We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“...would go back!”
Review of The Olde Ship Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Seahouses
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Olde Ship Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Seahouses
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“...would go back!”
Reviewed May 1, 2011

We were well received and shown to our room....Great room, (named the Lower Deck...the best views over the harbour and out to Farne island and the lighthouses)...Very well appointed and furnished. The dining room was quaintly nice - and I'd never had a choice of 3 knives at breakfast before!...a contrast to the dining rooms of many hotels these days and the meals were served at the table. The previous night, after a decent dinner, (although we felt slightly rushed) we retired to the residents drawing room, separate from the pub bar, and spent the rest of the evening enjoyably drinking and chatting until bedtime!...The 4 poster was exceedingly comfortable, to top it all!!

Unfortunately, there is an however... I think some of the bar staff could do with a bit of re-training in the art of friendly, smiley service..eg I asked the barwoman which was the most popular pint of beer (there is quite a choice!) and she said they are all as popular! (yeah right)...But when checking out in the morning I asked the lady on duty the same question she said without hesitation "Farne Island Black Sheep" almost in unison with her husband who was standing close by!

And when my son went to the bar for drinks (after dinner) the barman walked over and just stared at him until my son said "well, are you gonna serve me or what?"!
We'd go back to the Ship...but we wouldn't go back to the place which we stayed in the previous night, across the road at the Barnburgh Castle Inn!
PS, no internet in this room.

Room Tip: pay a bit more and have a room in the annex!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steco1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    141
    38
    25
    18
See reviews for
63
282
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Darlington
Level Contributor
321 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2011

Stayed with my wife and three other couples. Staff were excellent; rooms were very clean and food was first class and all good value for money.
Saegulls were very noisy from five o'clock in the morning. A definite recommendation for this place

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teesdalepark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2011

Good, traditional pub with a good range of decent enough beers.
Staff are generally very friendly but are let down in my experience by the guy who manages the establishment (N.B. not the owner) who, on more than one occasion, friends & I have found to be rude and at times surly.
As a result, we have been put off from heading back here as often as we probably would.

Accommodation is fine but nothing special & as a result is quite overpriced.
Food is OK but again nothing special and in my view is a little overpriced too.

In summary, would return for the odd drink but there are better places to eat & stay in Seahouses, which will more than likely offer a better welcome too.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Skylark1862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 24, 2010

Having booked the hotel I then read the reviews. Wasn't sure what to expect when we got there. Staff are brilliant. We stayed in room 5, executive suite. Very nice and comfortable. Old fashioned but then so is the pub. Rooms were spotlessly clean. The rooms were quite dear but we enjoyed our stay and the food was lovely and if we could have stayed another night there was an offer on 3 for 2.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicola_shires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2010

We stayed for one night the hotel is spotless, our room was small but very clean. We have been to seahouses a lot over the years and have always visited the ship, and never disappointed the staff are extremely helpful and polite. The breakfast was really good. Can't fault the place

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cazzy60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2010

After being told by a rather frosty lady at Tourist Mis-Information that no rooms were available for miles, we were desperately happy that this place had one of the Harbour View Apartments free for us.

At 116 quid per night, I really REALLY was hoping for more than what was on offer. I think the management really need to come to terms with the fact that they CANNOT rest on their laurels. History is rich, location is superb, craic in the bar is amazing ... but it doesn't make up for the shoddy room.

With a view over the whole of the harbour area and such a premium price, some effort would have been expected. No flowers, no stationery, dated decor, damp on the bedroom wall, an ill-fitting window in the bathroom that rattled in the wind and terribly uncomfortable seating in the apartment lounge area.

Having said that, not everything was bad. Once we were out of the room, the place had a rich historical 'air' about it, the breakfast was satisfactory and (as mentioned previously) the atmosphere in the main bar was absolutely tremendous.

In all, a lovely stay ... but marred by the tariff.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cheryl w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grangemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2010

We spent a week in Fishers self catering apartment belonging to the Olde Ship Hotel in Seahouses. We found the apartment to be well equipped, with spectacular views from the balcony, but the furnishings, fixtures and fittings did not come up to scratch.
The description given is "furnished to a very high standard". Maybe it was when it was first done but it has grown tired.
We found doors that wouldn't lock properly, cracked tiles on the bathroom floor, faulty bath taps, and black mould around the tiling.
The living room 3 piece suite needs cleaned and there is a very musty smell in the basement bedroom.
All in all a makeover would be very welcome.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianbb20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seahouses
5.6 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
370 reviews
5.4 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,201 reviews
5.9 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bamburgh
197 reviews
11.9 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,003 reviews
21.3 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Olde Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Olde Ship Inn

Property: The Olde Ship Inn
Address: Seahouses NE68 7RD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Seahouses
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Seahouses
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Olde Ship Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Also Known As:
Olde Ship Hotel
The Olde Ship Inn Seahouses, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing