We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday lunch”
Review of The Olde Ship Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Seahouses
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Olde Ship Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Seahouses
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Lovely sunday lunch here yesterday on a day trip to the coast with my mum. Three course option for £10.50 was excellent. Staff as always really helpful and nothing is too much trouble.

Ok it's not fancy food but it's wholesome and home cooked and very tasty.

The bar area is amazing too.

Defo recommend

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrshearer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (546)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

408 - 414 of 546 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2014

My husband and I stayed for one night. Our room was on the first floor and we had no complaints. Blankets on the bed was unusual for this day and age, as was the net curtain covering the glass in the bathroom door, but the room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The bathroom was large and clean and there were plenty of towels. The bed was very comfortable and we slept well. The price of the room included an evening meal and breakfast. Unfortunately, there was only one vegetarian option on the menu for the main evening meal, which I had. Although the meal was nice, more choice would have been nice. I opted for just toast for breakfast, and it would have been nice if the bread had been more interesting than a bog standard 'toastie' loaf. The staff were friendly and professional, including the staff in the bar. We liked the Olde Ship Inn and, although we have stayed in more modern and luxurious places, we felt this Inn had personality and character.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank psychnurse190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

This is our 4th stay at The Olde Ship - first was many years ago when we stayed in the Bungalow and our last three stays have been in the Upper Deck suite. The bedroom is spacious with an adjoining sitting room with windows on three sides looking out towards Bamburgh Castle, The Farne Islands and the Harbour, stunning views. The owners and staff are very helpful and friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The cooked breakfasts are excellent - old fashioned service when everything is brought to the table, proper tealeaves and butter and marmalade in dishes rather than the little packs often used. Evening meals are good value and the food is good, not sure what some other reviewers expect looking at some of the reviews. We have booked again for next year - same time, same room which says it all!.

Room Tip: If you are looking for somewhere to recharge your batteries after a long Winter - this fits the bill...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janice R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We have frequented this pub on many occasions, it is a friendly atmospheric place with a real frie crackling away during the cooler months and a fabulous large beer garden overlooking the harbour and costline and out to the north sea to be enjoyed when the finer weather (it reaches this far north as well :-) ) sets in. With plenty of real ales and lagers on offer this pub in my opinion is best enjoyed from mid afternoon to early evening follwing a walk along the beach to Bamburgh and back to rest those weary bones and sample some very good food and drink. Seafood is especially good. We ate in the Galley room which is very cosy and intimate though the bar in here wasnt open. Its a canny little place to set up camp for a few hours. Also a great way to meet new people as well as enjoy times with famiuly and friends. Very nautical theme which we love. Best seat in the corner by the fire and the little window overlooking the hourbour and the rolling sea.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheSandersons07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

We arrived here and were welcomed by very friendly staff. The computer booking system the staff used seemed to confuse everyone and training and support for the friendly staff seemed inadequate. The room was cosy and clean with a modern bathroom and a good sea view. The walls were a little thin but luckily the only noises we heard were laughs! We went for the bed, breakfast and dinner deal for £90 for 2. The bed and breakfast was good but the dinner was not great. The menu was old fashioned (a bit 80s) and we would have liked to book ourselves in for a second night but there was no option for a cheaper room without dinner included. It would have been nice to try some of the local restaurants. Because of this we found ourselves upping sticks and moving elsewhere. The pub had a great atmosphere and they really go to town with the maritime theme. Trinkets galore! We would stay here again but we would eat dinner elsewhere. A lovely place with lots of character.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We booked an overnight stay to celebrate our wedding anniversary and the room itself was fine, if a little tired.
Regrettably, we were only offered a dinner bed and breakfast package and we were looking forward to an intimate, special celebratory meal for the two of us. I cannot tell you how disappointed we both were.
The menu had only 2 fish choices on it, (bearing in mind the Inn is on the harbour front of a major norteast fishing port) and a very limited range of meat dishes.

Interestingly there were 2 chicken breast dishes on it, one with a leek sauce and one with a mushroom sauce, so we decided to have the chicken and mushroom casserole. It quickly became clear that this was no freshly prepared, home made chicken casserole. No it was clearly a piece of chicken breast that had been roasted in the oven some hours before dinner that night kept in a heater to ensure that it became dry and as tough as leather (leather tastes better) and then reheated and a very flour-based mushroom sauce poured over it.
They say that the first taste is with eyes, well on that basis it looked dreadful. It really looked like a dog had thrown up on the plate and a dead mouse was lying in the middle of the mess. Less than zero marks for presentation I'm afraid.
The veg that came separately had probably been cooked that afternoon and reheated. The mange toute was dry and tough, the carrots inedible and only the small pieces of broccoli and cauliflower were edible.
They also served chips with it. These were frozen and had obviously been cooked well in advance and kept warm for the evening meal. The result - they were rock hard, as dry as dust and absolutely tasteless. The only use I could think of for them was possibly being used in a sand blasting machine to remove graffit from concrete.
I've had better meals in greasy spoons.
We didn't complain to the waitress as we had until that point been enjoying a really nice anniversary together and she was a very young lady who was clearly engaged on a minimum wage basis.
We did compalin at reception the following morning where the receptionist said sorry (which she clearly didn't mean) and then presented us with a full bill, despite the fact the we had left over 70% of the food served to us.
The meal basically ruined our anniverary.
A piece of advice. Seahouses and the people who live there are lovely, just do not take a dinner bed abd breakfast deal at the Olde Ship Inn - it simpy isn't worth it. The Inn itself is OK but they don't offer just bed and breakfst as a tarriff option.
Next time we'll book into a B&B and choose carefully where we eat, which will definitely not be the Olde Ship Inn.

Room Tip: Room 2 has a lovely view of the harbour and the Farne Islands.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dabtoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Enjoyed a lovely pint of very well kept Real Ale today at the Olde Ship Inn. Stunning interior full of shipping paraphernalia, friendly service and will go back even though wasn't that impressed with Seahouses itself. A gem of a pub.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 206Kat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seahouses
5.9 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
5.4 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,286 reviews
4.6 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bamburgh
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 mi away
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Marshall Meadows Country House H...
#2 of 3 in Berwick upon Tweed
493 reviews
12.8 mi away
The Hog's Head Inn
The Hog's Head Inn
#3 of 5 in Alnwick
536 reviews
18.8 mi away
Queens Head Hotel
Queens Head Hotel
#1 of 3 in Berwick upon Tweed
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Olde Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Olde Ship Inn

Address: Seahouses NE68 7RD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Seahouses
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Seahouses
Price Range: $54 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Olde Ship Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Also Known As:
Olde Ship Hotel
The Olde Ship Inn Seahouses, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing