We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of The Olde Ship Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Seahouses
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Olde Ship Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Seahouses
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Wonderful stay despite the weather. Room was very clean, with a separate sitting room and view over the harbour. It was located upstairs in the annex. The food at breakfast and dinner was of a very high quality and service was friendly and efficient.
The inn itself is like a museum to the fishing trade, full of seafaring curiosities. It also has a wonderful selection of real ales and malt whiskies.
Ideally located for cruises to the Farne Islands with the booking booths just a minute away.
All in all one of the best places I've ever stayed!

Room Tip: Choose an annex room, quiet and better view.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jay9991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (527)
There are newer reviews for The Olde Ship Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

425 - 431 of 527 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2013

Stayed here mid my 2013. It's looking a bit tired and seems a little pricy for what is offered. Staff are pleasant and rooms have everything you need, even if the bathroom is across the corridor. Breakfast was poor quality, greasy and manufactured tasting. The surprise was having to request cereals and juice, these were not freely available which smacks of penny pinching. That said, the bed was comfy and I slept well.

Wanting to check out prior to 9am was a problem, so I had to leave due to work commitments and return later to settle up and hand over keys.

Must try harder.

James

Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank 785JamesH785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We ate at the Ship Inn during a recent stay in the area, the night we visited the weather was dreadful, it was blowing a gale and lashing down with rain but the pub was welcoming and the atmosphere very friendly. The main bar was packed as was the smaller of the restaurants but we were given a table in the bigger restaurant, we hadn't booked but only waited a short while. The food was excellent, there is quite a varied menu and when the food arrived it was delicious, both my partner and myself opted for the rack of ribs and it was lovely, please go hungry as the portions are on the big size, my partner regretted having a starter. Service in the restaurant was very good, staff were friendly and I would certainly recommend the Ship if you are in the area and looking for a nice place to eat.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank irenenights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We only went for the Sunday night, 5th May 2013 and it was ok. The place was really busy. Everything was very clean although most of it could do with refurbishment. We had a small room which overlooked the car park, which was ok, but not outstanding. I think the price for bed and breakfast was overpriced for what we got compared to other places. The staff were very helpful and pleasant. The drinks were dearer there than the other pubs in Seahouses. I was disappointed that we couldn't get into our room until 2pm so we just had to leave our things in the car, plus we spent a good bit of time trying to get the car parked. The Ship Inn was ok but wouldn't be my first choice in Seahouses.

Room Tip: Try and find out as much as you can about your room as there are no pictures on their web site.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VAL061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We have just spent the May Day Bank Holiday weekend in Seahouses and stopped at the Olde Ship Hotel. We found the hotel to be just the sort of place we like to stop at. It was exceptionally clean, the staff were extremely helpful and the food and beer were good. We had a room that looked over to the harbour and the Farne Islands beyond. Seahouses is a good location to stop at in order to explore that part of the UK.
Because of traffic, we arrived later than we had planned and after the dining room had finished serving. The lady on reception offered to get some sandwiches made for us which were gratefully received. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble for the staff. The en-suite room was a good size and sported a four poster bed. The location of the hotel is good and can be found easily, although parking can be a little tight in the small car park.
Overall, we would recommend this hotel to anyone travelling up to Seahouses and we will certainly stop there on our next trip to the Northumberland coast

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I stayed many years ago and loved it but going back was a disappointment. The bar and stock of beers is great and the breakfast was good but the dinner was nothing exceptional in a cramped and crowded room and we paid a lot of money for a suite with a harbour view that wasn't much of a view at all and the room was tired and had an alarm clock that went off in an adjoining locked room at midnight. Overall, I thought it was not good value for what we paid.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank barry m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

A quick stop en route to Scotland and well chosen. A great welcome, chose the best view from the Upper Deck. Watch the harbour life, the ducks and with the Farne Islands, Bamburgh and Lindisfarne Castles in view. Only the forgotten soap to fault this bit. The Hotel offers more exploration of its nautical exhibits than we had time for. Dinner was good, although service attention occasionally drifted: they did have a lot of diners to cope with. Would certainly call again.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the Upper Deck if you can.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seahouses
5.4 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,266 reviews
5.9 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
5.6 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bamburgh
215 reviews
12.8 mi away
The Hog's Head Inn
The Hog's Head Inn
#3 of 5 in Alnwick
528 reviews
0.1 mi away
Links Hotel
Links Hotel
#14 of 25 in Seahouses
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Olde Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Olde Ship Inn

Address: Seahouses NE68 7RD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Seahouses
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Seahouses
Price Range: $55 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Olde Ship Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Also Known As:
Olde Ship Hotel
The Olde Ship Inn Seahouses, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing