We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eating out”

Lewis's Fish Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 23 Restaurants in Seahouses
Cuisines: Cafe, Seafood, Fast Food, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Seahouses, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Eating out”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Clean restaurant.friendly staff ,delicious food and many choices
Good value for money . We thought the food we had was very good and tasty - lovely white cod and best of all they did it poached which is a change from batter.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank marleneh168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    175
    74
    41
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“The Locals Are Right”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

One out of three Fish & Chips restaurants near the seafront to choose from, and seeing more local-looking folks (more casual, mixed ages, driving cars with Northumberland stickers) visiting this one, I decided to give Lewis's a go. The waitresses are young but appear very good with serving customers, especially the one who served me. She left me alone - probably seeing that I am happy just looking around, but was very attentive to a couple of tables with elderly couples helping them with everything. The menu is on the board, and is chips with everything. The lemon sole caught my eyes, as it is difficult to fry a delicate flat fish well and it is a rare dish so I ordered it. I was not disappointed. The yellow and orange spots on the skin under a thin layer of batter confirmed that this was a lemon sole; it flaked easily as it should, and it tasted fresh and was cooked just right. There was only a thin layer of batter on it, but it was slightly greasy - perhaps slightly longer on the shelf would be better. It came with very nice chips not dripping in fat, large dollop of mushy pea, bread-and-butter, and a pot of coffee (normally I would have tea but I had a long drive across the country back home). The restaurant may look like a canteen, but the photographs of Bamburgh Castle and Northumberland on the walls are all very artistic, making the place feel more local. Furthermore the whole lot came to cost far less than fast food joint set meals, and miles more pleasant. I can see why the locals come here, and they are right.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hyenaoffal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great scampi!”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Lovely food - I had scampi and my boyfriend had haddock and chips. Both came quickly, were piping hot and of really good quality. Lovely flavour and obviously fresh. Would go again!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lucy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A good little cafe and fish restaurant”
Reviewed June 21, 2014

We had the cheapest crab sandwitches ever and they were top notch. If you order these and don't particularly want a bit of salad on the side, order without the salad and they are even better value. Coffee was ok but nothing to rave about. The fish we saw being served looked lovely. Only real downside for us, the restaurant/cafe is a large room and a bit souless.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LeicestershireYorkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great fish and chips”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Recommended by the lady at Serenity tours and we enjoyed them very much. Nice staff too. Not expensive

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Guest026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lewis's Fish Restaurant also viewed

Seahouses, Northumberland
Seahouses, Northumberland
 
Seahouses, Northumberland
Seahouses, Northumberland
 

Been to Lewis's Fish Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing