not for the food and not for the accomodation.
We have decided to look for other accomodation for the next time we travel to Seahouses due to this fact.

Hope the owners read this as this pub is in prime spot in a lovely area of the east coast. Please do something about the restaurant and food presentation to make everything perfect in this fab pub.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 15, 2005

I have to disagree with your last reviewer. We have just returned from a weekend at The Olde Ship Hotel, and loved it. We had a room (suite) in the annexe with spectacular harbour views. The furnishing is what you would expect in an old, small hotel in the middle of nowhere - perfectly adequate, comfortable and clean.
The bar is the best feature of this hotel - warm, cosy, full of locals but friendly. Great beer, too. I agree the dining room is lacking in ambience, but we ate in the bar each night which was fine.
The staff are all lovely, helpful and friendly.
We have been before, and will definately go again.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2005

If you have a thing for 'Heartbeat' and 1970s School Dinners stay here....

We were anticipating a relaxing weekend break here and at £100 per room (off peak) expected a reasonable standard of accomodation and dinner.

Our 'double room' was 'furnished' a la Coronation Street 'Battersby' style....not enough room to swing a Craster Crab, tired furnishings and a view over a tin roof.
As the bar was already booked for food (warning sign maybe?)we ate in the no view 'restaurant'; seated at 90' to each other, our knees knocking together and facing a wall. No effort ot create any ambience... like being in some elderly aunts' back room she keeps for posh.

At £20 per head we weren't expecting a gourmet meal - just maybe some fresh local produce simply cooked...We wish. My husband had a Moroccan lamb dish which was like something out of Jamies school diners pre Jamie. I had the vegetarian 'bean hot pot' - I kid you not this consisted of baked beans + sweetcorn with thick slabs of partly cooked potato. You could stand a spoon up in my plum crumble pudding. The crockery would have made a service station cafe look cheap.

Breakfast was in same room - we only watned some tea and toast which took over 30 minutes to come.

One redeeming element were the staff - welcoming and cheery - But at £140 per night for an eagerly anticipated break I hope this Ship dosn't 'Carry on Sailing' for much longer.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank robert12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seahouses
5.6 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
370 reviews
5.4 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,202 reviews
5.9 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bamburgh
198 reviews
11.9 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,003 reviews
21.3 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Olde Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Olde Ship Inn

Property: The Olde Ship Inn
Address: Seahouses NE68 7RD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Seahouses
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Seahouses
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Olde Ship Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Also Known As:
Olde Ship Hotel
The Olde Ship Inn Seahouses, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing