We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great bar but no kids and dogs!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Olde Ship Inn

The Olde Ship Inn
Ranked #5 of 22 Restaurants in Seahouses
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Pontefract, West Yorkshire, England.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great bar but no kids and dogs!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

We visited the Olde Ship whilst on a New Years break in Seahouses. The front bar is small but amazing, it is clean, warm and welcoming with loads of fishing memorabilia on the wall and ceilings....it is great and definitely worthy of a visit.
Having said this we were disappointed that dogs were not allowed through the door, this seems to contradict our experience of Northumberland where Dogs are warmly welcomed in numerous places. Also children are not allowed in the front bar, instead they are welcomed in the other less welcoming rooms that the Ship has to offer.....we felt very much like second class citizens and this definitely tarnished our experience......having said this we would return but without kids and dogs....

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adrian48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,004 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    497
    370
    90
    29
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Daventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“amazing bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

warm, welcoming and chock full of seafaring paraphernalia, with a great lunch and dinner menu. we were off season and it was still busy, so clearly a popular and therefore essentially bookable spot.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank scottydoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“good pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

Great beer and a really friendly atmosphere would recommend it to any one who visits Seahouses. Very busy though

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice Steak”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Reasonable steak, cooked to our needs even though it was a little tough, but steaks can be variable and unpredictable. Service was good and staff were excellent.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank AzzyBaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley
Level Contributor
318 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Wouldn't take dogs”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

We called in on a Sunday afternoon. There were 8 of us with one very well behaved dog. We had been told of how good a reputation this pub had as a proper drinking pub so we had to visit. Unfortunately, despite there being 4 people in the whole pub, they would not let our dog in! So 4 of us went to the pub across the road who welcomed us with open arms whilst 4 stayed in the Ship. We then stopped over! What a shame because it was a wonderful pub with great character and a lovely fire. Sadly for them they probably missed out on a good £200 in takings that went across the road as we were there for 4 hours! I can understand during busy times that they have rules, however, there were rooms set off the main bar where we would happily had sat all afternoon spending money and no one would have known the dog, who is the best behaved dog you will ever meet, was even there! We were told in a few weeks they were changing to allow dogs in??? A month too late for our money im affraid but i would recoomend the pub for the location, drink and setting!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarnsleyChappers147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Olde Ship Inn also viewed

Seahouses, Northumberland
Seahouses, Northumberland
 
Seahouses, Northumberland
Seahouses, Northumberland
 

Been to The Olde Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing