We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A meal with a view”

The Bamburgh Castle Inn
Ranked #9 of 23 Restaurants in Seahouses
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $23
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: When it comes to top seaside locations, the award-winning Bamburgh Castle Inn in Northumberland is hard to beat. Named Tourism Pub of the Year 2015 in the North East England Tourism Awards, The Bamburgh Castle Inn overlooks the harbour in the fishing village of Seahouses. Newly refurbished, this friendly inn with 33 en-suite rooms has all the charm of the seaside with amazing sea view rooms. Enjoy a drink or eat al fresco in our elevated beer garden with its amazing views of the Northumberland coast towards the Farne Islands and the inn's namesake - Bamburgh Castle. If you're looking for accommodation for a stay away, a guest house or a bed and breakfast in Northumberland that offers excellent value for money, a more laid back approach than a hotel and more service than simply self-catering, look no further than The Bamburgh Castle Inn. With an established reputation for good, home-cooked pub food and serving up a proper pint of Northumberland's finest, The Bamburgh Castle Inn is popular with visitors and locals alike. Don't miss our legendary Sunday Carvery complete with towering Yorkshire Puddings - you won't be disappointed.
bolton
Level Contributor
82 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“A meal with a view”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We ate here twice the food is very nice. But the main reason we choose to eat here was the views, there's a large beer garden and a terrace area over looking the port, and there an upstairs lounge with fantastic views. The staff where very nice and friendly.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gaynor E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
A lovely review - many thanks. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    263
    266
    113
    55
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to eat in Seashouses”
Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

Had eaten here previously last year while on a business trip and was suitably impressed. So while in Newcastle on a family trip, wanted to travel up to show them Bamburgh Castle so made sure we had our evening meal at the Bamburgh Castle Inn just along the coast. Wasn't disappointed with the food, service or the atmosphere. Would highly recommend to anyone and if the area again I would certainly revisit without hesitation.

Helpful?
Thank CliveBurrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Ah! That's an ace review. And sums up what we try to offer all our guests! Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterbrough, , United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Had a great lunch”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

This is a great place for lunch or an early evening drink looking over at the harbour and the Farne Islands. It has a good beer garden and we had great sandwiches, service was godd and staff all friendly.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
A great review - much appreciated. Thank you as well for the five stars! Hope to see you again soon,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful !!!!!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

The food was delicious.The service was spot on .The pudding was out of this world.And the views were breathtaking.I only hope we can go back again soon .I would recommed this to anyone I had the Steak Pie. Bamburgh Castle Inn is a great place to eat if in Seahouses

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank victor s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Many thanks for your review - sorry we haven't said so earlier :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Tad expensive but tasty food”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Out of the three or four pubs/inns in seahouses this was our favourite!! Not the cheapest place but we were never disappointed with the food. The size of the place meant we always got a seat, usually with a sea view.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paul a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Thanks for the review - glad we were your favourite! Come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bamburgh Castle Inn also viewed

Seahouses, Northumberland
Seahouses, Northumberland
 
Seahouses, Northumberland
Seahouses, Northumberland
 

Been to The Bamburgh Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing